We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice museum in a great downtown area”

Frazier History Museum
Ranked #10 of 171 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Frazier History Museum is a world-class museum that provides an unforgettable journey through history with ever-changing and interactive exhibits, daily performances by costumed interpreters and engaging special events and programs. To complement our amazing permanent collection, which includes thousands of items from famous world leaders and one of the country's largest toy soldier displays, the Frazier Museum offers an ever-changing selection of intriguing temporary exhibits. Every day, we offer live historic performances, bringing visitors face to face with some of the people and events that changed the world forever, as well as with average people whose moving and important stories you've probably never heard. The Frazier Museum is located on downtown Louisville's "Museum Row" in a beautiful 100,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art facility originally called the "Doerhoefer Building," a late 19th century, Chicago-style commercial structure. The Frazier Museum has three floors of exhibits, an education center, Museum Store and tournament ring, as well as event spaces available for rent, including a beautiful Rooftop Garden featuring seasonal blooming flowers and our Fourth Floor Loft space that accommodates up to 360 people seated.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice museum in a great downtown area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Enjoyed our visit. Parking available behind the museum. Beautiful building. Great medieval exhibit on the third floor (initial reason for stopping in) as well as civil war and early frontier exhibits on the second floor. Kept losing my husband in the exhibits as he would spent lots of time looking and frequently backtracked. He's a history buff and into firearms so this was a great place for him. Also took a walk outside for a couple blocks to enjoy the architecture. Would go back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank IowaCatlady4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    163
    60
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great day at the history museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We recently took our 9 month old daughter during Father's Day to the Frazier History Museum. While our daughter is very young, which forced us to go somewhat quickly through some exhibits, the facility was amazing. Great collection, staff was friendly & we all especially loved the temporary NFL Hall of Fame exhibit. A must for anyone visiting or who loves nearby (like us)!

Helpful?
Thank GABV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
313 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“An enjoyable and interesting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I’m not aware of a lot of other history museums which aren’t connected to a local historic site, so this is a unique and interesting place. Several other reviewers commented that they were not into guns or sword history and I certainly am not either, but I didn’t see those as the major emphasis here. There’s also a lot on the top floor about the British royal family and I quickly tired of that as well, but you have to treat this place cafeteria style and emphasize for yourself what you like and are interested in. That still gives you a lot of choices. The top floor is mostly British history while the second floor is about American history, and then there’s some performing and special exhibit spaces on the ground floor. I especially liked the exhibit about patriotic art and artifacts and the large gift shop was interesting and entertaining too (except they didn’t sell my favorite travel collectible, an embroidered patch). Something I really liked is that live interpreters give presentations regularly throughout the day. We got here late and only saw one; it was Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson fighting and talking about fighting. Maybe I’m being picky, but these are fictional rather than historic characters. Nonetheless, the actors were very good, it was entertaining, and we felt like we got a private show because there were only a couple of other folks in the audience. Anyway, I enjoyed this place a lot, probably more than the Louisville Slugger Museum (which it’s practically across the street from) and hope to get back someday.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dmarkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This museum is wonderful. Friendly staff, amazing exhibits. The historical interpretors never disappoint. The location is easy to find/park/walk. You can walk down and enjoy the river before you visit the museum. The antique arms/armory amazing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank emilyort73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mostly gun and weapon history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

If you are in to guns and weapons then this place is for you. We went mainly for the Gridiron exhibit and it did not disappoint. But the overall museum was not our cup of tea.

Helpful?
Thank feeehlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frazier History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing