We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way way way overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Louisville
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Davis, California
Level Contributor
235 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Way way way overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is definitely a convention hotel. The hotel is right around the corner from 4th Street, which is great if you are here because you have to be here, on business, and want to blow off some steam. And there must be plenty of convention business, because the rates- ouch. The room was nice, the lobby was nice. Everything was nice, but for the price, it should have been Wow.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra for a view of the river. But since you are far away from the river, wish in hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    419
    152
    61
    30
See reviews for
187
250
51
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, KY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday night after attending the U of L football game. Hotel was great in my opinion! We were on the 18th (top) floor. It was very quiet, except during the thunderstorms in the early morning. We booked with the 35th anniversary rate. I knew we were getting a break on the room price, but were pleasantly surprised when we were told upon check in , that our rate also allowed us $35 in hotel freebies! Bar, here we come!! lol.. our super nice desk clerk, Brian, allowed us early check in and comped our breakfast in the restaurant for the next morning! Everyone, from the desk to the bartender to the valets were super nice! Location is superb too! Oh, and the beds were excellent!! So comfyl! We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the weekend at the Hyatt. Hotel was very nice. Parking is kind of a pain- most of the roads are a one way street so if you don't find the entrance to the parking garage you have to go out of your way to get where you need to be.

Rooms were very clean. Recently updated. Check in and out was very easy. You can go to staff member or just check right into a computer that gives you your room key.

Hotel is right next to fourth street live. Very nice if you're looking for night entertainment. My husband and step son were with me. We walked to the Hard Rock Cafe for dinner one night.

The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is that the bar is on the ground floor and the hotel is round and very tall. Therefore, if you are trying to get a good night sleep, the people from the bar are so loud that you would be able to. We had an 8 hour drive ahead of us so we wanted to go to bed around 11pm. The voices from the bar echoed up into our room. Other than that, it was a great stay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed here several times and I've had a great experience every single time. The view from my room was great and the bed was very comfortable. I can't compliment the friendly staff enough! The bartenders absolutely rock as well! I would go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alsabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel has obviously been renovated, but there is nothing special about it. Bedding seemed odd, non-fitted sheets slide off. TV did not work well with a laptop. Power sockets were too loose, a power charger would not stay in. Windows are single pane so room is cold this time of year, and the crappy pop music from the smashburger across the street was clearly audible on the 7th floor from late until morning. Housekeeping was done late in the day. Pool area was lame, and no jacuzzi. Ice machine froze up after a 1/3 bucket was filled. Ironing board was stained, iron dribbled and did not steam. After four days here I suppose I am longing for home's comforts.

The catered meeting room food was average at best. Best part was the conference theater I presented in. Great A/V and conference space. Conference wifi was a fail, it could not support a conference our size.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Got here about 45 minutes early and had a glass of wine at the bar at the entrance. "J" was my bartender and I'm pretty sure we are now best friends. She taught me more about Cabernet in 30 minutes than I've learned in my life! She was very professional but also very friendly! Even if I was not a guest of the hotel I would go have a drink at the bar just to see her! Hyatt is lucky to have such a good employee!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank madashellOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at this hotel. It was a different from other Hyatt's. It was less dark than the others. A very nice overall nice hotel. Very clean.
What stood out the most for me was the friendly and helpful staff.
It's also a great location!

Room Tip: Excellent restaurants within hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Businesstravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,718 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Property: Hyatt Regency Louisville
Address: 311 South 4th Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Louisville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#17 Business Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#21 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing