We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Close to the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Louisville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Louisville
Ranked #16 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Camby, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Close to the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Nice location. Valet parking was a little strange as they have two places to pick up and return. They rarely man the location at the hotel address which can lead to a back up on the street. The hotel was nice and clean. I called to report I had a bottle of water to get it added to the bill and it wasn't but if course showed up later.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    360
    134
    51
    27
See reviews for
134
200
47
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel was clean and very friendly. Because of other reviews, I looked for issues, but there were none to be found. Typical open core room layout. The rooms were spacious, light with large flat screen TV that was CLEAR, unlike many others.
The one thin that stood out among big hotel chains, were the employees. Everyone has a smile, always greeted every time you go near the lobby. If you need anything sent up, it took minutes, and again, with a SMILE.
Some reviewed the rooms as noisy--absolutely not. Simply stated--the staff are great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The good - the staff was unbelievably nice, helpful, available. We were there during the PGA Championship - but not going to the Championship. Didn't matter - the staff was as on call and helpful for us as everyone who was there for the big event. The not so good - if you are not going to Louisville for 4th Street Live, ask for a room away from the street. We were in 1014 and 1015 - very loud until the air-conditioning kicked in and drowned out the street noise. If you are going for 4th Street Live - there is no better location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very nice outside. Lobby had 3 good restaurants and great location. The breakfast was awesome. Open air bar was very cool during warm summer nights. Rooms were odd; nice bed, room had huge open space that didn't look right, room also smelled funny, no fridge, and nice little work desk. I didn't hate the room, but wasn't impressed. The service staff was good, courteous and attentive. I stayed for 3 weeks and had no major issues. If you plan on staying there I would not expect a lot from the room and make the decision based on the price and location only.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

First of all, if you're going to Louisville for 4th Street Live, this is the place to stay! It's convenient to everything including the bar district and restaurants. the entire hotel is modern and clean. we stayed on the 18th floor, which was very quiet.
Only complaints have to do with the elevators....there are 3 of them, which is great, but once they go to the top floor, you stop at many other floors on your way down to the lobby. this could have been avoided by staying on a lower floor.
we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: staying on the north side of the builiding is quietest. i would stay on a floor below 8 as to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
191 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way home. This hotel was selected because it was downtown and we could walk to dinner, etc. The rate was good using AAA. In these ways it did not disappoint.

I must say, I like Hyatt hotels and often stay in one for business. This hotel is not in the same class as other Hyatt's I have stayed in. Everything was fine. We were given a room on an upper floor, as requested, and it was quiet. The bed and bedding were Hyatt comfy. The bath was fine and decently appointed -- but only two towels provided. Not enough. No robe, no extra perks in the bath.

The room itself has a wall of windows, which I like and afforded a lovely view of downtown Louisville. The layout of the room is odd. There is a bed which faces the window, but this means it is directly under the cooling/heating vent. The room is quite large -- with a desk, dresser with a TV on top and then a lamp and armchair. No table, or sitting area at all. I've been in smaller hotel rooms where this is the furniture, but because there is a great deal of space, the effect is one of being odd and under furnished. There is no spot to sit and watch television, for example.

While I did not hear any noise from neighbouring rooms, noise travels from the open always area.

The value was good and the location is great, but I may very well pick another hotel when I come to Louisville.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

PROS: middle of downtown, walking distance to Convention and YUM centers, plenty of good restaurants nearby, nightlife (4th st live), river parks in walking distance, above ground walking path to most other hotels, nice pool, tennis court & exercise room
CONS: 4th st live can be very noisy, busy downtown traffic, parking is pricey, no laundry, no refrigerators in room, small rooms, not for people with a fear of heights; parking structure being remodeled

DETAILS: We stayed for a week while attending the gymnastics nationals. The hotel delivered a refrigerator to our room when we asked. The kids loved the swimming pool. We walked all over downtown visiting museums, the convention center, the YUM center, and the parks by the river. We even walked to Indiana over a long foot bridge/former train bridge. Parking cost at hotel is comparable to surrounding parking - I was willing to pay $3.50 more for all day in-and-out privileges. Parking can get difficult if something is going on at convention center or 4th st live as the hyatt uses the next door public lot. Restaurants all over. Smoking is a problem but this is true all over KY. We had to drive to the university to find a real grocery store and laundry. Nears store is on other side of 4th st live (CVS),

Room Tip: higher room overlooking parking structure/tennis court is quieter since not facing any streets; don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#36 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#24 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#5 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Property: Hyatt Regency Louisville
Address: 311 S 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Louisville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#17 Business Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#21 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing