We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“J. Gumbo's Clifton 2109 Frankfort Avenue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J Gumbos - CLOSED

J Gumbos
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“J. Gumbo's Clifton 2109 Frankfort Avenue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Voodoo chicken and Drunken chicken are a must!!!

Been all around trying to find something that compares without too much luck. Was a good place in Memphis. I was all excited to go to New Orleans to find the real thing or something like that, but could not after much effort. Came back wanting the usual even more. This location is the best from some reason and often seems better if it is older (later in the day, 3 pm). Reheated in a toaster oven is better then fresh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Z-ski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nice place to try out...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Was passing by this side of town, so decided to try it out, and see what they had to offer. I was not disappointed. Reasonably priced and food served fast too!
Ordered the gumbo and the wife ordered the Bourbon chicken - both were delicious! We were expecting some mediocre tasting food - but this one is different.
The gumbo's rice and sausage were delicious and I also tasted my wife's dish - it was made just right. Not too hot on the tongue, you can savour the sweet hoisin sauce in the dish.
I recommend you check out the spot if you visit town. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonOnvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I was expecting fast food but what I got was food fast. This was the most pleasant stop in the last few days. I like it spicy, and the "Drunken chicken" was perfect. Nice selection of cold brews that compliment the spicy food too.

Helpful?
Thank 1911rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

It was SO good and very reasonable priced. There was a line to order and the place was packed. Obviously lots of other people share our opinion. We wanted to return for dinner another day but they are only open for lunch. Too bad! Very convenient for people staying at the Hyatt.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CindyC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Poplar level location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

So today I tried out J Gumbo's. The service was excellent. The young lady had me sample two items on the menu and the special. I combined all three. I walked in thinking I was going to go for gumbo, jambalaya or etoufee. However after the sample of the drunken chicken (spicy), something with corn and beans and the special which had a sweet but Cajun essence I had an explosion of flavor. Two thumbs up. Five stars and any other rating. I will definitely return. Check out the poplar level location. Its behind the chilis opposite corner of panera.

Helpful?
Thank jenkinsjohnsonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Gumbos also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing