We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant in a museum? It works!”
Review of Proof on Main

Proof on Main
Reserve with OpenTable
Proof on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,806 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Invited to tag along with a group from a conference to have dinner at Proof. What a great surprise. Food and service was excellent. Loved the catfish dip, grilled octopus appetizer and the bison burger was cooked perfectly and well dressed. Dessert's were great including homemade gelato.
Back to the surprise... Proof is part of the 21C Museum Hotel and an art gallery, which are carried over to the restaurant. Be sure to wander after dinner and take in the sites!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Proof on Main, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Rob,

Thank you for such a great review. We work hard to create top notch food and service so it is gratifying to hear your praise. Please visit again on your next visit to Louisville. Who knows, we may even surprise you again.

Cheers,

Joe Leftin | Restaurant Manager
Proof on Main | 21c Museum Hotel
m. 513.807.2812 | w. 502.217.6360
jleftin@proofonmain.com

Proof on Main, at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
700 West Main Street Louisville, Kentucky 40202
proofonmain.com

FACEBOOK l TWITTER l YOUTUBE | PINTEREST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 588 of 973 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

Part of the charm of 21C Museum hotel, this restaurant has a collection of contemporary art, and meals are served in the setting of an art gallery. The menu itself is delightful, and the room is light and bright and service charming. We enjoyed everything we ordered, and our late lunch stretched out happily.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnitaNewportBch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Proof on Main, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Anita,

Thank you for your kind review. It was gratifying to read. I am glad you were able to linger in the dining room and soak up the atmosphere. I will be sure to share your comments with our Art team so they too can hear your praise. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the commonwealth.

Cheers,

Joe Leftin | Restaurant Manager
Proof on Main | 21c Museum Hotel
m. 513.807.2812 | w. 502.217.6360
jleftin@proofonmain.com

Proof on Main, at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
700 West Main Street Louisville, Kentucky 40202
proofonmain.com

FACEBOOK l TWITTER l YOUTUBE | PINTEREST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Louisville has many great restaurants worth visiting and this is one of them. We have now been to Proof on three different occasions in the past six months, and would definitely return again. At every visit, the cocktails, appetizers and entrees have been excellent, and service has been great. The chef really likes to mix things up, creating very unique flavor combinations and every visit has had something different to try.

Thank WanderingPencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Proof on Main, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Wandering Pencil,

Thank you very much for the fantastic review. I was glad to read you had several great experiences here at Proof. We work hard to consistently provide great food and great service to our guests. It is helpful to know when we hit the mark. Please know I have shared your comments with the team, and congratulated them on a job well done.

Cheers,

Joe Leftin | Restaurant Manager
Proof on Main | 21c Museum Hotel
m. 513.807.2812 | w. 502.217.6360
jleftin@proofonmain.com

Proof on Main, at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
700 West Main Street Louisville, Kentucky 40202
proofonmain.com

FACEBOOK l TWITTER l YOUTUBE | PINTEREST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Adjacent to the now-famous 21C Hotel, Proof on Main is a foodie's dream and bourbon lover's paradise as well. As not only one of the best bars in America, this place delivers an aggressive menu with southern charm.
We had the bone marrow, but could have easily gone for the tongue pot roast or grilled octopus. The pulled pork and sriracha on the side is what sold it for me. Both the hog chop and the tri-tip were perfectly executed. As if that were not enough, I defy you to look at the sides menu and NOT order something - maybe the best surprise of the night. Best grits I've ever had, that's all I'll say about that.
Proof offers it all for someone visiting (or living in) Louisville for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P93S27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Proof on Main, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear P93S27,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review, to read it was very gratifying. I must say it sounds like you ordered well. The roasted bones is certainly one of Chef's favorite dishes, and our grits are not to be missed in my opinion. Thanks again. We are truly grateful for your praise.

Cheers,

Joe Leftin | Restaurant Manager
Proof on Main | 21c Museum Hotel
m. 513.807.2812 | w. 502.217.6360
jleftin@proofonmain.com

Proof on Main, at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
700 West Main Street Louisville, Kentucky 40202
proofonmain.com

FACEBOOK l TWITTER l YOUTUBE | PINTEREST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Very unique modern ambience
very good food, must try Benedict eggs for break fast, good lunch menu, banana split enough for 4 people, must try bourbon ale beer

Thank Dhameja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Proof on Main, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dhameja,

Thanks for the great review. You tried some of my favorites during your visit so it is no surprise to me you enjoyed your experience. Thanks again. Please come visit again soon.

Cheers,

Joe Leftin | Restaurant Manager
Proof on Main | 21c Museum Hotel
m. 513.807.2812 | w. 502.217.6360
jleftin@proofonmain.com

Proof on Main, at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
700 West Main Street Louisville, Kentucky 40202
proofonmain.com

FACEBOOK l TWITTER l YOUTUBE | PINTEREST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proof on Main also viewed

 

Been to Proof on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing