We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“That southern kind of hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“That southern kind of hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The largest hotel room I've ever stayed in! I definitely recommend The Brown if you're looking for something special with more of a local feel; for us it was a decision between The Brown and 21c, but as out-of-towners, I think we made the right decision.
Beautiful interiors, great service, fantastic room, plenty of bourbon options and, finally, a bartender that can make a superb Old Fashioned. Couldn't have asked for much more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pezmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Pleased to see that you chose us over the competition in town.
We are very proud of our lobby bartender staff, who are well versed in everything about Kentucky’s native spirit and can recommend from any of our 50+ bourbon selections.
Look forward to having you back with us.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    377
    119
    32
    22
See reviews for
229
605
68
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Radcliff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I love this Hotel. I am here for a wedding. I enjoyed my stay, this is my second time spending the weekend at The Brown a Hotel. Entire room is spacious. It was six ladies getting ready in my room at one time & it worked.
My best Friend got married in the Crystal ballroom & reception was on the entire 16th floor; both was nice, Debbie from the brown is awesome. All hotel staff has been the absolute Best an accommodating.

Now! I will see this, I ordered the Classic breakfast it was not good bacon was burnt, eggs was juicy ( lol), toast was burnt for $25. Also, my plumbing is suspect, it seems to be a disaster waiting to happen. I'm very careful not to use too much of anything that would cause a mess. Lastly, the cleaning staff overlooked clean my room, but It was restocked late last night with no problem.

This is a very old Hotel, yet, very well kept. You will see dated places but it's still a pretty perfect place to stay. I was in room 920, overall I'm very satisfied.

Room Tip: Room 920, you can here hallway & room to room conversation, however, the class of people use pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olskooldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Recently stayed 2 nights so I could be downtown for a couple of events and it turned into the perfect weekend getaway. The upgraded room was spacious, had lots of windows and the beds were heaven. Every member of the staff I encountered had a smile and wanted to make sure I had the best stay possible. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouLouWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsfan82
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I just can't pull myself to giving this hotel a five rating. The staff is courtesy and friendly, the beds are okay and the layout of the room is nice and large. However, parking costs 24 dollars a night...with tax..lol why with tax? Another issue is that even though the rooms have that antique look..everything is made in China and not very eclectic. For what I paid it was a fair price, but I wouldn't pay much more. No pool, but it's okay...we didn't expect one. Some rooms have noise reduction window covers and some do not..so check before you stay, because the noise from the street could keep an individual up all night.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownsfan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write and for the favorable comments on our staff courtesy. Our pillow top bed mattresses are all brand new, so hopefully you slept well.
Parking is a bit of a costly endeavor downtown, though we keep our rates below most of our competition. Unfortunately, those tax collectors want their share.
Please let me know when your travels next bring you our way…and I’ll personally block a room for you with eclectic furnishings.
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful from start to finish. We will be back. This gem is walking distance to the Yum Center/Fourth St Live. The decor is amazing. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. Parking is simple enough. Our room was clean... loved the bathroom. We just really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Kimberly,
Appreciate the nice thoughts. Always great to hear “perfect.”
Thank you for mentioning our good location downtown, central to many of the attractions.
Please allow me to handle your next reservation and a chance to welcome you back to the Brown.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here just 1 night. While I am aware this this is an older "historic" hotel that is no excuse for peeling paint, stained curtains and worn out looking furniture that would look more at home at Goodwill. (If they would accept it.) Even though I stayed on the club level, and paid a premium for it, the bathroom was tiny and dated, the walls way too thin and some of my fellow guests looked as though they might have been more at home at Motel 6. Wait-that's too hard on people who stay at Motel 6. This despite the stuck up young man at the front deck treating me as though I wasn't good enough to stay there. I did have a room service breakfast which was pretty good (if not cheap) and left as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We like the elegance of the hotel and the staff's concern for getting the details just right--from magazines about Bourbon, Louisville, and Kentucky attractions to high quality soaps and other toiletries. The cleaning staff does a great job and respectfully honors "Do Not Disturb" signs. The service at check-in and check-out is flawless: friendly, efficient, and helpful. We like the beauty of the hotel as well as the nice rooms and free Wi-Fi. This is one of our two favorite hotels in Louisville.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystyna1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the detailed thoughts.
Pleased to read we are one of your top two. Please allow me to handle your next reservation, where I would like to hear what we need to do to move up to your clear #1 choice in the city.
Hope to have you back in the near future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#4 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#20 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#14 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#8 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Property: The Brown Hotel
Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202-2167 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing