We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dowager But Not Dowdy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seelbach Hilton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Seelbach Hilton
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
State College, United States
1 review
“A Dowager But Not Dowdy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Seelbach earlier this month for a conference. While I love grand, inner city hotels, it's sort of a crap shoot if they provide all the modern conveniences of a generic, modern hotel in the suburbs. I need not have worried about the Seelbach. It was a very pleasant experience. The public spaces are grand (check out the Rathskeller in the basement even if you don't have a function there), the guest rooms and bathrooms are as comfortable as in a hotel built 15 years ago. Yes, the bathroom is smaller than in a hotel in the suburbs, but it more than made up for that by being a well-designed space with more than ample water pressure and hot water. If you have business in downtown Louisville by all means, stay at the Seelbach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    479
    227
    117
    59
See reviews for
212
469
50
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paeonian Springs, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great old hotel. I should qualify that I like historic hotels and that ole' fashion-ness may not appeal to all. The room was huge and the bathroom very very tiny ( I don't know if every room is the same). Still - the beds were very cozy, the rooms quiet, the lobby pretty and the location favorable. The staff was eager to please and I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathroom in your particular room...my bathroom;s shower was maybe 3.5 square and the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49MD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here with my mom and her good friend on October 4, 2013, for one night. I work for Hilton, and got a fabulous deal. However, this hotel is worth every penny one would pay.
I wanted to make sure that my mom and her friend, who would be arriving several hours before me, could check into my room, using my discount. David at the front desk worked so wonderfully with me over the phone, I faxed over a few bits of information, and the other girls were able to check in early, around 10am (working in a hotel, I can tell you that early checkin-ins can be difficult to accommodate)!!
We had a wonderful dinner, and followed up with drinks a few blocks away. Walking back, we walked through Fourth Street Live! One of the entrances sits about 500 feet away from the hotel. I wish that I had not had to be at work early the next morning in another city, as I would have had us all go out there! Our room was near Fourth Street Live, and we did not hear a single peep of noise. It was fabulous.
The decor is to-die-for. The owners have really done a great job of keeping the original feel of the hotel. The elevators are absolutely fabulous. If you get a chance to walk downstairs and check out the Rathskeller, it is one of the most interesting rooms (for wedding receptions, balls, etc.) you will ever see.
We would all return and would suggest this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were in town for a wedding this past weekend and really enjoyed staying that the Hilton Seelbach. It's convenient location downtown was a plus. They upgraded us to a corner room with a great view of the city and the concierge lounge, while small in size, was a welcomed addition. We had food each night and breakfast each morning, plus, much to my wife's pleasure, they had bottles of Italian soda in the lounge, she loved that! All in all, we'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Seelbach Hotel is one of the few grand hotels built in the early 20th century to remain open. Hilton has done a great job is preserving this amazing place for us to time travel back to 1908. Yet we also expect modern technology to be part of the experience, too. The HVAC system was so noisy, it became difficult to sleep. We turned off the A/C completely but an annoying hum remained. We changed rooms and it got worse in the next room. The room prices are expensive. They can do better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel, lobby, rooms! Room was a bit small, not much room for luggage. Excellent location - easy walk to many restaurants, KFC Yum Center, riverwalk, etc. Parking is pricey. Great bar and bar food. It is Kentucky so go for the bourbons!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the Seelbach. The Seelbach is well known to Kentuckians, and is a beautiful, nicely restored historic hotel. It boasts the only 5-star restaurant in Louisville (The Oak Room), and a very well-furnished bar. We didn't visit the Oak Room, and visited the bar only for the Sunday buffet (the bar serves double-duty, as a restaurant, I believe). Our room, a king, was on one of the concierge levels. The room, and the bathroom, were certainly serviceable and clean, though a bit cramped. This is not unusual at historic hotels, so I don't really count it against the hotel. The location is very convenient, especially in terms of nightlife and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#6 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,682 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seelbach Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seelbach Hilton

Property: Seelbach Hilton
Address: 500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#23 Family Hotel in Louisville
#24 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seelbach Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Hotel with Old World Charm and modern amenities - Home of The Oakroom, Kentucky's only 5 Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Seelbach Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seelbach Hilton Hotel Louisville
Hilton Hotel Louisville
Louisville Seelbach Hotel
Seelbach Hilton Louisville Hotel
Hilton Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing