We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice-but stay on the side away from Jefferson St.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice-but stay on the side away from Jefferson St.”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I spent five nights at this clean and attractive hotel. On the plus side..the rooms were nice, the gym was very nice, indoor pool looked good through the window and it was very close to the convention center (where I was attending an event). On the minus side..I stayed on the front side of the hotel with a room facing Jefferson Street. That is a very busy street and I needed earplugs to fall asleep and to avoid being roused very early in the heavy traffic. I'd stay there again for business but I would ask for a room in the back of the hotel facing the parking lot. There is lots of places to eat nearby but it is about 3 blocks walk to the first decent places. That said..it is still very convenient and was about 15% cheaper than the hotels that are across the street from the convention center.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    151
    67
    13
    9
See reviews for
122
81
10
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I was in Louisville for a business meeting, I was a little nervous about staying here based on some of the questionable reviews that people have left about the hotel, but I went into the stay with an open mind, and I was really pleasantly surprised.

The hotel feels new and it nicely appointed. Though the lobby is very small and kind of feels like its lacking something, it still gets the job done. The 2nd floor breakfast/ business area is lovely though and is a great place to get some work done/ watch tv with a nice street view if you don't want to hang out in your room. The computer with a printer to print a boarding pass is always a huge help too, and I was thankful that the 2nd floor had a printer.

The rooms are quite nice and large. The split bathroom and shower is nice, though the sink in the bathroom area is about big enough for a tiny, tiny mouse to wash their paws in... but you can't judge a hotel by its secondary sinks, right? The work station/ desk is nice and I loved the sliding panels of glass that separated the work room from the sleeping area. Decor is nicely done and and I appreciated the modern lamps, art, etc.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, AL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

A co-worker and I stayed here for a teacher's conference July 2010. Quick check-in, front desk staff were friendly and professional. The room was large, nicely decorated, clean. Only "bad" thing, upon checking in our room, we found a pizza box on top of the room divider/desk - almost hidden, and in my opinion, easy to miss. We alerted the front desk, and they immediately offered us a different room, if we wanted it. The rest of the room was in tip top shape, so we just stuck with it. Room was a little chilly, so we requested an extra blanket. It was delivered within 5 minutes.
Great set-up for staying with a colleague. The toilet area includes a small sink and is in its own little room separate from the shower/vanity area (which can also be completely closed off by a door - perfect for privacy.)
They do charge for parking, but there is free wifi (worked great) AND free breakfast. The breakfast was AMAZING! Oatmeal, cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, waffle station, eggs and breakfast meat. Everything I tried tasted fantastic!
Within walking distance of conference center and 4th Street LIVE (tons of fun), and, if you're in pretty good shape, the Louisville Slugger (must go) and history museum (military focus, nice staff). A pedi-cab will bring you back to SpringHill from 4th Street LIVE after hours for tips. Fun ride in good weather.
There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance and a gas station/convenience store near-by.
Many teachers at the conference were staying at the Hyatt and Marriott and being nickled and dimed to death - charged for wifi and breakfast, etc. We had a nice stay and lots of free goodies. Would definitely stay here again. Great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2010

The elevators smell like a brewery. The hallways were hot - couldn't feel any air conditioning. The hallways also had an unpleasant, stale odor. The room looks great, smells horrible.

Vending machines - according to the Guest Information book, vending machines are located near Ice Machines (which are only available on 3 floors). No vending machines. The young lady at the desk said they've never had vending machines. They do stock sodas, frozen dinners and candy at the front desk.

This hotel was recommended but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MSWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Springhill in downtown Louisville shares the lot with a Fairfield, looking like the two wings of a single edification though in fact what is now the Springlill was a later add-on. In the upper levels, some of the floors from each property overlap one another and they both share the same guest laundry room and other facilities.

The property is located between the Convention Center and the hospitals district, and it was obvious these were the main sources of weekday business (they even have a hospital shuttle). The area itself is at the outer edge of the business district next to the freeway, not much immediately around it, but just a 2 and a half block walk to the Convention Center, four to the 4th Street restaurant area; did not feel unsafe moving along those routes in the evenings.

Rooms clean and well appointed, with refrigerator and microwave provided, a sitting area and workstation desk, full bathroom with tub. Minuses include TV has a minimal channel lineup; the relative location of the bed and the combination-unit AC meant the cold air blew right onto your head; the dresser unit inside the already smallish wardrobe took up space for hanging garments.

The complimentary breakfast area was of an appropriate size, well stocked, and with a nice location overlooking Jefferson St.. The "business center" is just one (1) computer with printer, which could get inconvenient for purposes of printing boarding passes if many people are leaving the same day.

Overall if you are in Louisville to take care of business, this is a good choice to make your temporary homebase.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRDelirious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We enjoyed the space offered in our 2 bed suite. The room was clean, orderly and nicely decorated. The breakfast facilities were very good. Service at the front desk was good and they treated our military family very well. We plan on a return stay in August.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregonvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csw65, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Please let us know when your plans have you returning to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

booked this hotel on a three way trip which icuded louisville, hershy, pa, and d.c. the setup of the room was weird. the room with the shower was different from the room with the toilet. sink was tiny in the room with the toilet you could barely get your hands in it. the shower was nice but the lightswitch in the showeroom was covered in something i didnt want to come close to. there was some brown stuff all over the walll in the bathroom.there was stains all over the carpet. the hallways smelled bad and the couch in the room was filthy. the beds were clean and comfortable. the service was good and the people at the desk were polite but the janitor was so rude we walked through when he was mopping and he said something under his breath i couldnt make out. the parking lot was also filthy. i do not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROLLTIDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csw65, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
All of us at the Springhill Suites want to say we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, The lay out of the bathroom with separate shower and sink and toilet and sink is something that guest have asked for over the years. We missed our goal of a Friendly and spotless hotel during your stay. As for rude associates we have met with all staff members to share your comments. We take service very serious and we hope to have an opportunity to showcase our service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
#33 of 97 in Louisville
332 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Address: 132 E Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#35 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Springhill Suites Louisville Downtown is just a short walk to 4th Street Live and the convention center and convenient to Churchill Downs and Louisville Slugger Museum. Our brand-new suites feature separate living areas with pullout sofas, free WiFi, flat-screen TVs and 25% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Travelers appreciate our garage parking ($14 daily) and the in-suite microwaves and mini-fridges. Jump-start your morning with our free hot breakfast buffet or grab a snack on the go from our 24-hour Market. Stay active at our 24-hour fitness center and indoor pool. With convenient perks in the heart of downtown Louisville, we're the perfect choice for your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing