We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Architecture - Such Lovely Staff”
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 99 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

From the first person we encountered to the last - EVERY one was top notch. Professional yet very sweet. First the valet (who acted as bellman too delivering our luggage) to the front desk (Thanks to Andrew especially) to the concierge up in the Club lounge to everyone in the English Room - Just Wonderful. My son is a very involved autistic young dude and doesn't do well waiting for the check-in process especially in such a huge space as the Brown's soaring, beautiful and historic lobby so they hurried us through that process. Then after we'd been in the room 15 minutes or so, they called to again welcome us and tell us some of the features and amenities of the hotel. We were upgraded to the Club for several reasons: We are members of Historic Hotels and Preferred Hotels Loyalty Programs and also there was a substantial hike in the rate when we had to change dates. And the Club is as nice as almost any we've stayed in and that's quite a few. The complimentary breakfast was probably the best we've seen and the concierge/ hostess was so charming and helpful. My problem however ( and thus the reason for the 4 stars instead of 5) comes because of a few cleanliness issues that were no small thing. First the carpet in our room was totally discolored - had some kind of stain ALL across the front of the room in front of the (HUGE) walk-in closet basically from the front door towards the bath. The carpet just looked ancient and creepy. The huge closet was nice but did NOT have a light and was impossible to find anything in your suitcase and given the condition of the carpet, really gave me the creeps to even walk in there. In the morning I carried the suitcase out and laid it on the bed just to be able to see. Then there were a few smudge marks on door which really creeped me out but when we walked just a few doors down to the Ice Room, the smudges on that door were ATROCIOUS. I had to sort of prop the door open with my foot while filling the ice bucket so as not to touch the door. Come on, guys. Really? Then, believe it or not when walking around the lobby we came up to the ballroom which looked lovely but you wouldn't believe the black smudge marks/fingerprints all over the grand doors going in. Much worse than even on the Ice Room. Grand white doors with beveled glass looking into a grand ballroom but HUGE black all around the handle area. Gross. If I was hosting an event- I'd have been so disgusted. I mean what is it specifically with dirty doors in this grand hotel. Maybe they need hire a person just to look after filthy doors. I almost gave 3 stars but went ahead with 4 because of the quality of the people at this hotel. And also the fact that the cleanliness problems from what I saw were centered around the carpet and the infamous dirty door issues. The bathroom was spotless as was the furniture and bedding. The bed was very comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. I did hear what sounded like a bowling alley coming from above just after waking the next morning but we needed to get up anyway, but if we'd heard that any earlier in our stay I would NOT have been a happy girl. Oh, and when we first got to our room at almost 5 pm, a maid was still loudly vacuuming the hallway just down from our room. I've never seen that kind of disruption taking place at that time of day in a hotel. But, I still feel good about going with 4 stars instead of 3 because of the people. I just really hope the management takes my comments to heart.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the Club AND ask for a room with newer carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,468 - 1,474 of 2,026 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had an excellent experience at the Brown Hotel. The staff is truly amazing. We booked a room for a family wedding. When we arrived I realized I had forgot my belt to my suit. With only minutes before we had to leave I asked one of the concierges if he could help me out. He could tell I was in a pinch and cleaning blood off my collar from my fresh shave. Andrew asked if I was serious about needing a belt, motioned me to another location and gave me his belt for the evening! This went above and beyond any experience I have ever had in a hospitality setting. Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had lunch in the Brown and had to walk around. It was so nice, so much history. I would be great if the walls could talk at this place. I did not stay, but did look around the place. I might stay her on another trip. You have to stop in if your in Louisville.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at The Brown Hotel on a sightseeing vacation around Louisville. The hotel is so elegant. It was close to several restaurants and had a top notch restaurant in the hotel as well. While there I tried The Hot Brown because I had read so much about it; oh my goodness, how delicious!! The staff was very friendly; beds were very comfortable; room was comfortably cool--couldn't have asked for more. I loved the décor of the lobby (like a step back in time!). There were several old menus that were framed in the lobby bar area which were so interesting to look at (1930's). The bartender was very friendly. Really liked this place and am really glad we got to experience staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycrafter54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Brown Hotel is by far the best hotel I've ever been. Everything looks perfectly beautiful and the service is great. The room had a lot of space and the bed was kingsize large and comfortable. Last, but not least the room service was fantastic, the breakfast was complete and very delicious. Concluding: this hotel is excellent, it exceeds all expectations.

Room Tip: Go for a club room, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerEdwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my birthday, and I had a wonderful time !! It is an old hollywood style hotel with grand entrance !! Theatre close by, walking distance to down town Louisville , close to many Restaurants, BUT you don't have to leave the hotel for dinner because they own one of the best Restauants located in the lobby and well known in the state for their delicious, mouth watering food !! Service is superb and I recommend it for memorable wedding location !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN3057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beautiful, elegant and great service hotel. We booked on hotels.com and usually get stuck in one of worst rooms due to 3rd party booking, but they put us in a nice 2 queen corner room. Furniture is gorgeous and historic. Only part that left a bad thought was that booking on hotels.com was $40/night cheaper. I usually check 3rd party booking and then book through direct site, they would not honor the lower rate, so we went through outside site.
Overall it was a treat to stay at a luxurious hotel instead of a basic chain in the middle of an industrial park. If you are looking for a classy stay in Louisville, this is it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMgrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 99 in Louisville
1,789 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 99 in Louisville
4,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 99 in Louisville
1,490 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202-2167 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 99 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: $172 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing