We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service With a Smile To End 2013”
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
SWFL
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Service With a Smile To End 2013”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I spent NYE 2013 at the Brown. We had been to 21C several times and wanted to see how the Brown measured up.....must say the room facilities have less street noise than 21C; we liked that a great deal. Room service was great and little things like not having to call for "ice" was a huge plus.

We were located on the 13th floor which was to come with access to private lounge providing afternnon drinks/foodie and the same for breakfast. We found it to be quality foods and service; but if you did not get by early on the foods/drink offerings were not replaced with the same foods or not at all. Management may want to look into this shortcoming as we over heard several guest note this; at one point we went by on afternoon to have a few snacks and there were no plates. My wife readily found the hostee and she provided plates from the service area.

Overall "A" we will return. Happy New Year.

Room Tip: Room 1303 very quite, no street noise or from the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pan513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive notes on our quiet rooms and the little comparison to the hotel up the street.
Thank you also for the constructive thought on our club floor food. Please let me know when your travels next bring you our way and I will personally check to ensure we have all the hors d’oeuvres you could ever want.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    422
    128
    40
    22
See reviews for
276
714
74
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Brown hotel stands behind every word they published. The service on the club floor was out standing and above and beyond. The host provided us with plenty of information about what to do and where to go and the information was useful and spot on. The club floor is a remarkable deal. We traveled with a family of 4 and the wine and nibbles during the cocktail hour were lovely and the breakfast the following morning was perfect for our needs. I would highly recommend this hotel and package to anyone. The bar is a fun spot to be to try a bourbon after a long day of sightseeing.
All of the staff were extremely helpful and polite. Our room was great and the chocolate on our pillow speaks volumes about service. I would highly recommend this . Easy walking distance to down town about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Corner room was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Enjoyed your comments. Thank you for the nice thoughts on our service and the value of our club floor.
Please let me know if I may be of assistance on a future visit.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently because I was attending training at the nearby HUD office. The hotel staff was terrific. The room I got was on the corner of the building and had an excellent view! The wifi was free which was a change from the last time I stayed at the Brown. Parking (self or valet) is readily available. It located in close proximity to 4th street live which is always fun..

Room Tip: The corner room I had (1101) had a great layout and view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwylaMae197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for your nice thoughts.
Our wireless internet is free to our guests in their room as well as in the lobby, restaurants and meeting rooms - a great cost saver compared to staying at all those cookie cutter, chain hotels here in the downtown.
We look forward to seeing you back.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The BEST HOTEL I've ever stayed at. Top of the line service. Loved it. Will go back. Beautiful hotel. Excellent service from bellman staff. Always addressed us as Mr. and Mrs. We went out to dinner and they sent a shuttle to come pick us up. 4 stars.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaRitchie3674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Love hearing a guest write “Best hotel ever.”
Please let me know when your travels next bring you our way and I’ll block a nice room.
Look forward to having you back with us.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My friends and I stayed for a special occasion and could not have been more impressed with the level of service we receive from all the employees especially , Andrew, who was kind enough to provide us information about the local hot spots & detailed directions. Made our stay remarkable & very rememorable. Will recommend to all my friends who wish to feel pampered & special!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the nice thoughts.
Andrew is indeed a gem – he appreciated your kind comment.
We look forward to having all your friends with us. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The best service ever from an amazing hotel! My friends and I could not have been more enjoyable. The room was huge and updated. The food was delicious-especially the hot brown! And the customer service was above and beyond what was expected- especially from Andrew at the front office and Stephen at the bell stand. We will definitely be back!!
Heather A.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Appreciate all the wonderful thoughts.
Stephen and Andrew are both great representatives for us – thanks for mentioning.
Great to hear you will be back. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Brown Hotel is fine hotel, with great service and classic atmosphere. The lobby bar is a great place to find yourself at the end of the day. Stay Club Level and enjoy your morning coffee and breakfast here, instead of standing in line for the downstairs restaurant. Club Level is more more single travelers and adult couples, few children. Pleasant king room overlooking inner hotel for peace and quiet. A short walk from the downtown lively areas, safe to walk at night.

Room Tip: Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissIvNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Delighted to read your thoughts.
Nice to hear you found good value on our Club floor. Hard to see why most everyone doesn’t opt for the complimentary continental in the morning, free hors d’oeuvres, wine and beer in the evening.
Hope to have you back with us in future. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 97 in Louisville
3,969 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#17 of 97 in Louisville
1,700 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Louisville
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Property: The Brown Hotel
Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202-2167 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing