We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$122
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$99
$89
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo(Louisville)(Great Value!)
$68
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breckinridge Inn(Louisville)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,202)
Filter reviews
2,202 results
Traveler rating
1,510
474
150
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,510
474
150
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby barclub levelhistoric hotelpiano playerberry piebell staffmodern amenitiesdowntown louisvillesouthern charmbeautiful lobbycorner roomevery staff membervalet parkingan older hotelroom was largebourbon trailbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
1,483 - 1,488 of 2,202 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The location is great, just a few blocks from the action on 4th Street. There is a fee for valet parking, but you can park the car yourself in a garage just a couple of blocks away on Chestnut St. for VERY little money. We're told the parking is free on weekends! If you're in Louisville when Churchill Downs is open, it's worth a visit. Also, take the 75 minute Trolley Tour. But back to the Brown Hotel, staying there is like going back in time; truly an experience. And you must get a Hot Brown while at the hotel - the original! It's very rich, so 1 is enough for 2 at lunch. The staff at the hotel is extremely helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a "club" room on the 11th floor which entitled us to breakfast in the AM, and wine and cheese in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! Very elegant and upscale. The staff were soooo nice and went above and beyond the whole time. You do have to pay for parking though. The hotel is within walking distance of the attractions. I would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber197925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Having grown up in KY I had always heard good things about the Brown. My husband and I had tickets to see a show at the Kentucky Center this weekend. I attempted to make a reservation at 21 C, a hotel across from the Kentucky Center for the Arts but it was fully booked. We decided to give The Brown a whirl. The first tip off that gouging might be an issue came when we called the hotel to make a reservation for one night only to be told only Friday/Saturday two day bookings were being offered. We then went on The Brown's website only to find we were quite able to book only one night, so long as you booked a package. Since we had been willing to spend a couple of hundred dollars at 21 C and we had always heard great things about the Brown, we sucked it up and paid over $200 a night for a queen package, which included a bourbon tasting (which we didn't need or want), etc., because it was the only way to book a room.

When we arrived, the first thing I noticed was that the neighborhood was a little sketchy. Run down buildings across Broadway, etc., not to mention the overall distance to the majority of downtown activities. The hostess at check in was quite friendly and offered suggestions for dinner. When we asked about getting to our show that night she mentioned a courtesy vehicle the hotel has but said she doubted they would be able or willing to take us or pick us up from the Kentucky Center because they would be making airport runs. I asked about walking and she indicated it was quite far and a cab for $6 one way might be our best bet there, though getting a cab back might not be that easy. Needless to say we drove on our own and paid for parking at the Center.

When we headed upstairs to the room we were told we were on a club level room and to insert our key in the elevator for access. While this is a great safety feature, there appeared to be no rhyme or reason as our floor was not entitled to any of the club level amenities. The carpet on the elevators is quite warn and the brass is in need of a good polish.

Once upstairs in our room the first thing that hit us was the overwhelming mildew/old smoke smell. We were on the 12th floor and couldn't open windows and the a/c didn't help dry the room which had almost damp air. This could possibly be to the lack of bathroom ventilation and years of shower steam penetrating the room with no escape. We decided we were not going to be in the room long so we just went with it.

After our show was over we picked up dessert and brought it back to our room. We ordered coffee to go with our dessert from room service. We waited 25 minutes at 11:30 at night (not peak hours by any means) for our coffee to arrive. It was delivered by a nice young man and was presented well but we soon discovered we were charged $14 for coffee for two people. The coffee was ok, but cost more than some dinner entrees. In fact upon checkout the person at registration asked if we had enjoyed our room service dinner, and when we said we just had coffee she commented, oh, it must have been coffee for 2 at that price. Yes, even the employees are shocked by the prices! Speaking of checkout, their is no express checkout, so be prepared to wait to check out of the hotel. Not a huge deal but quite odd when they hold a credit card number and have magnetic keys. It seems unnecessary.

Long story short, if you are looking for history this hotel is ok (but the Sealbach is better). If you are looking for opulence, you might enjoy the ornate lobby ceiling and heavy fabrics in the lobby. Once in your room you will find nothing more than an average Holiday Inn might offer, at a much, much higher price. I will be booking elsewhere for much better quality the next time I visit Louisville.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Travelers R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Brown hotel gives you the feeling of old Kentucky charm. The rooms are reflective of Kentucky culture. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The service is also exceptional. In an ideal location for out of town visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews