We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Omni Louisville Hotel(Louisville)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,095)
Filter reviews
2,095 results
Traveler rating
1,438
453
140
41
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,438
453
140
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby barclub levelhistoric hotelpiano playerbell staffberry piemodern amenitiesdowntown louisvillesouthern charmcorner roombeautiful lobbyvalet parkingroom was largean older hotelbourbon trailbed was very comfortablefourth street live
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,443 - 1,448 of 2,095 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I can't express adequately how impressed I was with The Brown. The hotel has SO much character. It was beautiful! Nothing like the cookie cutter chain hotels. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we felt like valued guests. For example, when we happened to ask about something across the street, the employee told us about it, then found us again to give us information she had printed out about it. While eating breakfast, we ordered the famous Hot Browns, and the waitress, although extremely busy, went and found the recipe and gave it to us. The room was spacious, well appointed and pristine. It is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment type venues. I would absolutely stay here again, and would without reservation recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsuesams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
It is always nice to receive kind words like yours.
Great to see our staff going out of their way to serve our guests.
Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We came to Louisville for 2 nights prior to going to Bardstown so we can watch the Super Bowl. The location of this hotel is about 2-3 blocks away from the 4th street square which is where all the restaurants and bars are in the downtown area and all walkable. The staff at The Brown hotel are helpful, courteous and super friendly. We stayed on the club floor which was fun. You need to use your room key to get to the floor and there is a free continental breakfast in the morning and free picky foods and wine and beer in the evening. Carol was the staff who worked in the club room and she was helpful and friendly. Bed was super comfy and the room was very clean and smelled great!! Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Louisville. The fact that this hotel is almost 91 years old and still has it's original furnishings makes this historic hotel have so much character. And don't forget to try the "hot brown"!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nikpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice thoughts on our staff.
Delighted to hear you enjoyed our club floor, which does offer a great value.
We hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The staff is first rate and extremely helpful. it is a nice old hotel.

The restaurant was very good. The staff in the restaurant was both helpful and knowledgeable.

I would recommend this hotel especially given the alternatives in Louisville.

.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 343rickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Brown still has an older, but still classy feel to it. Rooms are spacious enough, Free wifi. Parking is extra. Did not have a chance to try the English Grill. Friendly and helpful staff. Location is close to the Fourth Street pedestrian zone. We walked from the hotel to the museums on Main street, but not really that close. Louisville is an easy driving city. We reserved our room with the name your price tool on you know who's site, and saved about 30%. Would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Radio9phs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Located somewhat away from the action, it is quiet but not really convenient. The historic lobby is lovely, but our room although large, had fraying carpet, out of date wiring and a small bathroom, Some of the staff were very helpful, while others forgot to service our room.
I had called days before, asking for a room with a view. We were put on the 4th floor with the view of a parking lot across the street, whose lights were on all night. Asked to change, but the only rooms we were shown were on the same side of the building; so we stayed in the original.
The bed was comfortable.
We ate at their restaurant downstairs, fancy food, lovely decor and good service, but don't know if I would bother, for the price. Had much better food in other places...All and all just ok

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tobysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews