We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,230)
Filter reviews
2,230 results
Traveler rating
1,536
476
150
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,536
476
150
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby barclub levelhistoric hotelpiano playerberry piebell staffdowntown louisvillesouthern charmbeautiful lobbycorner roomroom was largevalet parkingan older hotelbourbon trailfourth street livechurchill downshors
Filter
Updating list...
1,500 - 1,505 of 2,230 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Brown because we were going to a play at the Kentucky Center. It is very convenient to take a taxi from the Brown. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The food in the Lobby bar was wonderful and priced appropriately. We enjoy staying at the Brown whenever we are in Louisville.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deemartin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Pleased to hear that you are a returning guest. Thank you for noting our good location for the activities in the downtown.
Please allow me to handle a future reservation when your travels bring you our way.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This historic hotel is not only gorgeous, it's right in the thick of Louisville with really nice boutiques, restaurants, and nightlife within walking distance. You get a touch of the past within the beautiful walls, but not out of reach from a very modern evening!

The staff were all really friendly, going above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We were upgraded to a club level room, which included drinks and hors d'oeuvres in the lounge each evening, as well as a classic breakfast each morning. The room was huge, and lovely, overlooking downtown Louisville and a breathtaking sunset. The toiletries were very nice, as well, and there was nothing I needed that wasn't there for us.

There is so much to see at the Brown Hotel, and so much to explore in the city around it. It's definitely worth it!

Room Tip: Club level rooms include the most perks for you stay.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaintLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind thoughts and for noting our great location in downtown with so much within walking distance.
We look forward to seeing you in future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Attended a wedding reception and stayed for 2 nights. The moment we arrived we were treated to 1st class service until we left after our stay. The food in the English Grill was delicious. You've got to try the Hot Brown, it is to die for!! The hotel with its history, you feel like you are living in an ornate castle. Cant say enough about the Brown and its staff only stay at the Brown and you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: Conner suites are large
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolSue237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
Very pleased to read of your experience with us. Our staff enjoyed your wonderful thoughts.
Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance in future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night, but I wish we could have been there longer. We found the staff quite attentive and professional from the moment we arrived, and obviously the decor and style of the hotel is unique. I stay at plenty of stuffy five-star hotels (usually in Asia) for work and found the Brown to be a breath of fresh air. Well appointed, but felt comfortable letting my hair down. Hopefully as that part of downtown Louisville improves it will become an even more desirable place to stay.

Room Tip: Stayed on the club level, which was worth it for the breakfast.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
Delighted to hear that you find us in similar category with your five star hotels in Asia.
Thank you for the kind thoughts on our staff.
Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Right up front, this isn't a hotel for everyone. It is an old style hotel with tradeoffs between the old time style/class and a those deficiencies of an old building with thinner walls and different spaces. Bathrooms are not going to be huge. There will be a few more noises from both inside and outside. The appointments, however, are a bit of a throwback to the the 20s through 40s. There is a strong focus on 'The Derby' and Louisville history, cultured service, fine dining (both casual and formal), and a decor that if you are not careful will have you staring at the ceiling in the lobby. If you are more the metro-chic whatever type, this isn't the place for you. If you want to dress for dinner, have overstuffed couches and Queen Anne furniture in your room, then this might be it. Not cheap, but as soon as you walk in, you know that this is different than most hotels around the country. Dining is wonderful, but J. Graham's Cafe and The English Grill will be reviewed separately. I love it and would come back just for another meal by Chef Bettis (and the strawberry jam).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodrevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very well written review.
Pleased to read your good thoughts regarding cultured service and our wonderful Chef and culinary staff.
Hope to have you back with us in future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews