We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not that great of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Louisville
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for the downtown area, close to anything and everything downtown. Restaurants, bars, banks and attractions within a very small walking distance. The staff was very very helpful and curtious at all times. The common ares of the hotel was in great condition and looked very crisp and clean, sadly I can not say the same about the conditions for my room. The room felt damp from the beginning, even with the ac off it felt wet. It seemed nothing in the room was wipped down or dusted, even commenly touched things were dusty and dirty. We didn't use the coffee maker due to the dust on it. The comforter on one of the beds had reddish/brown roundish stains on it, the bed we did sleep in didn't have a fitted sheet but a flat sheet attempted to be tucked in around the mattress. This would have been fine if the sheet was large enough to have been tucked around the mattress. The bathroom had the 1960s brown/mauve tiles and a shower head that came out around the same time. There was previous guests hair in the shower on the floor and in the sink. The tiles had black areas where the grout is suppose to be, however this looked like mold. For the pricing of this hotel I was really expecting a lot better quality and I was very dissatisfied. I have stayed with Hyatt several times and prefer it to any other hotel but this one really has to be the worst one I have ever stayed at based on hotel quality. For a similar price consider another hotel. I hope that I just got the bad egg out of a lot of rooms but if not I hope they consider remodeling

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hott24girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett A, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
I wanted to begin by apologizing for your less than satisfactory stay with us. As you mentioned, you prefer Hyatt because it is better than the others. I must say that we do indeed pride ourselves on being better than our competitors and am sorry that we did not live up to those expectations this time around. We do take feedback very seriously and will use it to coach associates so as to not make the same mistakes again. We would appreciate another opportunity for you to see us at our best. Please e-mail when planning a return stay so that I can make certain that your accommodations are suitable.
Sincerely,
Brett Ambrose
Director of Rooms
Hyatt Regency Louisville

502-217-6002
brett.ambrose@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

I really liked the Hyatt Louisville. The hotel is clean, I loved the layout of my room - 1702 on the 17th floor. It was near the elevator, but I didn't hear a thing. The view was great as well - i.e. a city and river view. The Wi-Fi worked great. The bed was very comfortable. I had breakfast in the restaurant Sway, and it was very good. The location is great. There are a wide array of restaurants and attractions a short walking distance away. The staff was very customer service orientated. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: As a business traveler, I despise connecting rooms. I stayed in room 1702. It had a king size comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaClaire429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt during a recent business trip to Kentucky. The location is perfect - just steps from 4th Street Live. The hotel is huge with all rooms looking out over an atrium. High speed lifts take you to your floor (and leave your stomach at the bottom!). I stayed on the 18th floor in a standard room. The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed, huge widescreen TV, desk with good power point access. Bathroom was reasonably sized with good towels. Negative points were the air con was very noisy and visiting Louisville in August, air con is a must so it made for disturbed nights sleep. Ate in Sway the hotel restaurant and really enjoyed the food. The portions were huge and the quality of the southern fried chicken was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Extremely well located with the 4th Street attraction at less than 50 meters.
A lot of restaurant and foodservice's alternatives at the door!
The reception desk was extremely efficient ... even in the checkout hour!
Excellent service in all parts of the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I had a room next to the elevators ... without any kind of noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wankenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a great experience at this hotel. It was right next to the "Live" entertainment area so lots going on outside the building that was fun. The lobby was pleasant and the service was very pleasant upon arrival. The rooms and lobby seemed new and very clean. The hair dryer was even nice and new! Sounds silly but I typically hate the hotel hair dryers. No Starbucks in the lobby but only about a half block away and the valet guys held my car and luggage while I went to grab a drink. Everyone on staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: May want to be up a little high to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobo418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The family stayed there for a local wedding. Amazing location so you just park the car and leave it since you are in the heart of things. The room was nice. The beds were kind small but comfortable. The kids loved the lobby and the speedy window elevators. The pool was good and warm but small and really loud with screaming kids at times. Definitely the place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAhlbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My check-in was quite speedy.  The room was spacious.  I liked the layout.  There was a two foot diameter dark stain on the carpet.  The machines were out of soda. Pool very tiny.  Loud group of teens staying on night one.  They were very loud throughout the hotel.  Wish management had gotten on it.   Enjoyed the hotel bar.  Nice server.  Checkout was smooth.  Waiting for my transport to the airport sitting in the lobby, a homeless man came and sat with me and was telling me his story looking for money.  His behavior was erratic and a bit frightening.  A hotel worker walked by.  I gave him my "please rescue me look." He kept on walking.  The homeless man was relentless, so after twenty minutes of listening to his story, I gave him $20 just to be left in peace.  I wish hotel security were better.  I doubt I was the first Hyatt Regency patron approached for money while sitting in the lobby.  Overall, just not the quality of stay I am used to enjoying at a Hyatt Regency.  

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloKittySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 100 in Louisville
4,188 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 100 in Louisville
2,028 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 100 in Louisville
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 100 in Louisville
934 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Address: 311 S 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2997
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Louisville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $132 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing