We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but beware of bar prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Louisville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Louisville
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but beware of bar prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently enjoyed a comfortable two night stay at the Hyatt Regency and I was pleased to see the hotel honour my email request for a quiet room. I had breakfast on one of the mornings and wasn't particularly impressed. I thought it was very average. I also purchased a Woodford Reserve bourbon in the ground floor bar on one evening and it came to nearly 13 dollars. Ouch!! Needless to say, I only had one.

Room Tip: Request a high room- away from all the street noise. You may be allocated one without having to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    414
    152
    60
    30
See reviews for
178
248
51
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perry Hall, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Located on 4th Street in downtown right across the street from the convention center and in the midst of the 4th Street Live entertainment district. Usual Hyatt high atrium lobby with nice rooms, comfy beds and pillows. WiFi is $9.95/day, so no free ride there.

Bar is an active place on nights when conventions are in town, and visiting football teams playing Louisville stay here. All in all, a nice hotel conveniently located with efficient and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Property was recently renovated and it looks good. The room was spacious and the Bar-Restaurant downstairs was very inviting. The food was very good as well. The hotel is right in the middle of everything and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: I asked for a corner room away from the entertainment area. The noise was almost undetectable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kankead8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattLouisville, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
194 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked this hotel on a site that was called something like Louisville Downtown Hotels. Turns out, that was a subsidiary of Travelocity so when I called to switch from 1 bed to 2, they said I could not, because of how I had booked. I never booked through Travelocity so that didn't make me happy, especially since I paid $200/night.

When I arrived, I did have 2 beds but the front desk staff informed me that this hotel NEVER guarantees a bed preference. Not very customer service friendly...

The hotel was clean and neat but very, very noisy. There is an open atrium so if you are on a lower floor (I was on 3), the noise from the lobby is incredible. You can also hear the water pressure shutting on and off everytime a guest showers. I wouldn't stay here again for the noise alone.

My last little gripe is that when I returned to my hotel after a long day, my door was left ajar by the cleaning staff. I hadn't left any valuable in the room, and nothing was stolen, but when I mentioned it while checking out the front desk clerk said something like, oops, that's not good, sorry. And that was that. I'm never staying here again but if you do, lock up your valuable elsewhere...

Room Tip: Higher floors should be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmmidwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattLouisville, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel based on your recent stay and experience. We regret we did not exceed your overall expectations, for which we strive at Hyatt Hotels. We will share your concerns with our management team in order to ensure proper corrective actions are made. We do take safety and security very seriously and will make sure that our Housekeeping department is aware of the importance of maintaining valuables safely. I can assure you we will look into this matter and ensure corrective measures are implemented. We hope you reconsider your decision and try us again on your next visit to Louisville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
273 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I travel for cheer competitions several times a year. Typically need to stay near the Kentucky International Convention Center, I love this hotel. The hotel is connected by a cross walk directly to the CC. There are also several fast food and nice places to eat within walking distance of the hotel. I tend to get the park free and internet package for a good value. I also like the Grand King room, it has a table in it for 4 along with a nice desk area with tons of plug ins. The King beds are so comfortable and the room is really big. The room is always clean. I am not a fan of the hotel soap scent, but I just bring my own.

Room Tip: Our room tends to be close to the elevator and backs up to the ice machine area. Noise is never an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kermo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattLouisville, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at the Hyatt Regency Louisville, we would like to thank you for taking the time to compile a review on your most recent stay. We will be changing our bathroom products in the near future and hopefully they will be to your liking. We are thrilled to hear of your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to Louisville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaker heights, OH
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Found this hotel to be a perfect place to stay in downtown Louisville... close to every thing!
Our room was lovely, clean and the personnel friendly. We plan to take advantage of the buy two and stay third night free again this month.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattLouisville, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay to our property. We are thrilled to hear of your experience and look forward to the opportunity to have you as a guest once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I went along with my husband on a business trip. We walked into a courtyard marriott while we where down there and it seemed much nicer. The Hyatt was just not up to the normal Hyatt standards. There are better options for this area

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattLouisville, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
First and foremost thank you for providing comments on your recent visit to our hotel. Please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations. Our goal is to be the preferred hotel in Louisville and your feedback allows us to ensure we continue to work hard in order to ensure we are the number one choice Downtown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#6 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Property: Hyatt Regency Louisville
Address: 311 South 4th Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Louisville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Business Hotel in Louisville
#21 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing