We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Brown”
Review of J Grahams Cafe

J Grahams Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
J Grahams Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,781 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Advance, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hot Brown”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Hot Brown is a must have when visiting Louisville so why not have it at the place that originated it--The Brown Hotel! What a meal for lunch with a little shot of good bourbon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnReff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    72
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Place to get a Hot Brown!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We came to the Brown Hotel specifically to have a Hot Brown. This is the way to do it if you want to dine in a casual atmosphere and have kids with you, which we did. The service was excellent. Hot Brown was amazing, but my wife's salad left a lot to be desired. It was too oily, and was supposed to have bleu cheese, which it did, but in such a minute quantity as to be barely detectable. The chicken tenders were way better than average, with a crispy crust and array of spices. Fries were crispy, just the way we like them.
We'd definitely go there again, and get the Hot Brown for us, chicken tenders for the kids, and skip the salad.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Buy the Brown”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The famous Brown sandwich was very good and worth the price. Service was excellent - we stayed and talked a while and never felt rushed by the waiter.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“had to have the complete tourist lunch!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived at the Brown Hotel about 11:40 AM and were told we couldn't order lunch until noon. I wanted to try the namesake Hot Brown, which was available all day, but my husband wanted something else. They were happy to make us a mint julep and the waitress said she'd see if the chef could start a bit earlier. They seemed to make a fuss over something that turned into no big deal. At any rate, the Hot Brown was very large and not exactly what I expected...huge hunks of turkey as opposed to slices, and fairly bland cheese sauce, but still tasty. My husband's Panini was excellent. The Derby Pie for dessert was super tasty. As for the mint julep...glad I tried one, but too sweet for my taste. The $14 charge per drink was ridiculously excessive. If you want to sample, find another place to do it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank txtravelbug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
“POOR SERVICE IN RESTAURANT”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Over priced menu with poor service. We only visited the restaurant so cannot comment on hotel rooms. The $18 infamous Brown Sandwich tasted mediocre at best. We were never offered drinks and the $20 lunch buffet only thing offered - no children menus offered although they do have them. On our way out we complained (nicely I might add) to the restaurant manager and she completely snubbed us - made us feel worthless.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Grahams Cafe also viewed

 

Been to J Grahams Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing