We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel, great location, super friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Louisville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Ranked #35 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, super friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I think somehow I stayed at a different hotel than the gentleman that had issues with bugs and said it was dangerous area-wise. I thought the location was phenomenal (right on Main Street) close to all the museums and across from the KFC Yum Center. Lots of public transportation options with the free trolley right there on Main or Market. The staff was so helpful and friendly, especially with setting up my 80 year old parents next door to me and being so patient with them. There isn't really anything to change...only things for travelers to be aware of:

-not the typical courtyard "buffet-like" setting from 5+ yrs ago...its more like a starbucks-like setting where you can purchase food.
-The ground floor/lobby has been renovated and looks amazing. The rooms have been redone...the only thing that's noticeably older is the bathroom
-the refrigerators dont really have freezers in them but you can fill up an ice bucket and put it in there to keep something frozen
-the rooms don't have central A/C; they have manually-controlled window units with high heat, low heat, low fan, high fan, low cool and high cool settings.
-Wireless internet speeds in the lobby are CRAZY fast...30Mbps down and 5Mbps up. In the rooms its more like 1-2Mbps for wireless (I was on 8th floor)

Overall you'll definitely like this hotel and its a great value.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank grothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for the detailed response. We truly appreciate your opinion. We hope your parents enjoyed their stay with us as much as you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    96
    42
    19
    5
See reviews for
55
69
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

For the price, this location is very tough to beat. It's walking distance to dozens of great food options as well as attractions like Yum Arena and the Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum.

The lobby and common areas are clean and inviting but, the room bathroom was a little dated. That being said, the staff made up for it with great service. They were even nice enough to run me to a convenience store in the middle of the night for a last minute errand.

I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank miss_ha_y_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our great staff...we are lucky to have such an amazing group of kind-hearted individuals! Our hotel did go through a full renovation of sleeping rooms and public space that was completed last April. We hope to have the chance to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Close to everything downtown. Clean room and each room had their own little balcony. Nice to hear the Belle of Louisville's horn while sitting outside of your room. Huge park nearby along the river. Staff was helpful and polite. Bed was comfortable and great location. Would definitely stay there again, especially since so many other hotels downtown are much more expensive.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CatTravel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. The rooms with balconies provide a unique vantage point of the city as well as fun people watching. The Belle of Louisville is celebrating its 100th anniversary this October 17th and 18th...you should come back and celebrate with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very nice high quality hotel and friendly, helpful staff. Very convenient for walking to restaurants and the Belle of Louisville. Very good selection of restaurants close to hotel. The historic Belle of Louisville was will worth a trip on the river.

Room Tip: a room that faces the river with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. My favorite rooms are those with a river view as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Close to everything downtown so you can walk or ride the trolley. Wonderful staff which gave recommendations on restaurants. Rooms were updated with all modern conveniences. Had great view of 4th of July fireworks. Restaurant downstairs was very good for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get side room on second street for less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your Holiday Weekend stay in Louisville. We have a wonderful view for fireworks being so close to the Ohio River. I hope we have the chance to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Staff here are fabulous and extremely helpful. The cafe in the lobby was a godsend and the free airport shuttle was so convenient. Location was just right. Only downsides were the lack of shopping and some upgrades in the room - better air-conditioning (it was so humid), a better hairdryer, and a freezer would have been nice for the ice cream we bought in the lobby.

All in all, we're always pleased with a Marriott!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifegrdsten427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We pride ourselves on being consistent and reliable so all of our guests know what to expect each time they choose to stay with us. I am glad you experienced this from our staff. Louisville weather is funny. We joke that you can experience all 4 seasons in one week! You were here during a very humid time...I hope it is a little less hot for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The front desk staff was great, went out of their way to be helpful. When I forgot my starch, they actually offered to iron my shirt! (they probably did not want me to let that one out) Unfortunately, I did not catch the name of the woman who was most helpful, but overall great staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennAdams9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our outstanding front desk staff. They take great pride in caring for our guests and it shows! I hope you get to come back to Louisville and choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#18 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Louisville Downtown

Property: Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Address: 100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#32 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Louisville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Courtyard Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing