We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Sunday brunch”
Review of Napa River Grill

Napa River Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Napa River Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #256 of 1,785 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $30 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Description: Napa River Grill is an independent and locally owned restaurant where the guest is paramount. For over a decade, Napa River Grill has served as Louisville's only upscale-casual dining restaurant featuring Northern California cuisine with Pacific-Rim fusion.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super Sunday brunch”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

So - buffets are not usually for me, but - NRG did it right. The Sunday brunch was a great blend of the traditional & some added flair. Very relaxed but nice ambience. Food was all good - the smoked chicken salad, the grilled & lightly sauced salmon were great and the sausage gravy was also a hit. The buffet table was well presented & stocked continuously with fresh items - and eggs Benedict & similar items were prepared to order so they were totally fresh each time. This buffet style brunch was a clear exception to the usual rule.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Meal in a long time!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had never been to this restaurant and went on a whim at the last minute. Atmosphere was good. The waiter was good. We were a little 'under-dressed' but there's not a dress code.

I ordered the filet and it was totally fabulous! The best meal I've had in ages. Great potatoes and corn as sides. Had a ceasar salad! Yum.
My husband had the special which was a seabass over noodles. He said it was really delicious and couldn't eat it all (a first). He had the wedge salad which look delicious.

We thought it was pretty reasonable considering what we ordered. Plus had 2 glasses of wine and a cocktail.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 270kentuckywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour and Girls Night Out”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was double points night for this Louisville Originals member, so a friend and I met here for happy hour and dinner in the bar area. What is great about Napa is that for Happy Hour every night, there are half price glasses of wine on every wiine that is served by the glass. This makes it special to begin with. I got there are 5:30 on a Tuesday night, and the only table available in the inside bar area was at a low table. There are only 4 table with normal height, so you have to get there early. We sat at a comfortable couch area with the round top low table in front of us. We selected two nice white wines by the glass that were delightful. How is it that being half price makes a wine even more tasty? Next we perused the special happy hour menu for the bar area. We decided to start by splitting a caesar salad. We had decided to split a burger sans the bun because we knew that the wonderful cornbread in an iron skillet would arrive shortly. The salad that we ordred as a split was freshly prepared with a nice, light dressing. At that point, I spotted another diner who had ordered the mussels. I had to get them because they were presented so excellently and served with a grilled French bread. I finished the wonderfully prepared mussels in short order. Then the burger that we had ordered as a split order was more than enough for two women to split. It was not a prefab burger! It was perfectly seasoned and came with fresh slices of lettuce, tomato, onion and spicy pickles. The only thing that was "off" all evening was that the menu stated that the burger came with "pommes frites" which has a very specific method of preparation. What we were served were traditionnal French fries, American style. Not that they weren't good, but a restaurant should call a rose a rose! If the menu had stated that the burger was served with fries and not frites, then I would not have been disappointed. The restaurant has two outside patio/bar areas that are additional to the bar area inside the main entrance. There is also a lovely main dining room, but I personnally perfer the small portions I can get in the bar area. You will certainly enjoy this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneHopson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
2 reviews
“Beautiful Atmosphere, OK Food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Love the outdoor patio, and drink menu. The ahi nachos are really good. Entrees were just ok. Service was terrific and the bar was hopping.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChiTownTraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This upscale restaurant in Westport Village is a wonderful place to spend an evening. The service impeccable. The ambiance is romantic yet casual and the food is excellent.
There is half price wine and appetizers in the bar areas everyday until 7pm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvtravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa River Grill also viewed

 

Been to Napa River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing