We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the homemade granola!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Proof on Main

Proof on Main
Reserve with OpenTable
Proof on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,757 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
186 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Have the homemade granola!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I ate breakfast and had the fruit, yogurt and granola. The granola was so delicious! Apparently, it's homemade every couple of days. There is also a lot of great artwork to view.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank blondebass1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    236
    96
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborn, Ma.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Art and dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This restaurant is in the 21C Museum Hotel, and art is definitely part of the package.
The service was attentive without being intrusive, and the chef uses local produce as available.
I had a very memorable rutabaga soup there last year. This year's dinner was very good but not quite excellent. The grits are very creamy and certainly regional and delicious, although I prefer them less creamy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purefunkmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Got it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great local food, imaginative menu, fabulous bar, attentive but not oppressive service. Then again, there's the ambiance! Very good art, both international and local. Try the flights of Bourbon (or just stick to the Old Forester Birthday). Excellent salad--right now the cauliflower white bean is to die for. Perfect steaks on Saturday--I love that they have a daily special! Personally my current favorite is the grilled marrow bones, but that's just me...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maudiemanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Dined at Proof with friends for lunch. Staff / service was very good. I enjoyed my very different "grilled cheese sandwich" and would order it again, and I would recommend. The other two in my group ordered different lunches and even though they liked, I doubt they would order them again.
Very unique place and is worth trying.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, WI
Level Contributor
460 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Proof Positive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The grilled octopus appetizer is a must have. Thinly sliced with garlic and a little heat and served with slices of a toasted baguette, this is delicious. The Risotto with spring ramp special was very good but would have been better served with slightly less citrus. A very nice selection of Bourbons and fairly priced. This was a 90 proof meal!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BosoxKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proof on Main also viewed

 

Been to Proof on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing