We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent, Server great, Food arrival SLOW!!”
Review of Simply Thai

Simply Thai
Ranked #437 of 1,785 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Cross street: Wilmington Ave
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Food excellent, Server great, Food arrival SLOW!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We decided to check out the new Simply Thai restaurant on Shelbyville Road last night. The parking lot was full mainly due to Havana Rumba, Simply Thai had about half capacity for a Saturday night (many patrons ate outside in the gorgeous evening weather). The server TJ arrived at a table within five minutes, and took our order of two blue moons and we waited 16 minutes to get two beers. TJ did stop by our table at the 12 minute point to inform us that they were changing out the keg and that was the reason for the beer delay. At the 12 minute point we ordered our food (Basil chicken and sweet potato noodles with shrimp along with an order of shrimp spring rolls).

Like I earlier opined we did get a beers at the 16 minute point and the spring rolls came 30 minutes after the order. Well, 40 minutes after our order TJ let us know that our food was in the wok and that it would arrive shortly. Well the food did arrive some 14 minutes after that, therefore the food arrived 54 minutes after we ordered which sure is a LONG time.

The spring roll was very good the basil chicken seasoned properly and the sweet potatoes were excellent. No manager ever walked by any of the tables that we could see to ask how things were.

The food was excellent, TJ was an outstanding young server but there was some serious malfunction somewhere in the kitchen. We will not be going back for awhile until we hear through the grapevine that the timeliness issues have improved.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    11
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have had lunch several times now and absolutely love the food. I recommend the spring rolls and the green curry. My husband always gets the beef pad thai at a level five and loves the spicey heat. The wasabi dumplings are amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistently best Thai food in town”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Since Simply Thai moved from their tiny place across the street, their sales volume has to have increased multiple times. The good news is that their food quality has not suffered, even with an expanded menu. Always consistent.

They do a very large take out business and always have, it appears. Wish they delivered, but I don't know of any Asian restaurant of any sort in Louisville that does.

If you go on a weekend night, be prepared for a wait.Once seated, however, everything is pretty good. Lots of curries and fish to a tasty basic pad thai.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sweet Potato Noodles”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Excellent Thia food that is well presented. I have been multiple times and have not been disappointed. The sweet potato noodles are my favorite but all of the dishes have been quite good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So yummy!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have gone here with several friends who have been to Thailand, and they said the Pad Thai here was better than the Pad Thai in Thailand! I think it's really good too, and the spring rolls and Thai iced tea are a must. Be careful if you don't like spicy things though, because you can order food at level 2 spicy-ness and it will be different every time. I think each chef as their own idea of the spice levels.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Thai also viewed

 
Louisville, KY
Louisville, KY
 

Been to Simply Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing