We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bourbon's Bistro

Bourbon's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bourbon's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 1,757 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Clifton
Cross street: Jane
Transit: TARC
Description: Located on Frankfort Avenue's restaurant row in the historic Clifton neighborhood, we offer more than 130 bourbons, as well as a selection of antique expression whiskies that you won't find anywhere else. Bourbons features upscale dining in an elegant but casual atmosphere and a bourbon-inspired seasonal menu graced southern inspired cuisine.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
239 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went to Bourbon’s Bistro as a group of 8 on a Saturday night. The restaurant was small but intimate with dimmed lights and nice portraits on the walls. Our server was Omar; I can’t speak enough about how awesome and personalized the service was. The menu was limited but had something for everyone. The variety of and list of Bourbons available was impressive. Food was delicious and reasonably priced. The group raved about the mushroom bread pudding, corn on the cob, braised kale, roasted broccoli, steak and burgers. It all seemed to be of satisfaction of the group. Highly recommended for date nights!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    44
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dad's Special day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

My daughter took me, her Mom and her boyfriend for brunch on Father's Day. The dining space is intimate and it specializes in bourbon based drinks and other interesting cocktails. I had a maple bourbon based drink, the rest of the party has Mimosas, bloody mary and a Lilly which is a bourbon cocktail. The brunch offered an excellent group of items that had balance and quality ingredients. There was an excellent smoked chees, well chilled shrimp, biscuits and gravy, fried chicken, pecan French toast, fingerling potatoes, beef tenderloin and corn pudding. The best items were the corn pudding and the gravy both offered excellent taste for a simple classic dish. The care over quality and attention to proper detail in the food was evident in all the offering. We will certainly return for a regular meal in the future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayManCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalfire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Not real fancy and definitely a bistro. My wife had the spicy fried oysters appetizer that she said was delicious. She then tried the grilled blackened shrimp which she said tasted neither blackened nor grilled. I had the beet salad which was very good and the duck con fete which I was told was browned before serving but didn't seem like it was. That said, the duck was tender and delicious. Our server was both friendly and efficient. Food prices were not too bad but wine was a bit pricey. I would return to this restaurant - I think. But my wife would for sure for the oysters

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tropicalfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dinner done artfully”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Who knew you could pair peppercorn crusted filet with mushroom bread pudding and herb infused ricotta cheese? Awesome. Also had a very nice meat/cheese platter as an appetizer. As you might guess by the name, they have many bourbons (over 100). They also serve bourbon barrel beers and Coke products. Server was extremely helpful without being bothersome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BorisMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

So wonderful to find a restaurant that has not gone the way of the "elevated SoutherN" trend. Duck confit and soy braised short ribs were excellent, lobster bruschetta had my husbands eyes rolling back in his head in pleasure. Service friendly but not hovering, lovely room.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TNRhineMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourbon's Bistro also viewed

 
Louisville, KY
Louisville, KY
 

Been to Bourbon's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing