We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$197
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$186
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$119
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breckinridge Inn(Louisville)
$79
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,097)
Filter reviews
2,097 results
Traveler rating
1,440
453
140
41
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,440
453
140
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby barclub levelhistoric hotelpiano playerbell staffberry piemodern amenitiesdowntown louisvillesouthern charmcorner roombeautiful lobbyvalet parkingroom was largean older hotelbourbon trailbed was very comfortablefourth street live
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,730 - 1,735 of 2,097 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff was excellent, friendly, courteous and helpful. Couldn't ask for more. $24 to valet park, $20 to do it yourself and the valet guys were fast and friendly. Beautiful lobby and good breakfast buffet with the tastiest fresh-baked goods. The fitness room equipment could use some updates but was adequate. The room was nice, comfortable bed, excellent climate control, well decorated. The bathroom was a bit of a mess however. Both the tub and sink failed to drain properly and the shower fixture and pipe were loose. Not what you would expect in a hotel of The Brown's quality/reputation. I'd stay there again but I'd check the bathroom first.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vahpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradWalker-GM, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your candid comments.
I was pleased to read that you would stay with us in future. Please call me before you arrive and I will personally check the drain and fixtures.
Hope to have you back with us in the near future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A stay over thanksgiving weekend netted the best hotel experience in a long while. I was nervous when we found ourselves heading out.. Would the staff be grumpy because they were having to work over a holiday and the rest of us played? The answer was absolutely no! They were very accommodating and happy. We had room 825 great view (well you are downtown). Near the elevator,.after a long day a welcome location. Huge room with a sofa. King bed that, well kept me in bed about 3 hours longer than normal. Great breakfast served in room. Sal, the bartender where we made a brief stop after Churchill downs, but before dinner very fun. How could a New Yorker, entertain a KY couple in a KY hotel? He gave great dining suggestions. Highly professional and yes fun staff. The bathrooms were a great size to accommodate two people dressing for the night.

Room Tip: Hallways are quiet, elevators speedy. Closer to elevator would be advised but not required. PS there may or may not be a spa, but I couldn't uncheck the box.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobkatky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradWalker-GM, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
Very pleased to read that you found no “grumpy” staff at the Brown!
Thank you for your positive thoughts regarding Sal and your guest room.
Hope to have you back with us.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed for the B Springsteen concernt. Great location, a short walk. We have been several times over the years. They must have just rejuvenated the rooms. They were beautiful. New but consistent with the history. The employees are very genuine. We had a great visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Comfortable bed and bedding, beautiful lobby, friendly helpful staff and a great location, easy to walk to downtown attractions or get a cab to other places. Free shuttle to and from airport was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne22725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Expensive but elegant. Lobby and meeting rooms beautifully furnished. I was attending a conference and the staff of the hotel provided excellent service. The catered meals were ample and well prepared.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front of the hotel enjoyed more reliable WiFi reception.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews