We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Staff”
Review of Seelbach Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seelbach Hilton
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were in town for a concert at the Yum Center and stayed at the Seelbach Hilton for one night. It was a little bit of a walk to the arean (in heels), but very doable. Hotel was clean, rooms were updated and very nice. The room was a little small, but perfect size for us. The night manager handled an issue we had with our reservation quickly without any problem. Hotel is located right across the street from the 4th Street Live area which has lots of restaurants and bars. Don't forget to have a drink in the hotel bar. Also I highly recommend the Louisville Slugger Factory Tour/Museum, even if you are not into baseball it was very interesting and had a lot of history.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookLuvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    530
    248
    127
    66
See reviews for
246
527
54
610
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I booked the Seelbach Hilton for a weekend getaway to Louisville to see the Who in concert. The hotel is an old world gem with the rooms having been recently renovated. We did a lot of walking downtown and found all we needed within walking distance including the 4th Street Live experience which is 1 block away from the Seelbach. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and enjoyed the food at Otto's Cafe. Overall it was a great stay for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

3 friends and i stopped in to the Seelback Hotel Bar for a bite to eat after we looked around the beautiful hotel and Oak room. We were delighted that our selection of Smoked Bourbon Corn Chowder was so tasty! The bar is just beautiful with its oak carvings. I also got the Fried Green tomatoes which were really good. This hotel is a must see as it brings you back in time for a short while to a different era. A great experiance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

In Louisville for a concert and was torn between several downtown hotels. Selected the Seelbach purely for it's historical feel and old glamour.
Lobby has a beautiful grand staircase that reminds me of the Plaza in NYC; rooms were smaller than most modern hotels but nicely decorated from top to bottom.
The "basement" must be seen - very unusual and you can only imagine the huge parties held inn the 20's and 30's.
Breakfast was an excellent buffet that had seven to 10 various dishes and about everything you could want.
The ONLY downer was the "famous" bar - touted as one of the top 50 bars in the USA. Yes, nice old bar but service is unfriendly and slow. The bar area is a large room and people had children running in and around the tables... The famous bar was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Hessen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here for one night with friends. I initially booked here primarily for the price and location (right next to Fourth Street Live), but was very impressed with almost every facet of the hotel. Service was prompt and courteous if a little cold, the historic decor was very nice and the recent renovations were very tastefully done. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. If you are interested, the place also has some pretty neat history.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 404PeterB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is an excellent hotel to stay in for any reason!!! I have stayed here many times and am never disappointed. The location is perfect for downtown activities in regard to conferences, meeting, nightlife, concerts, and ballgames. The food at the restaurant is excellent.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocobear1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our third stay at this hotel. We have always been lucky to be on the 7th floor, so we have not expierenced a "small" room. It is true that some of the facilities (lifts,etc) are not what one may expect in a top hotel. However this is more than compensated for by the overall feel of the place. The Seelbach has great character,and generally the staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: sign up to Hilton Honours and get a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Bryce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 97 in Louisville
1,907 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,363 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 97 in Louisville
3,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Louisville
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seelbach Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seelbach Hilton

Property: Seelbach Hilton
Address: 500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#23 Family Hotel in Louisville
#24 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seelbach Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Hotel with Old World Charm and modern amenities - Home of The Oakroom, Kentucky's only 5 Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Seelbach Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seelbach Hilton Hotel Louisville
Hilton Hotel Louisville
Louisville Seelbach Hotel
Seelbach Hilton Louisville Hotel
Hilton Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing