We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Toast On Market

Toast On Market
Ranked #31 of 1,757 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Phoenix Hill
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“OK, not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

It seemed like this was the place to go for a great downtown breakfast. While SAturdays can indeed be crowded, we waited for almost an hour and yet saw tables that were empty the whole time. We were then finally seated at one of these same tables. Another party was seated just after us and they had just arrived. Also the food was only good, not great. After asking about whether a pancake dish came with real maple syrup, it in fact came with some sort of fake maple flavored syrup. Yuk, why bother even having a pancake with that on top? And this was after having been brought the wrong order. My husband's meal was the special of the day, and he reported it as very average - and fairly expensive to boot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    93
    31
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Really loved this cute brunch spot. We went based on recommendations of other Trip Advisors. I went for the p b and j pancakes and was not disappointed. They were awesome! Portions were quite big. Very reasonable for the quality of food and the good service we had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjenkins27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I love this place from the indoor outdoor eclectic decor to the fun friendly atmosphere. The food oooohhh the food. The menu is simple straight forward and innovative. Creative people that love food and love to cook work here. Im not going to go on about my meal, it was memorable to say the least. If your reading this your half way to flavor paradise. Thank you Toast on Market for the best breakfast I've had in a long time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PiccolaChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Louisville.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Great food, service and a quirky atmosphere. Order the bread pudding pancakes and thank me later! One of the many start attractions in the NuLou area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trchaseKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Louisville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had the special: peanut butter and jelly pancakes with bacon on the side. It was outstanding. I had a coffee drink that was a little too sweet but was great after the waitress poured a little more coffee in it.

Wife had a couple mimosas and really enjoyed them (gran and pomegranate). We had heard the lemon soufflé pancakes were great so she got those but they weren't particularly lemony which was disappointing but still very good and fluffy.

Only downer was it made the rest of the breakfasts in Louisville make us feel like we were wasting our time and missing out on what could have been at Toast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCMike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast On Market also viewed

 

Been to Toast On Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing