We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Louisville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
43
33
34
22
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
33
34
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat front desk staffneeds updatingboiled eggsentire weekendearly checkroom was spacious and cleanwi ficontinental breakfastyogurtchurchill downsderbyrenovationuniversityfurnishingsdowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 155 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This outfit was the most unorganized, poorly trained, front desk and management "team" I have ever came across in 20+ years of traveling. Booking a room was the beginning of this horrible experience. The staff improperly used my personal information when reserving a room. Then upon arrival our room was not ready in the time that they had promised. When my wife and I finally received our room keys...they had double booked the room and we had entered someone else's room. This raised my concerns on what kind of security could I expect for my own personal belongings. The overall situation that the hotel put us in was very uncomfortable and unprofessional. We love to travel and in NO WAY WOULD I EVER RECOMMEND THIS ESTABLISHMENT!!! The only helpful staff they have are the shuttle drivers. (at least they were honest!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimIndianapolis_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear TimIndianapolis_IN,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant experience with our shuttle drivers. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable, and apologize you were first assigned an occupied room. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is convenient - right off the Watterson. It's a ways from the airport, even though a lot of pilots and airline folks stay here. There are more convenient hotels that are nicer and closer to the airport. This Holiday Inn is clean and beds are nice. Lots of counter space in bathrooms, even though bathrooms are dated. The inside of our bathroom door was rotting from moisture. The staff was nice and our room was very clean. They have a bar inside hotel. They also don't have wireless above the first floor, and the wired internet was down during our stay. This is 2012. Come on. Get wireless to all the rooms ! It's not a deluxe hotel. Just a clean place to sleep.

Room Tip: Lower level if you want wireless.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments concerning our hotel. We are constantly upgrading and improving areas of our hotel. Our recent focus has been on enhancing all our rooms with wireless access. We can't wait for you to stay with us again to see how we have ameliorated our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel is a 2 star but being rated a 3 on hotwire. The beds are hard as concrete. The old Tube Tv is mostly an advertisement for viewing and music that you have to pay for. The phone is unusable because all the buttons are stuck wiith dirt and crusty sticky stuff. The drapes are stained. The paint and wall paper are peeling. The front desk clerk was nice and explained that the wireless does not work in the rooms, only the lobby or lower floors. The wired internet was explained to us but we did not try it. The security seemed very good and we did feel safe. The pet policy surprised us. I don't like staying in hotels that take pets. For 1 night it was just ok but over priced. This is a 2 or 2 1/2 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljm132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

I appreciate your comments and regret that you found our hotel less than a stellar experience. We have recently come under new management and the new management team is working dilligently to address these and any other deficiencies. We ask that you please consider trying us again to see our improvements that have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed two nights while we were at the Breeders Cup at Churchill Downs. The staff was the definition of Kentucky hospitality. We were offered free shuttle to the track and back. Every request was promptly and enjoyable fulfilled. Location right off the interstate loop very convenient.

The hotel restaurant is average with the typical holiday inn menu. The buffet on Saturday morning was acceptable and for the price much cheaper then what we were going to see at the track. The bar has only 10 sets and is uninspiring, but service was fine.

I wish I could say the same of the physical hotel. The property has received the Holiday Inn brand update with the new signage, carpet and bedding. It looks like some new paint was added to what otherwise was a old structure. Most likely an original Holiday Inn. We stayed on reward points but the rack rate due to the race was $275, which if I paid it, would have been a great disappointment. Our room was a King room with a couch. Unfortunately the couch looked liked they pulled it from a dumpster. It was very stained and nearly offensive. The blackout drapes were the same, with water stains. The room was clean and the bathroom fine with the typical amenities which meet he brands standards. Our friends room across the hall was a bit better. I stay in IHG properties over 100 nights a year, and this was the poorest maintained property this year.

I would suggest another property in the area maybe the comfort inn down the street, our friends stayed there and were very pleased. But if you do end up here it meets minimum cleanliness standards and the service very good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazoo_Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments concerning our staff and service. It is with deep regrets that the physical features of the hotel were not as commendable. The hotel has recently experienced management changes and the management team is working dilligently to correct and improve any and all deficiencies that you have mentioned. Our hotel is in process of replacing all couches, drapes and other hard goods. We do hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you are ever visiting the Louisville area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The front desk and bar staff here are very friendly - which made up for a lot of property short-comings.
I am not sure how this property is showing the new HI logo - there are a lot of old issues such as the tube tv. The wifi did not work in my room, but there was a wired option that at the desk that worked. They were painting internal doors and did not hang any wet paint signs - so I got a hand painted pushing open one of the hallway doors.
The old style floor ac unit was loud and did make for a restful sleep. The exposed wiring connections under the unit did not make me very comfortable.
There is a free airport shuttle that runs on demand - so that was very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank engineer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Your comments about our staff and service are greatly appreciated. I sincerely apologize for the experience and some of the concerns you had with our property. Please know that these issues have been dealt with. We are dilligently doing everything we can to correct these issues and greatly appreciate your patronage. Since your visit in September we have upgraded all rooms with 32" flat panel HD TV's, and we are in the process of installing wireless internet access in all rooms too. We do hope you will consider giving us a second opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews