We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much noise!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center
Ranked #84 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Edgewood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Too much noise!!!!!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This property is extremely outdated and allowed people to party, scream, and run around the property until well after midnight. The room was less than clean. The breakfast was good and the lobby and breakfast area were considerably nicer than the room. The price was extremely reasonable, but if I had paid more than I did my rating would be even less.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnie D, General Manager at Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to let us know what we need to do to improve our service. I do know we have a lot of noise with the highway right in front of us and the railroad tracks behind us. We do try to control guest from parting out side of their rooms and we do have 24 hour security . I do hope you will come back and see us and take a minute to stop by and see me I would love to talk to you on all the things we are doing to make this motel a wonderful stay. Thanks Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    86
    72
    106
See reviews for
88
43
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Charming front desk agent checked me in. Location is conveniently right off the highway. Rooms and building are pretty old school but I think it adds to the charm. Lots of parking. Slept fine. Some people might find the highway traffic sounds in the morning a problem but not me.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minivanhighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnie D, General Manager at Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to your return trip. We know that every guest that comes here sees us in different ways, but are goal is for eveyone to see us in the light of a good, clean, and friendly motel. Thank you for your comments. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I were up for Derby Week and booked this hotel because it was close to Churchill Downs. While we do not want to knock anyone's review of their experience, we had a much better stay than most. First off, we recognize that this is a one star hotel. The property certainly shows plenty of wear....and the price reflects that. We arrived at night and the parking lot was well lit and the asphalt lot was in good repair. Martha checked us in and was capable of getting us our room keys, but the manager could probably work with her to be a little more informative and outgoing. In my opinion, she did mean to be uninformative.....just needs to be trained to tell people about breakfast, checkout time, whether a wake up call is needed or whether the guest needs anything, etc.

The hotel room indeed had badly stained chairs that included lots of water marks. I really don't know that any upholstery cleaner can spruce them up.....but I still sat in the chairs and they were fine. The bathroom was very clean and delivered a great hot shower with great water pressure. In the days of hotel water savers, blasting, old school water pressure is really nice to wake you up in the morning. The bed was really comfortable. The furniture was knicked up, but clean. The vanity is detached from the bathroom so one person can shower and one can get ready without a steam bath to contend with. The 27" CRT TV had a respectable picture and free HBO.

The free breakfast was purely continental.....no hot selections...but plenty to hold you over until lunch. You could create hot selections by toasting bagels, waffles, etc. or pour hot water into an oatmeal packet. All of the juices were represented as was milk. It was an average free breakfast. We had trouble finding the ice machines, so the morning front desk worker politely helped us and even refused a tip saying that it was her pleasure to help.

I see the manager reads these reviews, which is nice because he can react to what guests are saying. One thing I hope the manager will explain is why the hotel let Greene's BBQ & Steaks run a huge trailer on a very loud commercial generator for a whole week. The unmuffled, powerful generator piped jackhammer like noise into our room and was literally within 75 feet of room 114. I asked the front desk about it and Martha said I was the first person to complain, but their had not been many guests during the week. She said the trailer would be pulling out at midnight.

My obvious question is why the manager would allow so much noise to piece the parking lot and distub his guests. Even plywood in front of the generator would significantly muffle the noise. I am hoping their is a good explanation for this because the management cannot control the age of the hotel, most likely cannot snap his fingers and order a renovation of the hotel, etc. However, he can control the noise.

The trailer did leave around 11:30 p.m. and the hotel was then quiet. We did not hear any road noise. We were tired and slept well. Our automated wake up call came right on time. We did not see the much maligned back side of the hotel nor did we see any vagrants or hookers. We would gladly stay in this hotel again...especially when we need a late in, early out sleep and shower room. Solid value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnie D, General Manager at Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I'm sorry it has taken me so long to respond to your comments. I do appriciate the time you took to fill out this survey. I have spoken to Martha and she is working very hard to improve on responding to guest needs. I guess the biggest problem you had was the food truck in the parking lot. I did not know it was causing so much problems. However, I know if it was bothering you it was bothering other guest also. The only person I can blame for this problems is me. I thought I was doing something good for my guest but it turns out that I wasn't; therefore, I won't make this mistake again. I do want to re emphasis my appreciation for you taking the time to help me to become a better manager and a better motel for our future guest. Thanks Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Old Louisville
Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#70 of 95 in Louisville
395 reviews
South Side
Sleep Inn Louisville Airport & Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
South Side
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Property: Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center
Address: 1620 Arthur St, Louisville, KY 40208-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're in Louisville, let Days Inn Central be your home away from home! A friendly atmosphere and exceptional customer service place you in the heart of a great hospitality experience. Amenity-abundant accommodations, great local restaurants, and a caring dedicated staff work to exceed all your expectations of the typical economy inn. This hotel provides the best for those visiting Louisville on business or pleasure. Visit us and discover what sets us apart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Central / University And Expo Hotel Louisville
Days Inn Louisville
Louisville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing