We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Weekend Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 15 Louisville B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently spent a night at the Rocking Horse Manor and were very pleased with the service.It is everything the pictures show and more. The guys are very friendly and immediately address you by name like they have known you a life time. They helped us with directions to places we wanted to visit and even printed a map with directions to and from our destination. The breakfast was excellent and they make sure everyone is satisfied. Couldn't have ask for a better place to spend the weekend. Thanks guys for all the hospitality.

Room Tip: The victorian suite is very comfortable with a view of bot the front yard and the back patio. The be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 314 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hi Folks! You gotta little hankering for some spoil in' during your stay in Louisville? Look no further. The Rocking Horse Bed n Breakfast is your obvious choice for some good old southern hospitality. John and Ricardo are the perfect hosts. Their beautifully renovated 1888 mansion will beckon you to return or maybe, if you!re like us, you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

As a fairly recent B & B convert, I can wholeheartedly say there is no other place in Louisville I would consider staying at. With such wonderful history here, why anyone would stay at some anonymous hotel is beyond me. Such local flavor, tasteful & elegant furnishings, and wonderful food - the amenities kept on coming.

The real test, at which John and Ricardo absolutely excelled beyond anyone's rightful expectations, was this: we arrived exactly one month BEFORE our reservations! I somehow put in the wrong dates and never bothered to check BOTH confirmation emails; arriving to a property with no one home to greet us. I called and very quickly got in touch with John and Ricardo, who were running some errands (luckily for us, not far away). Once I realized the mistake was all mine I apologized profusely, and the response could not have been more kind and welcoming: "Don't be silly, we will be there as soon as we can!" Amazing. They not only had room for us, but came back to the Inn quickly and got two very frustrated people (well, one idjit and one grumpy spouse) into THE most comfortable and gorgeous room imaginable! We ended up staying in the Victorian Suite, which was just lovely, large, and did I mention comfortable? I have not slept that well in ages. Quiet, too. While retaining all of its namesake charm, the necessities were very up to date and in perfect order. Double shower, jacuzzi tub, the works. We had plenty of time to make up, wash up, and head out to our 8:30 dinner reservation. John and Ricardo were perfect with suggestions, directions, and anything else we threw at them. Bravo!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed at the 1888 Rocking Horse Inn B&B in Louisville twice in the past year and a half. As far as we're concerned, there's no place else to stay in Louisville. This old Victorian home has been restored down to every detail. It is absolutely beautiful, with stained glass windows, exquisite period furniture and wonderful hospitality by the owners. The breaksfast is outstanding, not only one of the best we've had at a B&B, but served with an elegant table setting down to the crystal knife rests and demitasse spoons. This wonderful B&B is in the historic district of Louisville so centrally located and close to attractions. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here around the 17th of December on our way back from Nashville. Found this place on tripadvisor and glad we did. Everything was beautiful and timeless. So wonderfully decorated for the Holidays. The Hospitality from John and Ricardo was a 10. Glad we had this experience at our first bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VernonM712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having stayed at the Rocking Horse several times on business, I was anxious to coordinate a visit with my wife and invited my brother and sister-in-law to join us for a weekend at the Rocking Horse and enjoy Old Louisville's annual Holiday Home Tour. John and Ricardo did not disappoint us. The Rocking Horse was elaborately decorated for the holidays. The rooms were fabulous, the breakfasts were delicious and the hospitality was absolutely the best. It is convenient to shopping and restaurants and other neighborhoods, too. It was nice to park right in front, and my brother and I enjoyed our morning walks in this beautiful part of town.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are easily reached from the grand staircase and obviously, fewer steps than a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilltopbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Rocking Horse Manor is a great bed and breakfast that provides all the amenities and more! My husband and I stayed there over Thanksgiving and John and Ricardo were so accomodating! They looked up restaurants for us before we even arrived so that we would know where we could have a Thanksgiving meal. Breakfast options were absolutely delicious! John showed us around the house and gave such an interesting and detailed tour. The before and after pictures of the house from the remodel were absolutely amazing. Our gracious hosts ensured that we knew all the places to check out in Louisville and chatted about the sites we saw the previous day or recommendations for our interests. Overall, it was such a relaxing and pleasant stay-we would definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 99 in Louisville
2,026 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 99 in Louisville
4,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 99 in Louisville
1,789 reviews
Louisville Marriott East
#4 of 99 in Louisville
528 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 99 in Louisville
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1022 S 3rd St, Louisville, KY 40203-2914
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range: $75 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1888 Historic Rocking Horse Manor Bed & Breakfast is the house built for one of the Bourbon Barons of Victorian Louisville, Max Selliger, of Max Selliger & Co. Distillery in 1888. Stay in a former Bourbon Baron's home and enjoy the craftsmanship that went into the great homes of Old Louisville. The Rocking Horse Manor is a totally restored 1888 Richardsonian Romanesque mansion. All guest rooms offer all the amenities the modern traveler requires, including in-suite baths, individual room temperature controls and high-speed wireless internet access all throughout, while the house maintains the Victorian architectural features including original stained glass, pocket doors, hand-carved fire place mantels, 12 1/2 foot ceilings, original parquet floors with intricate inlaid borders and original Italian Marble mosaic tiles in the expansive foyer. Enjoy a glass of Bourbon in the parlor or library with wet-bar or outside in the courtyard with its various seating areas in both, sun and shade, large fountain, and view of the impressive façade of the original carriage house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing