We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Clean & Centerally Located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport
Ranked #73 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Located close to everything, but not the best neighborHOOD. Didn't really deal with the staff. When we got to our room we were VERY disappointed that the AC was not on...not even the ceiling fan. HELLO...It's the end of June in the middle of HELL. It was so hot and stuffy in there it literally took the rest of the day and all night to cool it off...and that was the AC on high and the fan. About 3 am it felt good. We left that puppy running the entire time we were there. The room pics look nice, but in person the room is a bit outdated. There's a full kitchen in the "penthouse" but no pans, plates, silverware, or even napkins...pretty pointless if you ask me. The internet ran very slow. The pool area was clean but we didn't get to enjoy it because there most have been some kind of tournament that weekend and there were 8-10 teenage girls at the INDOOR pool singing, screaming, and giggling. (Guess we've gotten old) The rooms were clean, except the bathroom had little hairs all over it. That was gross! The breakfast was not appetizing, to say the least. It consisted of hard-boiled eggs (strange), gravy (skip it, you'll thank me), biscuits, various pastries & fruits, coffee, and a couple different types of juice. We got up early enough to go to breakfast the first morning, but didn't bother the 2nd morning. All in all...it wasn't terrible. Just not as much QUALITY as we expected. Oh well...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fun4Us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2008

We chose this hotel as it was close to the university and it had a full kitchen. However, there were no pans, utensils, or dishes in the kitchen - so what was the point?? The mattresses had springs coming through and there were loud parties all night long. The breakfast choices & quality was very poor. The only good thing was the jacuzzi which was huge. Next time though I will spend a little more & get a good nights sleep.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank ssu11321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkr101, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thanks for leaving your review, we are sorry you had a problem with the first room and had to move, we normally do not have any insect problems and if you ever do return again we promise you will not have this problem here again. The front desk mgr. (myself) was never contacted about any refund regarding your stay with us for any inconvenience of having to move rooms or you would have received at least a partial credit for your inconvenience of having to change rooms had you asked. If we do not here back from you after changing rooms (which I am sure was a inconvenience) we can only assume that you were satisfied with the room change. Had you decided not to stay at that point you would not have been charged a dime as we would have let you out of your reservation at no penalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

I stayed here from June 29-July 1. It was a free room since my father had reward points. My sister and I and my 1-year old stayed here for the weekend. The room was larger than an average hotel room. It also had a kitchenette area, except there were no utensils, kitchen items, etc. I thought the beds were hard. The bathroom was large, but seemed somewhat dirty, even after being cleaned, which is probably an age thing. The sink was in the same part as the tub and toliet, which is unusual for a hotel. I actually prefer the sink to be separate because then one person can get ready while the other takes a shower. However, the shower was great compared to some chain hotels. The shower spray was strong, which you don't always get.

The room was nice and quiet, even though we were on the freeway side of the hotel. I hardly noticed we were next to the freeway, until I went outside.

The staff was quite accomodating, getting us into our room before the official check-in time.

The breakfast was okay, but nothing to get excited over.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mwminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

what a joke. impossible to get to, all one way roads. hotel should have closed when the highway went right thur the front. BIG DEAL, whirlpool tub, with rubber covered 1970 worn out beds. this place should rent by the hour, not the day. hookers outside waiting for your pleasure. guest, if thats what they were, i'd say more like crack dealers, LOUD all night!!! the morning checkout was a treat, police in the lobby over a certain ethnic fight in one room, not enough drugs to go around i would guess. STAY CLEAR, A REAL DUMP. IF YOU MUST USE THIS ONE, BRING A GUN AND A JUG OF BLEACH.

    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bigestuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

This hotel has many things in its favor. Number one: Location, near the U. of Louisville and Churchill Downs, right off of I-65. Also the rates are reasonable, there are amenities such as free wi-fi, a pool, airport shuttle, and free breakfast. But bring your earplugs, because the sound-proofing is totally inadequate. You will hear every conversation and TV show in the rooms next door, upstairs and below. You may even have the disagreeable experience, as I did, of being woken up by a phone call from the front desk at 3:30 am to be told that your snoring was keeping the guests next door awake. This after I had to hear every word of their argument earlier that night. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Roaming_Roman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
16
Reviewed December 5, 2005

I almost always use tripadvisor before I book an unknown hotel, and I have always found the reviews to be accurate. Today, as I was searching for a hotel in Sarasota, FL, I decided to look at the reviews for this hotel - where I have stayed 4 times this year for business trips to Louisville. Perhaps the above reviews are accurate, but I can tell you they do not reflect my experience.

I always stay in the 3rd floor penthouse (yes, its funny - but that is what they call it). The rooms are large, with efficiency kitchens, and cathedral style ceilings. Each room has a ceiling fan. Each room also has a LARGE 2 person jacuzzi. I have found this hotel (at least these rooms) to be the nicest in its class. The 3rd floor rooms are typically $90. For the money, you won't find anything nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2005

We were passing through Louisville; it was 3:00 am; and we needed some sleep before going any further. The guy at the front desk was very friendly. The room was nothing special; although, we weren't expecting much. We were literally there to sleep and get out. Getting to sleep was difficult. There were three loud voices that went on and on. I don't know if they were next to us or above us or what. All I know is it couldn't have been any louder if they had been sitting at the foot of my bed. Apparently, the walls are paper thin. Being close to the airport, you'd think they would have used extra caution in soundproofing. Oh, well, thank God for late check out, which allowed us to sleep in a bit before heading out.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meyerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
South Side
Sleep Inn Louisville Airport & Expo
South Side
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#75 of 98 in Louisville
429 reviews
Okolona
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#63 of 98 in Louisville
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport

Address: 311 E Gaulbert Ave, Louisville, KY 40208-2706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: $81 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have fully renovated our hotel at the beginning of 2016! We are conveniently located right next to the University of Louisville and less than a few miles away from the KFC YUM Center, Downtown Louisville, Fair and Expo center, and the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites University/Airport
Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport Hotel Louisville
Quality Inn University Airport
Quality Inn Louisville
Louisville Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing