We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, decent hotel, average condition rooms, no breakfast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Nashvegas, TN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location, decent hotel, average condition rooms, no breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed March 2013 for 2 nights in king room with couch. This is located in a good location for business and other access. Older property that has been updated which is easy to tell based on the wide hallways on the room floors and the older, but repainted, fire safety doors with service cart rub strips found midway down the room floor hallways.

The room furnishings are nice designs but the couch could have used some cleaning at minimum or re upholstery. The bed, other furniture and desk equipment were good.Since it is an older property the bathroom is quite small (but functional) while the room hallway/clothes hanging/closet space is huge. The room was a good average clean. My room was not one that had a microwave or refrigerator. The curtains seemed to have one or two of their top hooks broken but still functioned.

The elevators were clean but one smelled like hydraulic fluid which didn't inspire confidence.

On the first morning we tried to get the breakfast but were told that breakfast only served if the hotel was 85% or above occupancy. This was not explained in advance so we had to go to a Bob Evans restaurant down the road for breakfast. We saw the small lobby bar but did not use it a there was a large liquor store located about a block away.

When we stayed at the hotel, there seemed to be some scruffy-looking, long-term stay people whose job site work was rained out so they were hanging around reading newspapers and occasionally shooting the bull with the desk clerks but that was not the hotel's fault. There seemed to be a low level of sketchiness about the surrounding area but nothing that worried us as the parking lot was well lit. It is on a highway so you will hear some noise from passing emergency vehicle sirens but no noise issues otherwise.

Room Tip: 2nd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank econobiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear econobiker,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered during your stay with us. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    29
    21
    16
See reviews for
30
14
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Terrible customer services, I have had an issue with the bill and I keep getting transferred to the general managers voicemail, her name is Jodi, she is suppose to be in her office but she never picks up or returns calls ever. The front desk transfers you all over the place but the people they transfer you to never pick up. I escalated the issue to Corporate and they took care of the issue and apologized for Jodi's lack of customer service skills.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Guest Relations Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Chris1334,

I sincerely apologize for the lack of communication regarding your billing issue. Our Front Office is usually pretty great with billing issues, this must have slipped through somehow. I hate to hear that any guest has a lack luster stay while here at Holiday Inn Louisville Southwest, so with that being said, please contact me directly to discuss this in further detail.

Thank you for taking the time to assist us in making our hotel better,
Chris N.
chris.nokes@pillahotels.com
502-448-2020 ext 179
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Staff Very Rude!!! Closed Pool Early But No Sigh Up. Very Poor Services!!! People Hanging around Front Desk All Day. No Fridge OR microwave In Room. No Towels At Pool Or In Gym. Staff Knew Towels Were Empty, DidNothing

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmrb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Guest Relations Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
DMRB3,

Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. I, like no one like to hear guest having issues in their hotel, however without bring brought to my attention I can't solve them. Please be assured this has been addressed and I have implemented a procedure for our pool and workout facility so this does not happen again. I would like to welcome you back if you are ever in the area to show you just how serious we are about our guest comments.

Yours in Service,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

From the moment I walked into the hotel, there was a welcome feeling. I arrived at 9:30pm , and the front desk person greeted me with a smile. The Bar was full, and all were enjoying them selves. My room was VERY clean, and I had a great nights sleep. The fitness room meet all my needs, and I had a GREAT egg white Omlete for breakfast....what a nice way to start a long day of meetings. Thanks to everyone who made my stay a VERY nice one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
AmyA,

I am glad we were able to meet your needs while you stayed with us. From the sound of it you were able to enjoy our newly remodeled fitness area as well as our Chef's famous egg white omelet. If ever in the area again, please stop by and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

First, let me start by saying, there's no Free Breakfast. We like to stay at hotels with at least continental breakfast but this hotel did not have that. They did have a restaurant downstairs which looked very nice. It ended up being OK because we found a Big Boy Restaurant nearby and fell in love with it. Since it was Thanksgiving time, the hotel was close to empty. It was quiet, our room was perfect for our needs and it was in an excellent location. One piece of advice: go beyond the hotel, and everything is OK; go the other way, and there are girlie bars galore. For some reason, our GPS took us through that area at night as a shortcut. No matter what, we felt safe. We actually felt safe everywhere we went in Louisville.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundabout1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Roundabout1959,

Thank you for giving us feedback regarding our missed opportunity with free breakfast. I would like to say, we have a package that includes breakfast and I am sorry you weren't given the opportunity to book that. I am working with our restaurant to work smaller grab and go items for guest. As you mentioned`the girlie bars are to the left however, we can't control location and what came after the hotel. Safety, cleanliness and guest service are all #1 with us and that will continue to be our mission. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Specifically requested room away from elevator (in advance on website) and got one 3 paces from the elevator (very noisy).Came back to hotel next day at 4pm to work from room and room was still not cleaned. Called front desk 4 times - no answer, so I had to go back down. After is was "cleaned", the coffee machine still dirty,no Kleenex refilled (even left tip). Purchased a "Dasani" water from a vending machine and got some off brand I never heard of. Waited at restaurant for 15 minutes for service, then left. I expected a LOT more from a full Holiday Inn (not express or other banner).

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peabocoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Peabocoop,

I would like to appologize for your inconviences during your stay. We do our best to accomodate every guest with location preferences however sometimes we drop the ball. I would like to say, we do not take lightly our cleaning efforts and to hear that housekeeping was unable to live up to that during your stay has been addressed. We take every effort and comment to heart and have made major changes since you stayed with us. I would like to invite you back and see just how much we have moved forward. Please contact me directly to discuss booking your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to Louisville and I was so happy to find out the Holiday Inn Southwest was easy to get to from the airport and all of my appointments (UofL, Expo Center). The hotel is right off the highway! Pat in the restaurant for breakfast was an absolute delight, excellent service! I had dinner at the hotel as well, Bourbun Chicken was delicious and I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopaholic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Comfort Inn Louisville
#49 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Okolona
Holiday Inn Airport South
Holiday Inn Airport South
#58 of 94 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#62 of 94 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center

Property: Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center
Address: 4110 Dixie Hwy, PO Box 16280, Louisville, KY 40216-3812 (Formerly Holiday Inn Louisville Southwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center is just 4.9 mi (7.9 km) from the airport and offers a free shuttle. this smoke-free hotel has an indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center. Free WiFi in public areas, free self parking, and a free airport shuttle are also provided. Other amenities include a business center and conference rooms. All 169 rooms offer free WiFi, room service, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Premium bedding, coffee makers, and free local calls are among the other amenities available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Louisville Southwest Hotel Louisville
Louisville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing