We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not up to a Hyatt standard” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Louisville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Louisville
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not up to a Hyatt standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Great location, nice view from room but floor smelled of smoke. They would not let us change rooms so we left. For a hyatt, not up to par! Rooms a bit outdated And it's very loud Inside as it's open air style construction leads to higher noise level

Stayed August 2014
Thank kmg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Extremely nice room. Very clean. Great location! In a downtown area with parks and lots of great restaurants and shops. Enclosed walkway attaching several hotel. This was convenient for us, but with great weather, not a huge issue. In winter or inclement weather, it would be a wonderful asset. The surrounding area was attractive, clean and felt safe. We were about three blocks from the riverfront.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
Thank B-and-S050686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a pretty good hotel -- about what you'd expect from a Hyatt. It`s older, and has been refurbished, so the bathrooms are a tad small, but otherwise quite fine. I don`t think I`ve ever stayed in a hotel staffed by such happy people, every one of whom seemed willing to accommodate every request. The coffee shop is, as expected, quite pricy, but there`s a bagel shop in the lobby for breakfast. There was a pile of trash beside the elevators on our floor when we arrived. and it was still there untouched when we left four days later, which is somewhat disappointing.

Room Tip: Other reviews suggested getting a room away from the street, but we visited several other rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
Thank resolutionray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while working a conference at the convention center and found the hotel to be very nice. It was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and I found everything else about the room to be more than adequate. I liked the 24 hour gym facility. It is a little small, but since it is open 24 hours I was able to get in early and beat the 6 to 7 am crowd. They had a good variety of machines. 4th street was loud on both Saturday nights during my stay, but not so loud that I couldn't sleep. Also, the closeness to 4th Street is part of the convenience of the hotel, after all. We dined in Sway downstairs and really enjoyed the meal and service. It was next door to the convention center which was also a great plus.

Honestly, since it wasn't on my dime, I can't say a single bad thing about my visit. However, if I was paying, I would have been highly annoyed to have to pay for wifi. But again, I was overall very happy with my experience, and I hope I get placed there again next year.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Thank DSL222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight 7/25. My wife called day of stay and got reservation. She took reservation as they had available a single room with two queen beds, which she booked. I am gold card member with Hyatt. We only took this reservation to avoid getting two adjoining rooms at different hotel. Well long story short we arrived for stay with family in tow only to find that only room available was king. My wife informed front desk that she had been guaranteed room with two queens earlier in day and that's why she accepted reservation. Check in informed us they were"fully committed" and no twins were available. It was late and did not want to argue.they offered two rollaways. So took room. Service then delivered two foam mats that they placed in floor as no rollaways were available! Said they had been out of rollaways for over two hrs! Just tried to make do. Two people on floor and two in bed. Air conditioning on and off all night sounded like jet engine running. Needless to say sleepless night. I do not appreciate poor service or bait and switch, just to fill rooms!

Stayed July 2014
1 Thank lewispwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dirty South
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Let me start by saying, the staff at this hotel and the restaruarnt Sway were wonderful. The hotel and rooms were always clean. I have zero complaints about any of the staff or amenities. While a bit dated in style (looks like early 1980s Atrium-style hotel like many Embassy Suites), it was updated with modern decor.

Here's my peeve: the AC in our room sucked monkey nuts. If I'm spending more than $150 at a hotel, the AC had better reach ice box temps if I want it to. There's nothing worse than getting out of a shower and walking into a warm clammy room. That's exactly what happened in our room.

The "thermostat" wasn't really a thermostat at all. You set the temperature you want, but it doesn't display the actual room temperature (nice little mental trick there). I set it to 56 all weekend, and it never got below about 73-74 degrees. I can't say more exactly, but it was warmer and more humid than my house, which I keep at those temps in the daytime. Worse than that, I don't think it was pulling the humidity out of the room. The floor felt wet to your feet, as did the bed sheets. It clearly was not working properly, and a comment to the staff resulted in no improvement (they came to the room, I think, and set the temp to 64: no change).

I can understand (maybe) if it it unseasonably hot outside and the units can't keep up, but during our stay, it was 75-83 outside the entire weekend.

Also, the toilet barely flushed water down the drain, let alone toilet paper. Finally, the plastic/fiberglass shower/tub felt like the floor was going to give out.

We really enjoyed our stay in Louisville, and would have enjoyed a perfect weekend. We'll be back to Louisville, but not to the Hyatt. There are cheaper hotels closer to our destination that can't possibly have worse utilities.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 1208
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
Thank tochtli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Especially 4th Street Live. We stayed here for a wedding and found it fun to be on the next block from a very alive area of music and fun. Close driving distance from Churchill Downs, Louisville Slugger Museum and other attractions. Nice hotel, bagel shop and restaurant on site. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Bathroom is a little small, but has lots of counter space. The rest of the room could use more light. Our room was not ready when we got there, so they gave us an upgrade to a larger room - it was worth the wait. We got our exercise walking from our room to the parking garage! I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,470 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#17 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#5 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Property: Hyatt Regency Louisville
Address: 311 S 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Louisville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Business Hotel in Louisville
#21 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing