We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel from Priceline”
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I happened upon this 4 star hotel on Priceline.com where you bid on hotels and it was spectacular. Being a historic hotel gives it such character and class. Loved the player piano in the lobby and the aroma as we entered the back door from the garage smelled of roses. It was great! All the staff were very accommodating and we got our check-out time easily extended by one hour without a hassle. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: we upgraded once we arrived for only $10 more, wasn't a problem
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pesostodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,938)
There are newer reviews for The Brown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,756 - 1,762 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were only here one night waiting to fly out, so my review is based on a fairly limited exposure. HOWEVER this is a beautiful facility with tons of history packed in. The beds were comfortable, it was clean and the staff was great. It's downtown location was convenient and we enjoyed the adjacent restaurants, brewpubs, etc. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank MsMissislippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I was at a conference at the Brown, and multitasking as always. Teaching sessions, photographing speakers, conducting smaller meetings around the conference schedule had me hopping! Somewhere in my crazy schedule I lost a valuable piece of camera gear. The Brown found it and shipped it to me. They are honest, wonderful people. Thank you Brown Hotel!! I look forward to many stays at this beautiful location the future!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caldwjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Had a pleasant stay. The room was very large and quiet--though there was a little late night street noise. The decor and furniture could use some updating, but everything was clean and in good working order. The hotel lobby is very pleasant. The service in the lobby bar was a little slow, but the staff was working hard to keep up with wedding traffic, and eventually got to us. We had one breakfast. It was good but not outstanding. Our table was in a very pleasant and open spot near the front window. The hotel was nicely located both for walking and for driving to the Bardstown area. If we return to Louisville, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profofphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My daughter and I traveled to Louisville as part of a spontaneous summer trip through the midwest. We were fairly disappointed in Louisville - but did enjoy our tours of the Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Churchill Downs. Our biggest disappointment was the Brown Hotel. Touted by Priceline and others as a 4-star hotel (indeed the hotel has somehow carried a AAA Four Diamond rating for a number of years), this hotel was firmly 3 star, with a terrible location on the fringe (at best) of what is generously considered to be "downtown." I'm involved in historic preservation, but even I expected more from a 4 star rated hotel. The lobby was tired and usually lifeless. It smelled old. The rooms were OK, but decorated in a tired cliche of reproduction-quality antiques. The hotel restaurant lacked all charm and was generally un-enticing - we didn't use it. The long walk to the heart of downtown along Main and Market streets required us to pass many depressing buildings and empty lots. Staff was friendly, but not at the level that one would get from a well-trained staff at almost any Marriott or Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittsburgh15221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My college-aged daughter and I stayed at two hotels in downtown Louisville--the 21c Museum Hotel and The Brown Hotel. (I have just reviewed the 21c Museum Hotel which I highly recommend and will limit my current comments to The Brown Hotel). The Brown Hotel has a grand reception/bar area in the lobby. However, the grandeur ends there as everything else encountered was nice, but not luxurious by today's standards. Our room at The Brown Hotel had a high elevation with a great view of downtown. Our beds were comfortable, and our room was clean with a very large bathroom. However, one basic amenity that usually comes with a room, a coffee maker (preferably espresso), was lacking here. This hotel seems more poised to host large convention groups vs. the more independent traveler. The fitness center closed at 10 PM, I believe, so I did not get to experience it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HavePassptWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you're going to be in Lou-uh-ville, you definitely have to stay at the Brown. It's a part of history and has been featured in movies like Elizabethtown. My first evening there, I was downstairs in the lobby looking for food. The lobby was full of what can only be described as the quintessential, modern-day, Southern Belles - beautiful women with amazing manners and accents. As I sipped my wine, a few of us started chatting and I found out they were going to see Goldie Hawn at the Brown's attached theater. The show was sold out but it was moments before a gorgeous woman and her two daughters offered me their extra ticket (one of the daughters couldn't make it.) Southern hospitality at its finest!

I had an amazing time at the show, got to meet Goldie Hawn and returned back to the hotel to eat the famed Hot Brown, famous throughout Lou-uh-vulle but originating at the Brown Hotel.

The staff was extremely accommodating, friendly and professional. The bartenders were the sort that make you want to stay for another glass of wine and the room was classic for an historic hotel. The bathrooms were updated and modern. The housekeeping staff made me feel comfortable - which I value greatly.

Highly recommend and hope to be able to return someday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desertphnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cteives, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you very much for recognizing the Brown as part of Louisville’s great history, and for our Southern hospitality. Our Hot Brown has drawn guests from all over the country since the 1920’s and is regularly featured in newspapers and magazines – recently by Diane Sawyer and ABC NEWS.
I was delighted you hear you enjoyed Goldie Hawn - many of the entertainers visiting Louisville stay with us.
Thank you for your positive comments on our bartending staff. They invest a good deal of time to truly understand wine and bourbon, in order to recommend to our guests.
We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brad Walker
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 97 in Louisville
4,047 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 97 in Louisville
1,725 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 97 in Louisville
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 97 in Louisville
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202-2167 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: $182 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing