We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson

Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson
Ranked #7 of 32 Tours in Louisville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Belle of Louisville is the oldest operating Mississippi River style steamboat in the world. She and her sister vessel, the Spirit of Jefferson, offer river cruises perfect for all ages. We offer cruises nearly year-round, and have special events throughout the season.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We went on the history tour on the Spirit of Jefferson. Loved everything about the boat and her staff. Very friendly and knowledgeable.
A good, reasonably priced excursion for all ages.

Helpful?
1 Thank Slickpoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    84
    53
    18
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a waste of money!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I just went on your bourbon cruise, $90 for 2 people. what a way to throw money away. Your food was suppose to be good. It sucked bad. I payed a lot of money for burnt oversized potato chips and hummus and a few vegetables. What you people sale is a joke. I nor anyone else I know will pay for this theft of our money again. The worst thing is, I heard so many complaints at the tables. When the tables were out of food that is what happened, you were out. Most thought this was a buffet of snacks. One guy waited a little then brought his date down to eat.Well guess what, no variety for that guy. Im sure most wont complain as I have but I bet they dont return either. All of you should be ashamed of yourselves. But Im sure you are not!!!!!!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Way to Spend a Sunday Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had an out-of-town guest to entertain, so we took her on the Belle's afternoon cruise. We had a beautiful day, the food was good and the staff was very friendly.
Some suggestions:
1. The food was delicious and reasonably priced, but I'm not sure we'd eat on the boat the next time we go. At the beginning of the cruise we had a nice seat on the top deck of the boat in the front, but we lost it when we went to eat. After eating we had to stand up there, since all the chairs were taken.
2. If you're not going to eat, don't go through the dining room. After you enter the boat, go up the first flight of stairs and then turn either right or left to enter the stairs going straight up to the top deck to select a seat.
3. Be aware that the food is served as soon as the boat sails. You can't hear the announcements on the front of the boat on the top deck.
4. There are nice restrooms on the dining room level.
5. If you don't have an Entertainment book, look in the tourist magazines for a coupon or ask about an AAA discount.
6. If you need handicapped parking, I'd suggest calling to find out how to access that.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank nana8fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakebay, Washington
Level Contributor
243 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice Water trip for visitors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Check out the entertainment book for Louisville, there you can receive a 2 for 1 ticket! Saves $21!
Liked the 2 hour long water tour.
Good prices on concessions on the boat.
You can't bring your own food or beverages onto the boat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank MAUREEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Thing To Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We purchased the cruise and dinner combination. However, the weather turned extremely bad with thunderstorms and heavy wind, so we could not actually move from the dock. However, we still ate the dinner on board which was excellent. Surprisingly, this was the first time they've had this situation occur, so they scrambled somewhat to figure out how best to handle (trying to deal with refunds if not able to reschedule). However, it turned out ok. Originally we could not reschedule for the nights they had open while we were there and they just credited our card. But then we ended up freeing up earlier than expected another night and were able to take the cruise. Dinner was sold out though so we couldn't do that again (too bad). When I mentioned we were part of the night that got cancelled, they comp'd our tickets that night, which was a very nice thing for them to do. I'd highly recommend both the dinner and cruise.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank KfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson also viewed

 

Been to Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing