We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. No issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We checked in here at 11:30pm and left the next morning at 8:30. The person at the front desk was very nice and gave us a lower rate (we had a senior, but we dropped the rate $25). Our room was very clean and no issues at all! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillkrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake V, Front Office Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear hillkrest, thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff and your stay. We pride ourselves on our staff because they truly make our hotel a great one. We hope that you stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 148 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

Parking Lot was dirty, littered. Lobby was very busy when I arrived as there was a wedding about to start. Front Desk was very friendly and helpful on checking in. Placed me on third floor away from the wedding party on the second floor. Took elevator to the third floor and noticed the carpet was dirty, the paint was worn and just painted over but most noticeable was the odd odor as you got off the elevator. Every door appeared to have been scraped and then touched up with fresh paint. I guess that's what they mean when they said "renovated and refreshed to meet the updated standard of the Holiday Inn Hotel Brand" Honestly, they missed the mark by more than a little!! Entered my room to discovered that the hallway smelled good compared to my room. Carpet Dirty, Sofa Dirty with Torn Fabric, I mean Dirty!!! Traveling by myself and lived with it, Bed looked clean and fresh. If traveling with wife or family, would have checked out. Older part of the city where the Adult Entertainment as gravitated too. Plenty of Gentleman's Clubs, Strip Joints, Etc. Breakfast Buffet was all you could eat for $10.95 which I skipped.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captain648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake V, Front Office Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Captain648, I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our front desk staff and their efforts to place your room on a quiet floor away from the wedding party. I would also like to apologize to you for the condition and cleanliness issues that you encountered while staying at the hotel. Our goal is to be a great hotel that guests love! In hopes to accomplish this goal we have continued to renovate the property including new guest room doors and other upgrades over the past month. We understand that the area that we are in is not the most desirable and we have stepped up our security program to make sure that the Holiday Inn Louisville SW is safe for all of our guests. I hope that you would give us a second chance and if so please contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This outfit was the most unorganized, poorly trained, front desk and management "team" I have ever came across in 20+ years of traveling. Booking a room was the beginning of this horrible experience. The staff improperly used my personal information when reserving a room. Then upon arrival our room was not ready in the time that they had promised. When my wife and I finally received our room keys...they had double booked the room and we had entered someone else's room. This raised my concerns on what kind of security could I expect for my own personal belongings. The overall situation that the hotel put us in was very uncomfortable and unprofessional. We love to travel and in NO WAY WOULD I EVER RECOMMEND THIS ESTABLISHMENT!!! The only helpful staff they have are the shuttle drivers. (at least they were honest!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimIndianapolis_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear TimIndianapolis_IN,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant experience with our shuttle drivers. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable, and apologize you were first assigned an occupied room. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is convenient - right off the Watterson. It's a ways from the airport, even though a lot of pilots and airline folks stay here. There are more convenient hotels that are nicer and closer to the airport. This Holiday Inn is clean and beds are nice. Lots of counter space in bathrooms, even though bathrooms are dated. The inside of our bathroom door was rotting from moisture. The staff was nice and our room was very clean. They have a bar inside hotel. They also don't have wireless above the first floor, and the wired internet was down during our stay. This is 2012. Come on. Get wireless to all the rooms ! It's not a deluxe hotel. Just a clean place to sleep.

Room Tip: Lower level if you want wireless.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments concerning our hotel. We are constantly upgrading and improving areas of our hotel. Our recent focus has been on enhancing all our rooms with wireless access. We can't wait for you to stay with us again to see how we have ameliorated our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel is a 2 star but being rated a 3 on hotwire. The beds are hard as concrete. The old Tube Tv is mostly an advertisement for viewing and music that you have to pay for. The phone is unusable because all the buttons are stuck wiith dirt and crusty sticky stuff. The drapes are stained. The paint and wall paper are peeling. The front desk clerk was nice and explained that the wireless does not work in the rooms, only the lobby or lower floors. The wired internet was explained to us but we did not try it. The security seemed very good and we did feel safe. The pet policy surprised us. I don't like staying in hotels that take pets. For 1 night it was just ok but over priced. This is a 2 or 2 1/2 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljm132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

I appreciate your comments and regret that you found our hotel less than a stellar experience. We have recently come under new management and the new management team is working dilligently to address these and any other deficiencies. We ask that you please consider trying us again to see our improvements that have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed two nights while we were at the Breeders Cup at Churchill Downs. The staff was the definition of Kentucky hospitality. We were offered free shuttle to the track and back. Every request was promptly and enjoyable fulfilled. Location right off the interstate loop very convenient.

The hotel restaurant is average with the typical holiday inn menu. The buffet on Saturday morning was acceptable and for the price much cheaper then what we were going to see at the track. The bar has only 10 sets and is uninspiring, but service was fine.

I wish I could say the same of the physical hotel. The property has received the Holiday Inn brand update with the new signage, carpet and bedding. It looks like some new paint was added to what otherwise was a old structure. Most likely an original Holiday Inn. We stayed on reward points but the rack rate due to the race was $275, which if I paid it, would have been a great disappointment. Our room was a King room with a couch. Unfortunately the couch looked liked they pulled it from a dumpster. It was very stained and nearly offensive. The blackout drapes were the same, with water stains. The room was clean and the bathroom fine with the typical amenities which meet he brands standards. Our friends room across the hall was a bit better. I stay in IHG properties over 100 nights a year, and this was the poorest maintained property this year.

I would suggest another property in the area maybe the comfort inn down the street, our friends stayed there and were very pleased. But if you do end up here it meets minimum cleanliness standards and the service very good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazoo_Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments concerning our staff and service. It is with deep regrets that the physical features of the hotel were not as commendable. The hotel has recently experienced management changes and the management team is working dilligently to correct and improve any and all deficiencies that you have mentioned. Our hotel is in process of replacing all couches, drapes and other hard goods. We do hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you are ever visiting the Louisville area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The front desk and bar staff here are very friendly - which made up for a lot of property short-comings.
I am not sure how this property is showing the new HI logo - there are a lot of old issues such as the tube tv. The wifi did not work in my room, but there was a wired option that at the desk that worked. They were painting internal doors and did not hang any wet paint signs - so I got a hand painted pushing open one of the hallway doors.
The old style floor ac unit was loud and did make for a restful sleep. The exposed wiring connections under the unit did not make me very comfortable.
There is a free airport shuttle that runs on demand - so that was very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank engineer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Your comments about our staff and service are greatly appreciated. I sincerely apologize for the experience and some of the concerns you had with our property. Please know that these issues have been dealt with. We are dilligently doing everything we can to correct these issues and greatly appreciate your patronage. Since your visit in September we have upgraded all rooms with 32" flat panel HD TV's, and we are in the process of installing wireless internet access in all rooms too. We do hope you will consider giving us a second opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Comfort Inn Louisville
#49 of 97 in Louisville
183 reviews
South Side
Sleep Inn Louisville Airport & Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
South Side
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center

Address: 4110 Dixie Hwy, PO Box 16280, Louisville, KY 40216-3812 (Formerly Holiday Inn Louisville Southwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: $92 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center is just 4.9 mi (7.9 km) from the airport and offers a free shuttle. this smoke-free hotel has an indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center. Free WiFi in public areas, free self parking, and a free airport shuttle are also provided. Other amenities include a business center and conference rooms. All 169 rooms offer free WiFi, room service, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Premium bedding, coffee makers, and free local calls are among the other amenities available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Louisville Southwest Hotel Louisville
Louisville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing