We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brown Hotel visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brown Hotel visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Brown for him to attend a meeting. The meeting rooms were suitable for their needs. Our room was adequately appointed and comfortable. The bar staff were friendly, and the ambience of the hotel was inviting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sylviaroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    347
    107
    28
    21
See reviews for
198
520
59
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

As a disabled veteran, my wife and I rarely travel for leisure. This was our first stay at The Brown and we highly recommend it to anyone from business travellers to couples looking for a getaway.

The customer service we received was superior to any hotel we've ever stayed with in the past. Each employee of the hotel greeted us as if we were the most important people in the building every time we encountered them, regardless of the reason or question we had.

The room was absolutely beautiful, furnished with a plush pillowtop bed that can only be described similarly to sleeping on a cloud. We were in a Club Level Suite and the amenities it offers from terry cloth bathrobes, floor level key entry access, to free drinks in the Club Level Lounge, just to name a few, makes it a terrific value.

The English Grille is available for those who like me, have no particular schesule for when they are hungry. We ordered room service and was stunned by the quality of the food; it seemed as though our meal was freshly made to order even though it was almost midnight. Everything tasted exquisite from the champagne to our meal.

The hotel is in the heart of downtown Louisville, where so much history is still alive. From famous thoroughbred horses to legendary prize fighters, bourbons to iconic baseball bats, there's bound to be something for everyone within a close proximity.

Our stay at The Brown Hotel was absolutely perfect and while I am a hopeless romantic, the staff at The Brown Hotel made it all possible. I will be forever grateful to those of you who made our stay a truly memorable one. -Joseph & Jera D.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Great to read your wonderful review. Our staff loved reading your kind words.
We hope to have you back in the near future. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a weekend conference. This Historic hotel is in a great location for walking downtown. The valet parking was excellent as well as the Room Service Staff. I order the
Kentucky Derby Pie and it was delicious. The Hotel is not new but still retains a lot of its charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkclardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The location is great, just a few blocks from the action on 4th Street. There is a fee for valet parking, but you can park the car yourself in a garage just a couple of blocks away on Chestnut St. for VERY little money. We're told the parking is free on weekends! If you're in Louisville when Churchill Downs is open, it's worth a visit. Also, take the 75 minute Trolley Tour. But back to the Brown Hotel, staying there is like going back in time; truly an experience. And you must get a Hot Brown while at the hotel - the original! It's very rich, so 1 is enough for 2 at lunch. The staff at the hotel is extremely helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a "club" room on the 11th floor which entitled us to breakfast in the AM, and wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! Very elegant and upscale. The staff were soooo nice and went above and beyond the whole time. You do have to pay for parking though. The hotel is within walking distance of the attractions. I would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber197925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Having grown up in KY I had always heard good things about the Brown. My husband and I had tickets to see a show at the Kentucky Center this weekend. I attempted to make a reservation at 21 C, a hotel across from the Kentucky Center for the Arts but it was fully booked. We decided to give The Brown a whirl. The first tip off that gouging might be an issue came when we called the hotel to make a reservation for one night only to be told only Friday/Saturday two day bookings were being offered. We then went on The Brown's website only to find we were quite able to book only one night, so long as you booked a package. Since we had been willing to spend a couple of hundred dollars at 21 C and we had always heard great things about the Brown, we sucked it up and paid over $200 a night for a queen package, which included a bourbon tasting (which we didn't need or want), etc., because it was the only way to book a room.

When we arrived, the first thing I noticed was that the neighborhood was a little sketchy. Run down buildings across Broadway, etc., not to mention the overall distance to the majority of downtown activities. The hostess at check in was quite friendly and offered suggestions for dinner. When we asked about getting to our show that night she mentioned a courtesy vehicle the hotel has but said she doubted they would be able or willing to take us or pick us up from the Kentucky Center because they would be making airport runs. I asked about walking and she indicated it was quite far and a cab for $6 one way might be our best bet there, though getting a cab back might not be that easy. Needless to say we drove on our own and paid for parking at the Center.

When we headed upstairs to the room we were told we were on a club level room and to insert our key in the elevator for access. While this is a great safety feature, there appeared to be no rhyme or reason as our floor was not entitled to any of the club level amenities. The carpet on the elevators is quite warn and the brass is in need of a good polish.

Once upstairs in our room the first thing that hit us was the overwhelming mildew/old smoke smell. We were on the 12th floor and couldn't open windows and the a/c didn't help dry the room which had almost damp air. This could possibly be to the lack of bathroom ventilation and years of shower steam penetrating the room with no escape. We decided we were not going to be in the room long so we just went with it.

After our show was over we picked up dessert and brought it back to our room. We ordered coffee to go with our dessert from room service. We waited 25 minutes at 11:30 at night (not peak hours by any means) for our coffee to arrive. It was delivered by a nice young man and was presented well but we soon discovered we were charged $14 for coffee for two people. The coffee was ok, but cost more than some dinner entrees. In fact upon checkout the person at registration asked if we had enjoyed our room service dinner, and when we said we just had coffee she commented, oh, it must have been coffee for 2 at that price. Yes, even the employees are shocked by the prices! Speaking of checkout, their is no express checkout, so be prepared to wait to check out of the hotel. Not a huge deal but quite odd when they hold a credit card number and have magnetic keys. It seems unnecessary.

Long story short, if you are looking for history this hotel is ok (but the Sealbach is better). If you are looking for opulence, you might enjoy the ornate lobby ceiling and heavy fabrics in the lobby. Once in your room you will find nothing more than an average Holiday Inn might offer, at a much, much higher price. I will be booking elsewhere for much better quality the next time I visit Louisville.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelers R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#7 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#37 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,308 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#17 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#33 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Property: The Brown Hotel
Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing