We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Regency Louisville - good location, reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Louisville
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hyatt Regency Louisville - good location, reasonably priced”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Louisville in June 2014, for a business trip.

Location-wise, the hotel is well situated, close to Hard Rock Cafe, TGI Fridays, and several other restaurants and watering holes. There is a Smashburger joint directly in front of the hotel, as well as some desert place. Food-wise, you have several choices, but in the end, I settled for a very local fare, KFC!

You can take a nice 15 mins walk to the Ohio River and listen to the out-of-tune entertainment provided by the Belle of Louisville. Take another 15 mins walk over the Clark Memorial Bridge and you are in Indiana.

Specific to the hotel, I wasn't terribly impressed by the food at the hotel's Sway Restaurant. The service was great - very friendly and hospitable - but the food choice was disappointing, and cost around $20/person for the buffet breakfast. I only had breakfast at the hotel's restaurants as you have, as mentioned above, many choices for lunch and dinner.

The room that I stayed in was big enough for my needs, the bed very comfortable, room amenities were fairly standard. Overall, if you are there for business, the Hyatt Regency is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShahrinIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    431
    161
    65
    35
See reviews for
202
257
54
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just stayed here for the second time recently. Both times I was impressed by the excellent service and the hotel's great location. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Angie at the front desk and Linda at breakfast in the restaurant stood out as particularly wonderful employees.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff there is very nice. Very gracious and polite. Beyond that there is not much to praise. The pipe in the bathroom under the sink leaks. The door handle was jammed. Mold in the bathroom and the food in the Sway restaurant is terrible and incredibly overpriced, especially for the quality. Water will cost you $6.50 in the giftshop so we wary. And here isn't always someone available at valet parking.

Will not stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KVEJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gilead, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Was in Louisville for conference and was placed in this hotel. The hotel was extremely clean, very nice and I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The Parking garage was full, but was offered valet at parking garage price which was excellent since this was right downtown. Smashburger, TGI Fridays, Subway, KFC, Hardrock Cafe, Panera, Chipotle and The Old Spaghetti Factory are within walking distance. The beds were super comfy! Was very pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice hotel, room and location. The clubs close by are unbelievable loud! Never heard anything like it in my life. You cannot have a conversation. Hard rock is close and other places to eat and drink. Close to slugger museum.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TideFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

As above, very pricey room for the size and amenities. They did help us with accommodations of small mini fridge and microwave to have for our toddler. However, since the hotel is located right in the heart of the going-out scene, this hotel is incredibly loud and noisy… both from street noise, and from partiers within the hotel. Would definitely recommend room on a higher floor! Did have to call security on loud neighbors the middle of the night. However, the hotel was quick to take care of things when we needed them. We were in town for a large family wedding and they were very accommodating to the big group. The central location makes it nice for walking for food, bars, and etc. Also, quite confusing parking situation which is also pricey. Would probably not return...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Louisville and it was a good stay. We were there for 3 nights 24-27. This hotel has nothing special about its features. The location is what is best about the hotel you are centrally located to all of the museums louisville slugger, Muhammad Ali, Kentucky science center, and of course Fourth St live. All of the above are within walking distance of the hotel. The actual rooms of the hotel are old but have modern furniture. We stayed on the 10th floor had a view of the convention center which is right across and a nice courtyard diagonal. Not a bad view and if you look down the street between the buildings you could see the Ohio River.
However, the rooms are a bit small and the bathroom is even smaller. The pool is located on the 4th floor nothing special and every time we went no one was in there. There also tennis courts on the outside of the pool area. The fitness center on the first floor was good with plenty of equipment and wasn't crowded when attempting to workout. Overall,it wasn't the best but definitely far from the worse. The location is the best feature of the hotel.
When dealing with parking you can park in the garage for 10.00 a night or park on the street for free at a meter after 6pm but you will need to feed the meter at 7am. If that doesn't work you can also go to a garage across from the Hyatt/Marriott parking garage and pay 5.00. The wifi was complimentary.
While my family and I was there we did not utilize the front desk staff but every time we walked pass they were definitely enjoying one another's company. We utilized the web check in/out.
Pros:
-location
-clean room

Cons:
-rooms are outdated

Overall, a good stay for the location but I did expect a little more with the decor for a hyatt Regency.

Room Tip: Any upper floor would be nice if you wanted to look out and enjoy your surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tish65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,853 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#28 of 95 in Louisville
3,854 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 95 in Louisville
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Property: Hyatt Regency Louisville
Address: 311 S 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2997
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Louisville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Business Hotel in Louisville
#21 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing