We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of BLU Italian Grille

BLU Italian Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
BLU Italian Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 1,757 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: On West Jefferson between 2nd and 3rd Street
Description: BLU is a new concept in restaurant ambiance, combining contemporary twists on a well-selected Italian menu with an exhilarating atmosphere. Featuring Italian classics with a contemporary flare along with an exceptionally diverse wine list. BLU is more of a culinary vacation than a traditional restaurant.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The food is better than average but not standing out enouh to merit a very good. I would give it a good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aviv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    43
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great New Years Eve dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Dinner at Blu on New Years Eve was fantastic. The food was amazing and so was the service. My girlfriend and I along with my parents enjoyed the service and good immensely, including the two managers on duty who helped with the service including our waiter. Thanks Kristen Katie and Gui for a great New Years Eve.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tayal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great service and location.
This restaurants sits in the lobby of the Marriott in Downtown Louisville, very close to 4th St.
Visited for the breakfast buffet, and although they had a great variety, the food and taste were just okay. Nothing that stood out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latinhunny33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
526 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restaurant is near the front door so bring your coat as it is cold. The food is average and nothing special. Nothing we ordered was bad but again it was not outstanding. The server was very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank betagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Dinner was delightful. The cuisine was amazing and not ordinary. The service was ok. I wasn't greeted as promptly as I would expect but overall the food made up for the lack of service. I have traveled all over the U.S and have indulged in many of this nations top restaurants. However, when I stopped by this gem in Louisville; I have to say, I felt as if I was actually out of the United States. The chef is most knowledgable of the cuisine. He has already reached the top 3 in my book of the best restaurants I have dined at in many metropolitan cities. If only the service was better and the manager was not on her personal phone. To not have a manager stop by to see how a table's night is going, I thought, was very atypical. Needless to say, I think the food should be the reason people go to this gem of a restaurant because its worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carmen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BLU Italian Grille also viewed

 

Been to BLU Italian Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing