We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Inviting Victorian Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Park Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2007

My sister and I enjoyed an absolutely beautiful weekend here! When we get together, we spend quite a length of time choosing just the right place to stay. Inkeepers Nancy and Kevin were expert at making all the guests feel very welcome in the lovely victorian style home. We stayed in the Rose Garden room, which has an extremely comfortable king sized bed and single bed, as well as a sitting room. Breakfast was outstanding every day we were there. We had the pleasure of enjoying the company of two professors from France, as well as a family who came to enjoy a football game at the college. An afternoon snack of cheese and crackers was offered. The area was one in which we felt safe walking to the local restaurants. We look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 346 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2007

This is a lovely bed & breakfast in the main hotel. The area of Louisville is charming. We did have problems with our reservation which we booked online from the hotel's website. We were originally supposed to receive a last minute deal on one of the rooms in the main house (with another room for the couple we were traveling with). I booked the room the evening before our arrival on their website. I received a call the day of our departure to inform me that there must have been something wrong with the website because the rooms we had booked we not available. They had only two rooms left, the St. James Suite and the Carriage House. Because of the mixup, we were given a lower price than usual on those two rooms (but a higher price than we originally thought we were going to be getting).

Our friends stayed in the St. James Suite which was lovely. The Carriage House was a ripoff at the price we paid, and the price would be criminal if you paid the normal rate for the Carriage House. You felt like you were in Greg Brady's old room- it was more akin to being at a Quality Inn than a B&B. Also, the garage door below our room went up at 3:00 AM, 4:00 AM, and 7:00 AM waking us up.

Nancy is the new Innkeeper there and was still trying to learn the property (she had been there one week) and fixed a lovely breakfast on the back patio for us. There are ceratinly better B&B's that I've stayed at but I am rating Central Park above average based on our friend's room. If rating based on the Carriage House, this property would receive a rating of 1-2 *s (1 if we had paid the full rate on the Carriage House).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CincyWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

We stayed here for two nights in early August 2006.

The house is gorgeous - a huge, three story mansion.

Our room (the Central Park room), was very large and had a huge, comfortable bed, and a very large bathroom, with a big jacuzzi tub, plus a walk in shower stall.

Merle, the inkeeper, was very friendly and helpful. Linda was away.

The area is lovely - right across from Central Park and two blocks from St. James Court.

One concern - if the weather is hot (it was in the 90s), then the air conditioning doesn't cool adequately on the third floor. The second day of our stay, the weather cooled to the high 80s, and the room was more comfortable.
We walked around the second floor both days, and the A/C seemed to cool that floor well.

Also, the only parking is on the street. This was OK for us, but if this makes you uncomfortable, you might take that into consideration.

All in all, a lovely stay in a nice setting.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Joebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

We recently had a few days to go "exploring" before attending an event in Dayton, Ohio. Since we both love adventures, we took a quick look at the map and headed for Louisville, KY. Since we both like to stay at B&B's, we found the listing for the Central Park B&B, jotted down the address and showed-up at the front door.

Lucky for us, they had room . . . but it was not just a room . . . it was a gorgeous room, the St. James Suite, on the third floor of this exquisite historic mansion built in 1884. It took only moments to become thoroughly enchanted and we immediately booked for three days. It was possibly the most pleasant three days of our entire trip!

It is very hard to say what we loved more . . . the room or the innkeeper! But, the combination is dynamic! The entire mansion is simply beautiful. The public areas are not only beautifully decorated, but functional and extremely inviting. We never passed the table in the entry way without finding fresh goodies to eat . . . cookies, chocolates, mixed nuts, etc. In an alcove by the stairwell is a fridge with cold drinks, and wine is available early afternoon into the evening. We had our own front-door key to come and go as we pleased.

The St. James Suite is generously sized with plenty of room to relax. Period antique furnishings are lovely and functional, elegant but not untouchable. Modern conveniences include internet access, television, and radio/CD player. The huge canopy bed was incredibly comfortable, dressed with rich linens and lots of pillows. A fireplace, and skylight, and wonderful window dressings Behind french doors is the very large bathroom that includes a large step-up jacuzzi, a fainting couch for lounging, a fireplace, dressing table, and a discreetly hidden fridge. Thick towels, robes, and all of the ammenities you could ever need are provided.

Merle, the innkeeper, is nothing less than charming. Extremely attentive, but never intrusive . He had many great suggestions for places to visit and good restaurants and is pleased to make reservations for you if you wish. His humor and genuine warmth adds the finishing touch to his lovely home.

Unlike many B&B's lately, the Central Park B&B has not abandoned the "breakfast" part of your stay. No "continental breakfast" here. When you arrive, Merle will ask you if you have any dietary restrictions or foods that you dislike. Rest assured that you can trust the rest to this gourmet chef! The two-course breakfast on all three mornings was delicious! We skipped lunch all three days, we were so full from breakfast! Hot coffee was always ready when we awoke.

During your stay, you might want to have dinner at "Buck's" one evening, within walking distance on the lovely historic streets. Good food, ambiance, and a great piano player. You might even do what we did . . . we had a picnic dinner in our room one evening. It was wonderful and oh, so romantic.

The Central Park B&B is not just an inn, but truly a Louisville treasure . . . a statement of casual elegance. We cannot wait to return next year! If you get there before us, tell Merle we said hello!

Jim and Suzan

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank seelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2006

After reading the reviews for Central Park B&B, we decided to stay there....what a great choice! We stayed from May 9th to the 13th and it was the absolute BEST B&B experience ever! Merle and Linda, Innkeepers, are so nice and were most helpful - we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them and they gave very good recommendations re places to eat, how to get around, called cabs for us, etc. Merle is a tremendous chef!!!! WOW!!!! His breakfasts were astounding! The entire B&B was kept spotless and we made use of the 'common areas' and enjoyed the back porch; we felt like it was our home. We cannot say enough good things about this place. We stayed in the Central Park Room on the third floor; it is spacious, has two very comfortable chairs and a large bathroom - with shower and jacuzzi. We wanted to ship the bed to our home....it is the most comfortable bed in which we have ever slept. This beautiful mansion, along with the kindness and friendliness of Merle and Linda, is a MUST! We highly recommend it. We will go back...just to stay here again. As for Louisville....it is a gastronomical delight! Try Lily's, Bucks, Vincenzo's, Old Spaghetti Factory and Third Avenue Cafe.

4  Thank Travel Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cincinnati, Ohio
14
Reviewed March 30, 2004

A truly beautiful historic home to stay in. Each room is beautifully decorated with your own private bath. BUT better yet, a delicious full breakfast every morning and fresh baked treats every afternoon. Southern hospitality is alive and well at the Central Park Bed and Breakfast

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2003

And we've been to a lot! The photos on the website just don't do it justice. All the rooms are beautiful, clean and spacious, the host is gracious, and the food delicious! The neighborhood is also very charming with lots of spectacular homes, and a few great eateries within walking distance. We loved it and hope to return again.

7  Thank kccallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 102 in Louisville
2,067 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#4 of 102 in Louisville
1,374 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 102 in Louisville
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 102 in Louisville
988 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#31 of 102 in Louisville
4,234 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#20 of 102 in Louisville
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1353 S 4th St, Louisville, KY 40208-2349
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range: $135 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Park Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Hospitality in the Heart of Old Louisville Historic District. Seven guest rooms decorated and furnished in antiques of the Victorian era with the modern conveniences of cable TV, private telephone, high speed internet, fireplaces, ensuite bathrooms with Whirlpools...and delicious, creative breakfasts served fireside each morning in the formal dining room. "A Statement of Casual Elegance" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Park Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Park b&b
Central Park Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing