We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I have taken many trips over our 30 years together, but were never bold enough to try a bed and breakfast. We're glad we did. The Rocking Horse is amazing – in both style and service. It's old, yes, but that's a big part of its charm. John and Ricardo are excellent hosts, helpful without being overwhelming. You don't have to pay $28 a day to park, like some of the hotels in downtown Louisville. That makes the room rates even more appealing. One other note, the website does not do the property justice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btucker816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 309 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

This charming bed and breakfast, located on the edge of historic Old Louisville and minutes from downtown, was a treasure for the one night we were able to stay. The restored mansion has original stained glass, tile floors, and woodwork throughout - a delight for history buffs or for those who, like us, just like to bask in a beautiful atmosphere. Service was superb: John and Ricardo made a delicious and filling breakfast and gave a lot of interesting history about the house and neighborhood. Truly a wonderful option for anyone who likes personal attention and unique locations!

Room Tip: We chose the Irish Rose Room, which had its own balcony and was the only room with (original!) stain...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenz796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at Ricardo and John's B and B. Their house is roomy, impeccably
clean and beautifully appointed. We stayed on the 2nd floor. Our king sized bed was very
comfortable. We are early risers and were able to get self serve coffee on the 3rd floor,in
a lovely room with a tv and ample reading material.
Breakfasts were delicious, and served with friendly conversations.
It was a treat to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay during your visit to Louisville, by all means, avoid staying in the hotels downtown and make plans to stay at this wonderful B&B (which is only blocks from downtown Louisville)!!! I am a native of the city and normally stay with my parents. However, this time around, I wanted to do something different. I called on a Friday to make reservations for the following week and luckily they had a room available. John and Ricardo are wonderful hosts and the premises are immaculate! The breakfasts are filling, rooms are cozy & quaint; and it is very close to everything (university, interstate, downtown attractions). If you are able, make your reservation today --- don't miss out on this wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was a much better than stay at a hotel. Hosts were extremely helpful. This is an old victorian mansion. It goes without saying but make sure you can walk steps. Will use it for next visit to the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratanshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ricardo and John are so friendly and helpful. The House is elegant and roomy, this is a great location with walking distance to fine restaurants, park and lots of places to walk and enjoy old Louisville

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Beautiful B&B lovingly restored. Close to downtown, University of Louisville and Churchill Downs. Sit outside in the beautifully landscaped back yard/courtyard in the evening. Breakfast was delicious. John and Ricardo were wonderful hosts attentive to our every needs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livinincincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 97 in Louisville
1,938 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,391 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 97 in Louisville
4,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1022 South Third Street, Louisville, KY 40203-2914
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range: $75 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1888 Historic Rocking Horse Manor Bed & Breakfast is the house built for one of the Bourbon Barons of Victorian Louisville, Max Selliger, of Max Selliger & Co. Distillery in 1888. Stay in a former Bourbon Baron's home and enjoy the craftsmanship that went into the great homes of Old Louisville. The Rocking Horse Manor is a totally restored 1888 Richardsonian Romanesque mansion. All guest rooms offer all the amenities the modern traveler requires, including in-suite baths, individual room temperature controls and high-speed wireless internet access all throughout, while the house maintains the Victorian architectural features including original stained glass, pocket doors, hand-carved fire place mantels, 12 1/2 foot ceilings, original parquet floors with intricate inlaid borders and original Italian Marble mosaic tiles in the expansive foyer. Enjoy a glass of Bourbon in the parlor or library with wet-bar or outside in the courtyard with its various seating areas in both, sun and shade, large fountain, and view of the impressive façade of the original carriage house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing