We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed four nights during the week at this hotel as we made our way through the Bourbon Trail and visited Louisville. It was a great base - close to interstate 65 and close to downtown and the nulu neighbourhood, an up and coming location. Suites are big with a king size bed (that is somewhat soft) and a quasi-separate sitting/office room. The washroom is also divided into two separate units - one with the shower and one with the toilet which is very convenient (I wish more hotels were organized like this). The complementary breakfast buffet was good and had a good selection of protein, carbs and fruit. Parking is $10/night but you can come and go as you wish.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Jefferson Street to cut down on the interstate traffic on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawajester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Ottawajester,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Springhill Suites by Marriott Downtown and had a great experience with our staff and service. We appreciate your business and the great review and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    151
    67
    13
    9
See reviews for
122
81
10
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Missed the mark on this day. Checked in after 9pm to find trash and laundry piled in the hallway. Spent the night awake wondering what critters would be there. Good location and staff but I haven't seen the trash piled like this in a hotel before.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear SC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and picture from your stay in September. I completely agree with you - Linen and Trash in the hallways to totally unacceptable. I am please to inform you that this is no longer the case. We have recently gone through some department changes and this is a very high focus area for my housekeeping team. I sincerely apologize that you had to experience this, it is certainly not our unsual standard. I would look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel so that you can see the changes for yourself.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the SpringHill Suites downtown Louisville for 3 nights on a recent trip to Louisville.

It is conveniently located, and it was very easy to get to all of the places we wanted to visit during our stay. The room was clean, the towels were plentiful and not thin. The beds are very comfortable, with fantastic feather pillows, and we did not hear noise from the hallways at night.

The hotel set up is odd, in that it is attached to another hotel. It was a bit confusing upon check in (which was at midnight for us). But once we were directed through a maze to the correct desk, check in was easy. Our room was clean, though oddly configured. The separate water closet was interesting with a sink barely large enough to wash your hands in. In the second bathroom area, the shower floor was very slick and we needed to be careful when stepping in and out. There was no anti slip on the shower floor. Otherwise, the shower and sink area was large enough to move around in. Over all the room was plenty large enough with a separate area with a couch and desk to spread out in.

The hallways were hot, it felt as if no AC was on in the hallway. The thermostat in our room did not work correctly, the fan would not come on unless the AC was turned way down, and when it reached the set temperature, the fan would not shut off it just kept cooling lower and lower. Then when it was adjusted back up the fan would not come back on when it went above the set set temperature, so the room would get hotter. Very annoying in the middle of the night to have to get up and keep adjusting the thermostat in order to keep the room temperature level.

We only had the included breakfast one morning. But as hotel free breakfasts go, it was OK.

Parking is $10 a day, however the parking garage is very small and not large enough to accommodate all of the rooms. Therefore, if you stay out late enjoying all that Louisville has to offer, you may not get a parking space when you arrive back to the hotel as we did for 2 of the nights we stayed.

This hotel fulfilled our need for a downtown stay in Louisville, and we would consider staying here again on a future visit because it was clean and it really was convenient to everything we wanted to see and do.

However, it was only a $70 a night hotel, and it only gets the premium $150 a night price because of it's location, not because of it's rooms or amenities.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor (9th) and had a lovely view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Julie S,
Thank you for your comments. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay. I am glad you found your overall experience enjoyable and do apologize that you found our parking garage not up to par. Being a Downtown location, our space is limited. I do hope that if in Louisville again, you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here before. I will likely be here again. The location is very convenient to a project I am working on. Others are staying at the Hampton Inn across the street as it has a free shuttle to/from the airport saving $20+ each way.

The staff here is extremely nice and helpful. It makes it easier when you are on the road a lot, so I appreciate that.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed over one night during the Louisville Ironman weekend and the city, and hotels had been taken over by triathletes. Despite the huge crowd, the hotel staff did their best to accommodate the guests. The location is good, but like the other SpringHll Suites we've visited, the rooms are very tight. The split bathroom is also quite small and oddly laid-out. When we made it back to our room around 10PM after dinner, we realized one of the beds was completely broken and sagging in the middle. The front desk staff offered to look into changing our room, but we were completely unpacked and it was late at night, and the hotel was booked solid. The manager seemed very sympathetic when I explained the issue the following day, and even sent a follow-up e-mail. I think we would have been more satisfied with the response if they had offered a voucher or something as an apology. The breakfast was substantial and diverse, and the parking was pricey but convenient. Much of the carpeting in the hallways was worn and filthy, with gum and other items permanently part of the pattern. The walls were also scuffed and dirty. In conclusion, if you are looking for convenience and practicality, SpringHill Suites is for you. If you are looking for luxury, aesthetics, or creature comforts, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitown
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited over Spring Break 2013. Unfortunately the weather was unseasonable cold in Louisville, but we enjoyed the hotel quite a bit. The pool was fun for the 4 kids in our group--ages 7-9. We also went to the breakfast lounge one night and had our own indoor picnic. There were a few other groups doing the same thing and there was plenty of room to spread out. The hotel was a short walk from the main downtown tourist area which we walked to a few times. We were also a few minute drive from the Louisville Slugger factory, a very worthwhile stop on any vacation agenda.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubbie_doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Cubbie_Doug,
Thank you fro taking the time to post a review of your stay at our Springhill Suites during Spring Break. I am sorry to hear that the weather was not great and am happy to hear you made the best of it !
Our Breakfast area is a great location for an indoor picnic, i am so glad you had room to spread out. I am keeping my fingers crossed that your plans next year take you to a sunnier location. Thank you again for your review.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was in Louisville for the Ironman. I was with my family and we had three rooms and we stayed for four nights. I was very impressed with the service, the rooms and the location of this establishment. We were very happy that just about everything we wanted to do was within walking distance.

I felt they went over and above for the athletes and their families over the few days of the Ironman. They had water, gatorade & nutrition bars available consistently as well as many photocopied sheets of information about the race & locations. This was priceless really!

I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racingrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Racingrl,
I wanted to send a quick thank you for your recent stay and review of our Springhill Suites! We really appreciate you taking the time to post about your visit to our hotel. Our goal is to have every guest leave 100% satisfied and I was thrilled to read we exceeded your expectations. Ironman is an event that our entire team looks forward too each year. Once again, thanks for posting a detailed review of your stay with us. We really appreciate you choosing our hotel while in Louisville and hope to see you again next year.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
#32 of 97 in Louisville
332 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Address: 132 E Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#35 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Springhill Suites Louisville Downtown is just a short walk to 4th Street Live and the convention center and convenient to Churchill Downs and Louisville Slugger Museum. Our brand-new suites feature separate living areas with pullout sofas, free WiFi, flat-screen TVs and 25% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Travelers appreciate our garage parking ($14 daily) and the in-suite microwaves and mini-fridges. Jump-start your morning with our free hot breakfast buffet or grab a snack on the go from our 24-hour Market. Stay active at our 24-hour fitness center and indoor pool. With convenient perks in the heart of downtown Louisville, we're the perfect choice for your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing