We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very nice, Very Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Louisville
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very, very nice, Very Expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

We book this hotel through Priceline.Com for $50 (regular $200-$279) a night. This Hotel was very nice and very upscale. It had beautiful bedding decor with all white: which I love! It was sitting on sort of a strip that would put you in the mind of New Orleans, but very very clean (not smelly). On the strip set TGI Friday, A few blues clubs and eateries, the hard rock cafe and a lot of other attractions. We even saw a horse and carriage. We only stayed for a night for rest leaving our trip from Detroit. It was a lovely hotel, but everything in it was very expensive, that is why we ate on the strip. Also there is a business center if you want to get on the internet. Staff was very, very kind.

  • Liked — The entire hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelevaluator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    421
    152
    61
    30
See reviews for
190
251
51
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

Enjoyed a weekend stay at this typical Hyatt. Ideal location for tourist destinations like the Ali Center, Slugger Museum, and Fourth Street. Due to the proximity of Fourth Street Live you can expect crowded streets and some party noise at night.

We had a spacious room with two double beds, a city and partial river view. It was very clean and perfectly comfortable. It had a single cup coffee maker, hairdryer, ice and vending on each floor. Bathroom was clean, included basic soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion. Plenty of towels. Air condition was in perfect working condition, temperature controlled, not just on/off fan. We didn't have any "bar" noise from the lobby mentioned in some previous reviews, however on our second night's stay we had a very rude group that decided to have a party in our hallway. While this is not the fault of the hotel, the staff seemed unable to control this situation and the party continued well past two a.m.

While each staff member we encountered was very friendly, we had difficulty getting directions and guidance on anything outside of their four block area.

I didn't use any of these amenities, but they did have an indoor pool, fitness center, restaurant and some gift shoppes.

Overall it was exactly what one would expect from a Hyatt; good value, very clean and comfortable, friendly service. I would stay there again and would recommend it for a short/weekend stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No concierge
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dryad-fw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

Our two rooms were clean and modern (although the pillows in mine looked clean they didn't smell fresh).

We asked for rooms on an upper floor and the environment was reasonably quiet.

Priceline room rate: $49/night
Self-Parking Garage: $10/day

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

The Hyatt Regency Louisville is in a perfect location - next to Fourth Street Live and within walking distance (about 1.5 miles) of the Louisville Bats 3A baseball stadium.

The room was clean, neatly decorated, and comfortable. Check in was fast and easy. Valet parking was easy, but a little expensive ($18 per night, but I saw $20 as we were leaving).

Got this for a steal on a web bidding site and was a great deal, but would be worth full price, in my opinion.

  • Liked — Great location - check out 4th Street Live (restaurant and entertainment district)
  • Disliked — Valet parking price - $18 per day, but saw $20 per day when we left
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblinRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

I stayed here for a week, attending an event across the street at the Kentucky international Center. Given the other hotel options in the area this was a good choice, but it fell down a bit on noise and service.

As other reviewers have noted, this is an atrium-style hotel, including an "open" (no walls) bar area on the 2nd floor. Even though I stayed on the 9th floor, the music from the bar was audible in my room, although it only went later than 10 pm on one night. The soundproofing between rooms was also poor: I could hear every word of the guy next door's phone calls, and I don't think he was talking especially loudly.

Other issues: I was told my only option was a handicap room without a closet, even though I was staying a full week and had booked well in advance. In the room itself the bedspread and Hyatt-trademark decorative throw both looked like they'd been wadded up in a bag for a week; super wrinkled. The bed was made sloppily on some days, perfectly fine on others. I also noticed stains on both upholstered chairs in the room but, again, the front desk said a switch was impossible, even though I would be there for a week.

That said, the Hyatt was perfectly located for the KICC, directly across the street and accessible by an overhead walkway. The rooms were clean and reasonably neat, with good workspace. The small fitness area was 24 hours and good, if crowded. I didn't try the Business Center (just 2 computer terminals with a line of people waiting line every time I passed it).

I ordered room service one night, with very good food and excellent service. They even called after the meal to follow-up and make sure everything was satisfactory.

The neighborhood isn't terrific at night, despite its proximity to 4th Street Live. The hotel entrance requires a keycard after 10pm, as do the elevators. This is good and reasonable, yet the hotel also really needs a doorman or front door bellhop to chase off the panhandlers that hang out by the entrance. I will say, though, that this is an issue throughout downtown Louisville, not just this hotel (colleagues at other hotels encountered the same thing).

With the newly renovated rooms I would consider this one of the better downtown choices, especially for KICC. The service was less responsive than I've encountered at other Hyatts, but given the other options in the area, a a solid choice overall.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jengaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
223 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed one night at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Louisville, KY.
Found it to be clean and an extra nice place to stay.
Followed other opinions and requested a room on an upper floor to avoid lobby noise. This worked well! The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. Would have preferred the bath to be a bit bigger or to have the sink outside the main bath but it was "ok". Would stay here again for the price we paid on Hotwire. We used the valet parking and walked to the Louisville Bats Stadium and the Louisville Bat Company. All in all, a pretty decent place to stay!

  • Liked — Very Clean and a comfortable bed
  • Disliked — smaller bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

Used priceline a few days ahead of time and got the room for $65 including all fees on a Friday night.

Downsides:
Parking was $7 for overnight.
Room a bit noisy

Location is great for Fourth Street Live. The walk to the river is a little long.

The room was on the third floor and there was noise from the lobby until 11pm but it was manageable. The room was clean, beds were comforable with some pillow tops.

Manager took us up to the unused restaruant on the top floor for some great views of the city.

Nice hotel for the price. Not work full retail price though.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pay for parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmanwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Property: Hyatt Regency Louisville
Address: 311 South 4th Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Louisville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#17 Business Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#21 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing