We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Cuban Cuisine”

Havana Rumba St. Matthews
Ranked #8 of 1,767 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Description: Havana Rumba is a trip to the Caribbean no passport required. Join the Cuban party without having to break the travel restrictions. Buen provecho!
Rochester, Indiana
Level Contributor
190 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Cuban Cuisine”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you are visiting Louisville you will have to search the place out, you won't find it just off 65. I found it while reading reviews of Louisville restaurants prior to a recent trip. There is a pair of Rumbas listed as #1 & #3 in Louisville. While not being an expert in Cuban cuisine aside from the occasional Cuban sandwich, I found the food to be pretty good. We started with the Empanadas de Pollo as an appetizer, good. I had the Lechon Asado which was good, but lacked a little crunch. The yucca, beans, and rice just was a bit too much starch for me, but still very good. The atmosphere was very Cuban, cigar labels in the tabletops, and bright colors everywhere. Service was good, the caipirinhas were good as well. I would take the time to search one of these establishments out again if passing through Louisville.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3duckdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    163
    30
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
348 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Black bean Cuban lunch”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Great Cuban black bean soup and Cuban menu nice outdoor seating area. Not fancy but good authentic Cuban foods. Great service and kind waiters. Nice lunch menu too.

Helpful?
Thank bjorn5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of the city's best”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

For those who are confused, Louisville has 3 Havana Rumbas, all owned by the same people (who own Mojito's as well). So for some reason, the Havana Rumba in Middletown is rated #1, while the original Havana Rumba in St. Matthews is rated #5. (Havana Rumba Express in the Highlands is the newest, and it didn't make the TripAdvisor Top 10 for Louisville.) Expansive menu. The drinks are not to miss, but watch out for mojitos by the pitcher. I say that from experience. Tres Leches is one of my favorite desserts in the city. I love the vegetarian offerings here, and my carnivore friends love everything this fine place has to offer. I have not loved the chicken dishes, but that is the only low point in a consistently great menu. Great service. Beware: when there is live music, it is quite difficult to hear the people at your table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Even the rice was excellent !!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

All I can say is you have to try Havana Rumba! Excellent food! Friendly atmosphere! Great service! We had the calamari, black bean soup, and the chicken fricase'. All excellent! We can't wait to go back and try the other menu items!

Helpful?
Thank Leafangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
147 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Cuban restuarant”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

For authentic Cuban food that is one of the best in the country . It has a complete Cuban menu and a very good bar/drink menu to choose from. Most nights they have live music

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Rumba St. Matthews also viewed

 

Been to Havana Rumba St. Matthews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing