We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steaks”

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,757 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 4th Street
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
263 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great steaks and other items all done to perfection! Wonderful presentation.
One of best items on menu is their $60, in the bone filet. Seafood is also very good.
Very nice , but pricy, seafood appetizers and ala-cart side dishes.Nice dessert selection.

Service was very, very attentive.

We had a very special event that we notified them well in advance about and they did nothing extra or even in recognition of it!

Their prepaid valet service is a problem! We had to wait for over 20 minutes to get our car after dinner. Lots of other people before and after us in line were not happy campers as this took the "bloom off the rose" of both great food and an otherwise enjoyable evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    104
    42
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Steak after Deployment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

After most of a year of chow hall mystery meat and what I hope was actually hamburgers , I can't describe the terrible things I was ready to do for a solid steak. Jeff Ruby's did not disappoint. Go with the bone-in, dry aged beef - that is what you come here for. The filet was huge, perfectly cooked. I was with a fairly large party, we ordered all across the menu & everyone was very pleased. The sides are even great. I would come back just for the green beans and asparagus. World-class food, Excellent service, can't beat it. Pricey, but lives up to the hype.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place.Great Food,Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The food was excellent. great service and the atmosphere was amazing. Beautiful decor,friendly staff.Great drink selection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gallion58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse in Louisville, KY is not be missed. The steaks are marvelous, the wine list is incredible and the staff is just fantastic. Dined here for a special occasion before heading to Bardstown for Bourbon Fest. Adam and Colin were our wait staff and were absolutely wonderful. They were knowledgable about the menu, made great suggestions regarding wines and were just downright friendly! Jeff, the manager stopped by several times to check on us and just to chat. A little pricey and everything is al a carte but a great dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimandKathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had a sushi appetizer - salmon - it was fresh and wonderful. My steak was cooked perfectly and it came with seared scallops - which were also seared perfectly :) I really enjoyed my dinner. I sat in the bar area, the waitstaff person was great. She helped me pick my mine - let me taste it. She was very accomodating and attentive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BellaClaire429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing