We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Louisville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Ranked #33 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, Indiana
1 review
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a cheer competition. This hotel was very well maintaned and clean. The noise from the street was a little loud, but location is great and walking distance to many locations including the convention center we were attending. Everyone working was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Our proximity to the Kentucky International Convention Center and entertainment area of downtown is great. We are so happy to hear you took advantage. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    99
    45
    20
    5
See reviews for
58
73
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Was here over the weekend for two nights...

Room and hotel cleanliness and overall maintenance is what I care about most in a hotel. The Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown was both clean and well maintained, so I was very happy.

Our room was decent sized, and the bathroom was bigger than the narrow ones you find at most hotels.

The location is decent, right across the street from KFC Yum Center. You have a few other bar/restaurant options right across the corner from the hotel, and Fourth Street Live is about a 7 to 10 min. walk.

Parking was only $6/day, which compared to other cities I traveled to, was cheap. Free WiFi is always an added plus.

Customer service: The employees at the front desk weren't overly friendly, but not rude or nasty.

The rate on Expedia was decent... if coming back to Louisville, I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhawrysko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We were happy to hear of your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown. We take pride in our cleanliness and condition of the hotel and were glad to see you enjoyed our hard work. Our inexpensive downtown parking and complimentary wifi are two of the great amenities we offer to each guest. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, modern and not what you'd think of a typical Courtyard by Marriott. The staff, especially Pam Johnson at the front desk, is excellent. We felt like VIPs the entire stay. Beautiful property, great location and excellent customer service. Stop by the Side Bar while you're there. It's right across the street!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Pam is one of our greatest assets at the hotel, along with all our other staff. We will be sure to pass your recognition onto her. We hope to see you again soon at the Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Erin, the front desk manager, was very polite as was her staff! Checking in and out was simple and hassle free! The room had a great YUM! center view and there were attractions within walking distance. I never had to use my car and the parking garage was very convenient.

Room Tip: room 305 faces the YUM! center. Perfect room view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
The Courtyard Downtown Louisville is lucky to have Erin B. and the entire front desk staff! In addition to our great employees, we do have one of the best locations in downtown Louisville. Glad to hear you took advantage of walking to restaurants and attractions from our front door. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Last minute "drive to Louisville and check in with this client" trip. It was a very long day and I happened upon this Courtyard because I wanted to reward myself with a stay downtown where I could find a good restaurant at 9pm. Very nice little lobby and hotel. More modern and well decorated than my other Courtyard experiences (not that other experiences were bad). Right across the street from the YUM Center (my 7th floor room looked directly at the facade of YUM). Nice little breakfast counter/"Starbucks" coffee counter. Very friendly staff experience. I would definitely stay here again if I get the chance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We are glad your last minute trip resulted in a stay at the Courtyard Downtown Louisville! Our location is fantastic, with proximity to the Yum! Center and restaurants, as well as convention center, leisure sites and many business offices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Courtyards are Courtyards, right? Not this one. In a city where chains compete with older classics, this Courtyard stood out for its service. I was warmly greeted but the front desk staff and just couldn’t have felt more welcome. Every employee I passed greeted me with a smile and kind words. Whoever owns this hotel hired the right people from manager to housekeeping. I have stayed in many different hotels in this great city – I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
The Courtyard Downtown Louisville prides ourself on our hospitality. We were so happy to have you with us recently and were thrilled to hear your praise of the staff. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We travel five days a week and we are in a different hotel every night.
Our travel agent sends our reservations to the hotel's with a faxed copy of a credit card authorization for all of our rooms.
This particular hotel evidently that was not sufficient.
We were denied access to our rooms until the only one person with a credit card arrive so they could swipe the card.
This is ridiculous what good is a credit card authorization if they're not going to use it? Everybody in our company cannot carry a credit card for hotels.
This is poor customer service poor management.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pro Coach O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Courtyard Louisville Downtown. I apologize for the incovenience you experienced at check in because of the credit card authorization form. As the Front Desk Manager, I have personally spoken to our associates as well as management to ensure that this does not happen to you or other guest in the future. At the Courtyard we do our best to ensure every guest enjoys their stay, I hope that the previous experience does not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#25 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#9 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#14 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Louisville Downtown

Property: Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Address: 100 S 2nd St, Louisville, KY 40202-1320
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#32 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Louisville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing