We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun & educational! Fun for all ages”
Review of Glassworks

Glassworks
Ranked #16 of 33 Tours in Louisville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glassworks houses the Mark Payton Glass Center and Flame Run. See live demonstrations in Glassblowing and Flameworking on our daily tours. Make a project in our Walk-in Workshop. Shop around in one of our two galleries. Hours are 10-5pm Monday - Saturday. Closed Sundays.
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very fun & educational! Fun for all ages”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Glassworks is a great educational experience for the young and old and the art room makes for great fun with older kids or girls night out. You can tour the factory to see how glass is made or watch from outside the glass windows to see the process. Their website has a downloadable packet to use with kids to show the tools you use and the process to use before or after you go with kids to help reinforce what they learned or prepare them for what they will see. It's free and we used it with a homeschol group that went through.

They have a lovely gallery/store of things already made if you want to buy a fun souvenir But the most fun was paying to make a vase in their art studio. I went with a few girlfriends one afternoon and we all made vases that turned out beautiful! They have several different projects you can make at the studio. We spent several hours at it and it was fun. They also have projects kids can make that changes each month - - flowers, pumpkins, ornaments. All very cool keepsakes.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank luv2gogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    9
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We were very disappointed..”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We were really looking forward to this one. We had to pay for a tour but then found out it was self-guided. Went upstairs to watch the DVD but it didn't work. There was no one around to help us and it was like wandering around a place you're not sure you're supposed to be in. No one was working on any glass, actually we only saw 2 employees/artists the entire time. Finally figured out how to get back to where we started and asked for a refund.(which they gave us) They didn't seem to care that we had a bad time. We did visit the gift shop and while we realize it is art, still most of the items were hundreds if not thousands of dollars! We were going to make our own glass pieces but decided to pass. Not sure if we hit this at a bad time or if it is always like this. So disappointing!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank midnitefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crafting glass”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Going to Glassworks on the short ~$2 bus ride from Central Park B&B was enjoyable. (The Louisville bus drivers were SO courteous and helpful.) There are projects for the seasoned glass worker who want to craft an elaborate piece for weeks as well as for beginners of all ages looking for a fast art project. That day, there was a 7 year old with his mom engrossed in an exquisite piece which he completed without too much coaching. (His mom was captured by her own piece, so he wouldn't have had any input anyway.) Since I wanted to take a finished product home (rather than having them fire the piece and mail it), I chose a few ornamental hanging stars and hearts to glue colored glass. The assistants were very aware of making sure that safety came first and gave easy hands-on lessons on the tools of the trade. Then, they gave me carte blanche to the floor lined with boxes of organized-by-color pieces of different types of glass: textured, opaque, cracked, crushed, clear and/or routilated. The 7 year old took some time to give me a few hints about how to make my piece look better and did a good job improving my pieces. There is a good tour that feature glassblowers who are so amazing to watch! Then, there is the beautiful gallery showing many artists' contemplative and practical art pieces which would add grace to anyone's home. It was a fun couple of hours and I have pieces of art memorabilia that I co-created in Louisville, Kentucky!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank LindaBee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, IL
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Make your own fused glass creation — just set aside enough time!”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

As collectors of vintage stained-glass windows, we put Glassworks on the top of our list to visit in Louisville. We didn't pay for any tour; we just wandered around on a Saturday afternoon. My husband blew glass down in the furnace work area and made a small beautiful globe that we could take home the next day (it had to sit for a day).
The gift shop had some amazing blown pieces and jewelry with all price ranges.
Then, we really got to work and created a fused-glass clock in the workshop. It was a lot of fun, but time-consuming. Nearly every table was occupied with people making plates and platters and bowls. Lots of help, too, from the workers there.
We had access to a variety of colored glass and rods that was part of the price (about $55). When we finished, we left the piece to be fired and had it shipped home — at an additional cost.
It's not a place for kids, unless you just want to go in and watch them blowing glass; no cost for that.
The upstairs office space was empty on a Saturday, but we watched an interesting short film about glass and admired some of the maquettes displayed nearby.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneBelleville_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It depends on your timing”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stopped here on our way from one hotel to another. It is very convenient to I-64 and around the block from the Louisville Slugger factory. There is a pricy store that allows customers to blow their own apple/pumpkin (depends on the season) at certain times.

We had a tour guide for our hour there. We were taken to the second floor where we saw a DVD, the guide discussed some of the models and then were taken to watch a worker putting the finishing touches on a horse head. My one daughter was fascinated and the other daughter was bored. The guide, who does some glass work himself, was knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. Finally we were taken downstairs to see the glasmakers work with the kilns. I think it helps that the glassmakers were doing something of interest to us but you may catch them at a bad time or making something of no interest. It won't blow your socks off but we found it interesting and would recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank rizzop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glassworks also viewed

 

Been to Glassworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing