We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place I would stay in Louisville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The only place I would stay in Louisville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Before my trip to Louisville, I researched hotel recommendations and came across The Brown Hotel. With a reputation for good service, amazing food, a beautiful interior, as well as other great amenities, it seemed like a no brainer. After leaving, it is safe to say that my stay exceeded expectations. The room to the hotel was very clean, and had a great view of the city. The hotel staff always greeted me with a smile and asked if there was anything they could do to help. The Brown was also within walking distance to Central Park and 4th Street Live. The Brown's restaurant had a variety of food including the legendary "Hot Brown," but also had its fair share of vegetarian options. Overall, it was the perfect location, kind hospitality, and classic interior that makes me want to stay here again, once I return to Louisville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madamo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    347
    107
    28
    21
See reviews for
199
520
59
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stopped in to the Brown after a long road trip (2,000 miles). What a great place! A very classy place for sure. The room was super clean and comfortable. One of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in, and allowed me to get an actual full nights rest (I usually can't sleep in hotels at all). The bar in the lobby made up wonderful bourbon cocktails, and the staff was great to work with. Stayed for breakfast in the morning, and had a very enjoyable meal. I would recommend The Brown Hotel for anyone passing through Louisville and looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Let me begin by saying that my wife acquired a great deal on "Living Social" so the value part of the review is open to interpretation . For us it was a wonderful deal and I cannot say enough about the facility and service. This is the originator of the " Hot Brown" meal and even of you do not stay here, you should eat here. I would stay here if you can because it is an absolutely beautiful place to stay and it is perfectly located.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Brown is a classic "old school" hotel and still one of my favorites for its emphasis on elegence and service. I have stayed here dozens of times on business and it is my first choice in Louisville, even when it is not as a convenient location for my work, it is still first choice. The staff is extremely customer satisfaction oriented, the building itself is a delight, and the main restaurant "The English Grill" is one of the best in the city. All that having been said, the hotel does need a refresh, just a little sprucing up and modernizing here and there.

Room Tip: higher floors away from street noise; rooms are not cookie cutter alike, some are larger and some sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadforgci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Pleased to read that you have stayed with us many times in past.
Please let me know when your travels next bring you our way. I would look forward to a chance to say hello and block a nice room for you.
Hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
201 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here one night after a concert at the KFC Yum Center. I was dropping off girls, so we did not need to be within walking distance to the arena. From the moment you drive up, the valets, bellmen, desk associates, and wait staff are simply amazing!! So helpful with info of the city, parking, dining, and friendly. Ate at the lobby restaurant as well as room service. You MUST have the Hot Brown. If you aren't from the South, you probably have not heard of this favorite sandwich, but The Brown Hotel is where is originated and no one does it justice! We all actually had it twice during our stay! The hotel is a little pricey, but well worth it! The awe inspiring decor and atmosphere was awesome!

Room Tip: If you don't want to valet park, there are lots close to the the hotel to park in over the weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernJewelryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great hotel, although a little far from center of city (0.5-1 miles). There are some hotels closer to downtown, but on a hot day, it was a bit of a walk. Staff was helpful, but I was a little annoyed they charged us $10 extra for 2 separate beds (booked on priceline).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slick17asu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My Sister and I took a "roots" trip to Kentucky to see where I was born and where she grew up before we moved to the Gold State. The Hotel is a Magnificent Historic Hotel beautifully appointed with charming staff. The rooms send you back in time a half a century. THE WINDOWS OPEN! Kind people abound and we were very gratful for all of their great recommendations. Not to be missed is their world famous "Hot Brown" a yummy cheesy sandwich thing (we split one) apparently invented in the 20s to fuel the flapper set after a night on the town. Rich and yum yum. Could never eat a whole one. A lovely experience. I hope the staff wont be mad. I got home and had not turned in my plastic key. So I hole punched it and used it for the mailbox. Now when I get the mail I leap back to my roots.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank todd e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#7 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#38 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,311 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#18 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#33 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Property: The Brown Hotel
Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing