We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK Stay - But Property Needs Attention and Upgrades” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
mississippi
Level Contributor
116 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“OK Stay - But Property Needs Attention and Upgrades”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

The front desk and bar staff here are very friendly - which made up for a lot of property short-comings.
I am not sure how this property is showing the new HI logo - there are a lot of old issues such as the tube tv. The wifi did not work in my room, but there was a wired option that at the desk that worked. They were painting internal doors and did not hang any wet paint signs - so I got a hand painted pushing open one of the hallway doors.
The old style floor ac unit was loud and did make for a restful sleep. The exposed wiring connections under the unit did not make me very comfortable.
There is a free airport shuttle that runs on demand - so that was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engineer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi S, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Your comments about our staff and service are greatly appreciated. I sincerely apologize for the experience and some of the concerns you had with our property. Please know that these issues have been dealt with. We are dilligently doing everything we can to correct these issues and greatly appreciate your patronage. Since your visit in September we have upgraded all rooms with 32" flat panel HD TV's, and we are in the process of installing wireless internet access in all rooms too. We do hope you will consider giving us a second opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    29
    21
    17
See reviews for
32
15
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

This location is to be avoided. Front desk personnel are very poorly trained. There is no wifi in this location, except in the lobby (however the front desk employees are unaware of this fact and will not inform you as such). Each room has a high speed modem, but very few of them actually work (don't waste you time calling maintenance or tech support, they will promise to remedy the situation, but in the end, will not). The manager's name is Dave L. Waymire.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank chestersnavely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of this hotel and the great service I received. The front desk clerks were very happy and friendly. The house keeping staff were very sweet and made sure we had what we needed. The restaurant was clean and very inviting. I would definitely recommend this hotel for any one visiting Louisville. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel123056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, TN
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed at the Holiday Inn on Dixie Hwy in Louisville for two nights (for a Family Reunion). I was pleasantly surprised because the hotel was MUCH better than the reviews I had read. In fact, I booked the rooms only because it was the hotel for the Family Reunion and where the other family members would be staying. I went prepared to leave and go to another hotel if the hotel was not clean of decent. The Hotel was very clean, nice and what you should expect for the price of under $90 per night. It was not resort quality, but they don't charge resort prices either. The area was not terrible either.

I'm not quite sure why the reviews were so bad - perhaps the hotel has been upgraded. But I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annbwhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed here for the Derby. Aesthetically, the hotel appears dilapidated. I expected much more, particularly since the hotel had been relaunched. The room we had, the sofa bed looked as if it were straight off a trash heap. It was beyond worn, added to that, the sleeper was not made and the mattress had huge stains all over the mattress. We had to request bedding for the sleeper.

The next morning, I ran into our housekeeper and asked if there was something that could be done about the mattress or even if they could give us a roll-away. When we returned, the housekeeper had tidied up our room and given us the roll-away as requested. I cannot remember what her name was, but her attentiveness made the rest of the stay very pleasant.

The breakfast was dry on two of the three days that we ate at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c_fore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Normally I dont write reviews unless I am just really disappointed with my experience. Stayed here for 3 days for the Kentucky Derby 2011 and willingly paid the outrageous rate of $450+ tax per night for a 2 star no frills hotel. The hotel itself is easy to miss as the facade looks more like an old appartment building or maybe a retirement home. If it wasent for the large holiday inn sign on the street I would drove straight past it. Anyway...its a classic example of where the pictures online vs what you actually get are two very different things. The rooms themselves are ok and have the standard features you have now come to expect of a Holiday Inn (Curved shower curtain rod, decent shower head, different pillows of varying firmness, etc) however still the old school tired dark green carpets, faded wooden furniture and tube TVs. The front desk staff at check in clearly do not enjoy their job and make it fairly obvious to guests in their delivery of "customer service". But as we know there is no such thing as bad employees...just bad managers...and this became apparent on Derby morning when we were trying to get our group together to get on our van to go to the races. The van had pulled up t the front door...The General Manager comes out and in a very irrate tone asks us to move the van so that "his customers could pull up". When I expalined we were cusotmers of the hotel he snapped at me, raised his voice and insisted we move the van immediatley. Anyway...not a pleasent way to start Derby morning nor is it a display of the Southern Hospitality this state is known for. At least now I understand why the employees treat guests here the way they do. There are plenty of other hotels in the area that I would rather stay at next year.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelReviews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

The hotel is old, the rooms do not have Refrigerators, Microwaves, and the internet is hardly working! Found a couple of bugs of not known origin....On top of it during the night several cars got broken into!!!, You can eat in their restaurant but if your steak is overcooked they will still CHARGE YOUR CARD THE GRATUITY>>>so my recommendation STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galka_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Comfort Inn Louisville
#48 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
SpringHill Suites Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center

Property: Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center
Address: 4110 Dixie Hwy, PO Box 16280, Louisville, KY 40216 (Formerly Holiday Inn Louisville Southwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center is just 4.9 mi (7.9 km) from the airport and offers a free shuttle. this smoke-free hotel has an indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center. Free WiFi in public areas, free self parking, and a free airport shuttle are also provided. Other amenities include a business center and conference rooms. All 169 rooms offer free WiFi, room service, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Premium bedding, coffee makers, and free local calls are among the other amenities available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cottonwood Suites Louisville Fair & Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Louisville Southwest Hotel Louisville
Louisville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing