We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep with a Red Penguin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Palmyra, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sleep with a Red Penguin”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

No Red Penguin showed up in our room! We was celebrating our wedding anniversary, Valentines Day, and my birthday and you would of thought we would of had a penguin visit. We did get a nice card and I appreciated it.
The services from the staff was excellent!! We was disappointed when the staff told us that we would not be able to eat at Proof of Main because it was full. We did get room service, the food was good but not a good value. The room was nothing to fancy, there was a support beam you had to walk around to get in the room. The art was wonderful to look at throughout the hotel. I was really expecting a penguin!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saydee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    209
    50
    20
    12
See reviews for
159
503
55
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We loved this place. The art throughout the hotel made the place fun and different. The art wa scontemporaey but not weird. Thoughtful and fun. The room was very friendly including an aeron chair, great shower, comfy king bed, good lighting, spacious, modern tasteful decor, and free wifi.

The neighborhood had numerous museums, restaurants and galleries nearby. Valet parking was $21/night but there was cheaper parking right next door.

Staff was helpful and friendly. They all seemed to enjoy working there.

I enjoy sitting in a lobby to people watch and didn't think those seats were comfy

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uncle_Spike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I couldn't stand one more night in the large chain hotel I checked into (I'll review them separately) and found 21c on TripAdvisor. during a desperate search the first night. I was intrigued by the description of the art (being an old art history major) and called them, and got a room for the next several nights. They were great, from the folks at the front desk to the housekeeping to the restaurant and room service folks. I loved the art, and what a relief to come back at the end of a hard day and encounter something with a sense of humor! The food was excellent, the room was great and for once I didn't have to fight with the maintenance staff to get the room cool at night! It was a little noisy during the day, but it is a museum that is open to the public, after all. The fitness room was minimal, but everything worked. I wish I had had more time to explore the art galleries in the neighborhood- maybe next time. It was a little pricey, but for once I felt that I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We were blown away by this lovely modern hotel. The quality of the decor and food reminded me of a nice botique hotel in SF or LA. Louisville must be very proud to have this gem of a hotel right downtown. We have told several friends how awesome it is since returning home.

It was cool not only to have art in the lobby-- but to have interesting and even challenging art. Talk about beating expectations. We won't be staying anywhere else in Louisville.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Home_and_Dry_PSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2010

My birthday gift to my husband this year was an overnight stay at 21c (sans the kids). The rooms are both comfortable and artsy, and come complete with an iPod filled with an eclectic array of tunes, a great mini bar, and lovely bath products. The valets and desk attendants were warm and helpful--no pretentiousness here. The "museum" part of the hotel features a fairly extensive gallery of photos, sculptures, and mixed-media displays. Additionally, there is art of one kind or another tucked here and there throughout. And then there are those red penguins that line the top of the building and are continually relocated around the hotel. All in all, it was the perfect getaway for my husband and me.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verbwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I will start with the good things;
- Kyle upon check-in was fantastic, truly a very attentive and informative person and very easy to work with
- Ian in the bar was also just awesome, very friendly and I enjoyed talking with him
- Crystal was also fantastic in helping prepare a few surprises for me

Now unfortunately for the not so good. When I had the room booked, we booked a standard room, which was great, however upon just returning from 3 months overseas I was hoping to surprise my wife with a little more and I was looking at the website on the ride over and it showed other rooms available, this was 21C's website, however when I inquired at check-in about upgrading I was told that you were booked solid. OK, that isnt ideal but that's fine. However, upon also reviewing the website in my room, I was able to make a reservation online for an upgraded room so I am not sure what was going on there. That in and of itself would not have been that big deal but as you will see it is the additive quality here that bears mentioning it.

There was apparently a party for a local business in the hotel that evening, with several hundred people. Also just fine as I know that hotels cater to this type of event for sales. However, with the thumping of the music right beneath my room (Rm 201) until the wee hours of the morning, it was one of the worst hotel stays I have ever had. We could not even have dinner there in the hotel as we were not part of the party and were told that there was a great Mexican restaurant right around the corner. Finally after coming to my wits end, I went to the front desk two separate times to ask about moving to another room, maybe higher up, and again told that the hotel was full. Yet, once again I was able to make a reservation online. The final time I went to the front desk, as we could not even hear our TV, let alone have some intimate time (remember it had been 3 months since I had seen my wife) I was told "oh yeah, ha ha, don't worry they are done at 1:30 or so"

Things began to quiet down in wee hours of the morning with the thumping music only to discover the party had moved upstairs. I am not sure if it was a hospitality suite or just an unscheduled after party but the noise in the hallway was unbelievable. Again, the front desk blew me off and told me not to worry, it would quiet down soon enough. I was finally able to get some much needed sleep at 5:00 or so which is ridiculous. Then to request a late-check out and be told no, was just the icing on the cake. We checked out, requested our vehicles and at no point did one single person ask me how my stay was, which was disappointing, as I obviously had lots to say. At that point we couldn't get out of there fast enough. So my one night in the states with my wife before heading back was a complete and total bust. Thanks!

Not to mention the the $200+ we spent on the room, but also the $350+ we spent on drinks, lunch, breakfast etc it was a total waste and I am completely disappointed. While a few people did an excellent job of customer service (Kyle, Ian & Crystal) I don't think I have ever felt like second-class so badly before and to be completely candid, we could have gone to the Motel 6 and saved ourselves the money and headache.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rpearl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigpishotti, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
It was good speaking with you and thank you for your time. I can’t apologize enough and want to make it up to you. What you experienced has never happened before and I want you to come back and experience 21c in its true form. If you are willing, please contact me so that I can arrange your next visit personally and I will be absolutely certain it is fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
305 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights early in October, our second visit since 2008. Actually returned to Louisville just to stay here and also to see the St. James Court Art Fair. 21C was still as good as the first time. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconsinwinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,843 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#28 of 95 in Louisville
3,846 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,640 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 95 in Louisville
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing