We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost Cruise Lacked Spirit”

Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson
Ranked #9 of 32 Tours in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Belle of Louisville is the oldest operating Mississippi River style steamboat in the world. She and her sister vessel, the Spirit of Jefferson, offer river cruises perfect for all ages. We offer cruises nearly year-round, and have special events throughout the season.
Monroeville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ghost Cruise Lacked Spirit”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We took the evening ghost cruise on the Belle of Louisville in June of 2013. The cruise itself was very enjoyable, and the river at night makes for an interesting experience. For our entertainment we also had three speakers: a ghost hunter, a storyteller and a reader. The ghost hunter was somewhat interesting, but we expected more stories related to the ship rather than the town, and his presentation was dry. The storyteller improved on the presentation, but the stories were scary stories of her creation rather than ghost-related. The third speaker was billed as a psychic or reader, but couldn't seem to pull it off. The cruise and the river were very nice; the entertainment was below average. Concession food was available, and reasonably priced for this type of attraction.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MadBeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    90
    57
    20
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful afternoon on the Belle”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We took the Sunday brunch tour on the Belle. The boat was beautiful with the staff was all very helpful and friendly. The bartender allowed us to taste the mint julep before ordering them. The food was great and there was lots of space to go up on deck and sit in the deck chairs after the meal. We enjoyed the view, the sun and the music. Very relaxing

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Catered food from a can and bad music to boot.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a tourist trap. First time Louisville so my wife books this. As soon as we got there I new it was going to be a disaster. The crew just looks uninterested. The boat is nothing special. The food is not freshly made unless you consider canned opened green beans, potato salad etc to be a meal worth $42 a person. Terrible desert too. I think the pie was a Marie Calendars frozen pie. The dj wasn't terrible but on a two hr cruise he played some terrible songs and repeated others. Save your money and skip this tourist trap.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank elvsd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford CT
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Splendour on the Ohio”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This morning we had a breakfast cruise on the Belle. I remembered it from my youth, when I lived in Louisville and often went to parties on it, It was a bit on the seedy side then but great fun anyway. Wow! Today it has been restored - all the brass is gleaming, the paint is immaculate, the dance floor is polished, the inside dining-dance area is air-conditioned and an elevator has been installed for the handicapped. The "feathers" are on the smokestacks again and the ornamentation around the top of the pilot's house at the top has been restored. The ladies' room was spacious and shining. The calliope is working, as are the original steam engines with boilers underneath blazing away! All the staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the scenery along the banks -one side is Indiana and one Kentucky. We had a delicious and ample breakfast, a lovely trip up the river and back and learned something of the history of the Belle - it is the oldest running steamboat in the United States and second oldest in the world. They are making plans for a big anniversary celebration in October 2014, the 100th year of its operation. Worth coming back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good family trip”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We rode the Belle of Louisville last year, and had a really good time. They have a really nice lunch/dinner buffet, live music and dancing. You can go outside and walk around, or they have shaded areas if you want to sit. The trip takes you up the Ohio River. It takes about 3 hours. The view is really nice. I wish they would have had a guide to tell more about the area. A fun ride on the last Mississippi-style steamboat. I would highly recommend this attraction.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeepowner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson also viewed

 

Been to Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing