We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Louisville
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff”
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed here last Sat. night. Booked room through Priceline. Lovely surprise. The room was absolutely gorgeous. I'd read other reviews about the noise so I requested a room on an upper floor with a view of the river. Both requests were granted in a blink of the eye. We were on the 18th floor overlooking the Ohio River. We didn't use the parking garage as there was plenty of parking on the street during the time that we were going and coming. The metered partking was free on Sundays, but there were several $3 and $5 parking lots around the area very close to the hotel. I would absolutely love to stay here again. The only downside would be that they charge $5 to rent a fridge and/or microwave.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloriaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    431
    160
    65
    35
See reviews for
202
257
54
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Good location, no need to go outside if you need to get to Convention Center. Lots of restaurants nearby. Taxi from airport not too bad ($17). Staff tried to please. Place was very empty. They did turndown without request. Very neat and tidy.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Central atrium design
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Larysa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbyLou2U
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! You cannot beat the location and the bed is OH SO COMFY. As for the noise, I didn't notice any. If anything, I thought the room was oddly quiet considering the hotel lobby design. Staff was friendly, but not terribly professional. Parking was expensive and inconvenient though... That should be expected in a city.

  • Liked — The comfy bed!!!
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like about this hotel
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GibbyLou2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, in
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2008

I can accept that downtown hotels will never give you free wireless. What I cannot accept is that a downtown hotel is built in such a way so that hallway noise is omnipresent and intrusive. The hotel is built as a ring, with the rooms around the outside and the center open. While in some places (the Marriot in Atlanta, for example) this serves to create an impressive interior, here it just served to amplify the noise made by drunken adults into the wee hours of the morning. Combine that with a hotel worker cleaning out the ice maker 2 doors down at 6:30am, and we're talking not enough sleep.

Other than that, the hotel room, size of room bed, and furnishings were acceptable. I agree with other reviewers who said that the front desk staff were competent but not inspired. The pool (on the 4th floor and with no signage in the hotel) is quite nice, especially in the morning, thanks to the large windows.

Overall, not up to the Hyatt brand. I wouldn't pay more than 60-70 for this room.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StrandedInTheMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
88 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

This hotel is like every other Hyatt. Clean, well decorated, and comfortable. There is nothing special about it to seperate it from all the other Hyatt's I've been to, but that is not a complaint. It has everything I want in a hotel, and I only paid $54 on Priceline.

The only complaint I do have is that one of the nighttime front desk staff members was extremely rude. And not just rude to me, but to other people during different days of the stay. I hope he is let go sooner then later, but one bad employee has no impact on the rest of my stay, or my rating for this hotel.

The other thing worth mentioning is that this hotel is located right at the corner of 4th Street Live. It's nice to be so close to your room after going out in the evening. You really couldn't be in a better location.

If you can't afford one of the historic Louisville hotels like The Brown, the Hyatt is a great modern choice.

  • Liked — Great location.
  • Disliked — One very rude staff member.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rrakoczy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamie8138
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2008

I went to stay at the Hyatt when I went on a school trip for the State Academic team competition. I went with my coach and another student also competing in the Individual FPS. I as a teenager really liked the hotel. I had a room that was connected by a door to my coaches room. My friend and I stayed in the room with two beds. The carpet was a little better than most hotels you see today. Not very grimy but not very soft. In the hotel hallways it was like any other hotel. The carpet was kinda grimy and gross. It was even worse in the main hallways near the chek-in desk. (I take the carpet into notice at any hotel I go to, it kinda grosses me out when its grimy and sticky.) The bathroom in the room was okay, pretty average. All through the night, there was much noise coming from the lobby. My coach laid a towel against the door to muffle some of the sound in her room. My friend and I didnt mind, we are teenagers, we are used to the noise or making the noise! haha The beds were vey soft, the best Ive ever seen in a hotel. There was also an iHome (which was very useful since mine and my friends iPod had a low battery. We had a 3 1/2 hour drive to Louisville from our home town so the iPod was used for about 3 hours of the way!) We had a GREAT view from our room. It was great to see the lights from our room. The Hyatt I stayed in was connected to the Galt House by a long bridge. The walk between the rooms was awful since we had so much luggage to carry. I would recommend luggage with wheels if you plan to walk to the Galt House. (We walked this any times since our competition was in the Galt House.) You are supplied with coffee and tea to make if you please. Also, there is a desk and a tv in the room. Over all I like the hotel, it was so far the best hotel Ive stayed in. There are few cons to staying here, but the pros definately out-weight them!

  • Liked — My excellent view!
  • Disliked — The carpet.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jamie8138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We just returned from a stay at the Hyatt for the Ryder Cup. The hotel was great! We booked a king room which overlooked 4th Street. The bed was comfortable with lots and lots of pillows. The staff was great. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning, and you could either eat from the menu or have the buffet. The bar was cozy too. They also had an internet room with two computers.

The hotel is in a great location! Fourth Street Live is directly to your left as you walk out the main entrance and it is within easy walking distance to many great restaurants (as well as Louisville Slugger factory).

The parking garage is attached to the hotel, and it is very affordable. We had our ticket validated, and it cost $30 for four days.

If I ever return to Louisville, I will definitely stay here again. This hotel was in the perfect location and the staff was great!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beck1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,848 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#28 of 95 in Louisville
3,848 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 95 in Louisville
866 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Property: Hyatt Regency Louisville
Address: 311 S 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2997
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Louisville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Business Hotel in Louisville
#21 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing