We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Level is the way to go”
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Club Level is the way to go”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Brown Hotel is fine hotel, with great service and classic atmosphere. The lobby bar is a great place to find yourself at the end of the day. Stay Club Level and enjoy your morning coffee and breakfast here, instead of standing in line for the downstairs restaurant. Club Level is more more single travelers and adult couples, few children. Pleasant king room overlooking inner hotel for peace and quiet. A short walk from the downtown lively areas, safe to walk at night.

Room Tip: Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissIvNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Delighted to read your thoughts.
Nice to hear you found good value on our Club floor. Hard to see why most everyone doesn’t opt for the complimentary continental in the morning, free hors d’oeuvres, wine and beer in the evening.
Hope to have you back with us in future. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    405
    127
    35
    22
See reviews for
269
684
73
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Brown is quite simply put, an exceptional experience. The quiet assurance and graciousness of the entire staff at all levels exceeds expectations. Each room is distinctly decorated and perfectly appointed. The food is delightful whether you are dining in one of the restaurants on property, at an on site catered event or your beautiful room. The Brown is worth the price-do yourself a favor and step away from the cookie cutter hotel experience to experience the Brown.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perrybeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Love your comments! Very well put.
Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance. We look forward to having you back with us.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you like luxurious lobbies and grand old bars, this is your place. What a fantastic weekend destination. It's one of Louisville's finest and has hosted a bunch of celebrities and people of great imporrtance. The lobby was beautiful and the service was impeccable. Well worth every penny. As another reviewer wrote, you may find something newer or less expensive but, in my opinion, the Brown cannot be matched. We stayed for 2 nights and it was fabulous. Make sure to bring lots of money if you choose to drink in the bar though! It's quite pricey but the drinks were fabulous.

Room Tip: Our room had a large walk in closet and lots of floor space. My friends had a room that seemed much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LARC130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Always great to receive a wonderful review from a well traveled guest like yourself.
We started a new specialty drink program recently – thanks for commenting.
Please let me know when your travels bring you back our way and I’ll have a nice room for you.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We occasionally like to try out a different hotel while traveling. This hotel is certainly a nice surprise! Many "older" hotels fall somewhat short of expectations, but The Brown does not. It is well-kept and the service is classy. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Bought the room through an Internet discount travel company and was at first disappointed I did not get a newer hotel buy what a nice surprise, got the room for about 40% off and it was great! Fully restored, wonderful furnishings and full bathroom. The lobby bar was an exceptional experience. Highly recommend this restored gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room! It was huge!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanTheManFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Brown is a great old hotel with a wonderful staff, wonderful old bar on the second floor and a very good restaurant where we had both a breakfast and a lunch. My room was large and relatively recently renovated. I am sure there are both newer and less expensive hotels is Louisville but if you want to get the ambiance of the city and a great choice of bourbons offered by an experience barman, you cannot beat the Brown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdocBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Delighted to read a wonderful review from a couple that travels a good deal.
Louisville is Bourbon Country and our lobby bartenders welcome the opportunity to talk to our guests about our 50+ brands.
Please let me know when your travels bring you back and I’ll have another nice room for you.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times and just was there this week. After a warm and friendly greeting by the front desk (Andrew), we took a look at our lovely room and view, and then headed out to see the Christmas lights at the Mega Caverns. Got back to the hotel around 7 PM, and enjoyed a great meal in the hotel lobby dining/bar area. Our server was very nice and very helpful - don't recall her name but she was perfect. Our room was quiet, warm, and had all the conveniences of home. If you have never stayed the Brown you should check it out. It is stately, quiet, and simply lovely inside. We travel quite a bit and it is one of our top hotel picks. There is an upscale restaurant (English Grill) and a nice breakfast/lunch restaurant (J Grahams) in the facility. A really nice luncheon buffet is offered Tues-Saturday at J Grahams). Also a restaurant across the street that appears to be a place for burgers and steaks, with bluegrass music

Room Tip: We like the rooms higher up that afford a view of the city. The fitness center is on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkaymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Enjoyed reading your review and hearing that we have made it into your top hotel picks. Thank you for the nice thoughts on Andrew and our restaurants.
We look forward to having you back with us in future.
Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Galt House Hotel
#28 of 95 in Louisville
3,845 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
1,309 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 95 in Louisville
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Property: The Brown Hotel
Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202-2167 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing